We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Muziris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Muziris
Ranked #23 of 425 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
161 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I arrived after midnight due to flight timings and was greeted and shown my room (which I had pre-booked)The room and attached bathroom were large but basic and perhaps even a little shabby and there were "no frills" such as toiletries but, for the price, I was not expecting any. During my 3 day stay I found the owner and staff to be attentive. There was a pleasant balcony for breakfast (included and there was a good choice of set dishes) and also for drinks and meals during the day. The location is in the heart of the travellers' area of Fort Kochi with plenty of shops, travel agents and eateries (although you will have to search hard for a place that serves alcoho)l. There were plenty of computers for Internet access for a small charge. The iconic Chinese fishing nets are just a few minutes walk away as are the not very impressive beach, two quite impressive Christian churches and a couple of museums. All in all, Fort Muziris is a recommended place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    62
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
64
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This place is great. Some other places in the area charge twice as much - yet Fort Muziris has better wifi, better AC and no mosquitos. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, everything is in good shape, and the included English breakfast is awesome. The guys who run the place are both very nice and helpful. I'll stay here again if I come back to Fort Cochin!

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are nicer - and a little more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dipmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

stayed at Fort Muziris for 3 nights in feb 2014 at the start of our 2 week tour of Kerala. Rooms are basic but clean and adequate and is ideally situated for exploring Fort Cochin as it is centrally located.Breakfast was very good as is the free wi-fi .Staff were excellent, polite and courteous giving us great local information. Gopan was a great help arranging taxis to and from the airport at very reasonable rates, also helping us to plan our tour, getting us great deals on a car and accommodation for our 3 day trip to Munnar and overnight backwater cruise at Alleppy. Overall highly recommended, Gopan is definitely the man to talk to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

It's a very good place, welcoming staff and central location. Great value for money. Room with AC but didn't keep away the mosquito so bring your mosquito net. Basic requirement in the room including wifi. The breakfast was very good and filling. Plenty of restaurants and shops walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audray4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had a room on the first floor which remained cool, even when the hallway was hot. Internet was fast in both the room and the balcony area. Room was very clean. Had AC, fan, big mirror, wardrobe, and bins (toilet paper and ayurvedic soap provided). The organic coffee was fabulous! So was the option to choose freely from the breakfast menu (breakfast is included in the price - and tasty!). There's an internet café in the dining area, as well as a balcony. Also the common balcony on the top floor was a nice treat. However, best of all was Gopan and the rest of the staff: truly friendly, welcoming and attentive hosts. Loved it there! Thank you! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatCinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is cozy and the service is excellent. Gopan and Habib were suberb hosts, extremely helpful to us in arranging our activities and transportation. Gopan even helped us to set up a houseboat tour of Kerala's backwaters, including transportation to Alleppey where the tour began. The rooms are basic and affordable. Bathrooms could use an update but they were adequate. A nice breakfast is included and is served on their patio overlooking the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The room was the cheapest they had and it was okay. Fairly clean and had ac. Being on the ground floor I expected noise but there were not to much. Some mozzies but not to bad. Breakfast is good. I would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimmi776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6.4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#36 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#3 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Muziris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Muziris

Property: Fort Muziris
Address: 1/415 Burger Street | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 425 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort Muziris 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Burgar Street in the heart of historic Fort Cochin, Fort Muziris offers comfortable and convenient homestay accommodation to the discerning traveller. Spread across three floors, Fort Muziris has six A/C and non A/C rooms with common living room and kitchenette on each floor and balconies on the upper floor. This property is situated close to the bus terminal and ferry, as well as to major attraction of the area such as Church of St. Francis, The Chinese fishing nets and Jewish synagogue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Fort Muziris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Muziris Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing