We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Muziris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Muziris
Ranked #23 of 425 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

When you travel alone, you want something clean, friendly, and central, with good internet connection. Fort Muziris has all this! I find the hosts Gopan and Habib really helpful and kind ...Gopan makes a mean banana pancake, Habib helped me with my yoga and played me interesting music...and Gopan let me leave my bags while I went travelling for a few days, always informative about transport. The website is a bit confusing, so if you want 'those' rooms, mention it, and they are more expensive. A big plus for me was the 'hot water' which I hadn't had for a while. It is very close to everything so totally walkable, so close to bus station and ferry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    62
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
64
65
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The room we stayed in was small (on par with a European hotel room) but very tidy, and well-maintained. The AC worked great (although it dripped water after running for more than an hour or so), and the extremely abundant hot water means that unless you spring for a five-star hotel, this is probably the best shower that you will have the entire time you are in-country.

There are several very nice public spaces (a living room, a kitchen, a balcony) that we hardly used given our brief 2 night stay, but that would probably make a longer stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

this hotel is located in Fort Cochin. to my mind, the best area of this town. the rooms are clean, but the service is bad. the staff isn't friendly or talkative. the owner of this hotel possesses also an internet cafe and restaurant which are in the same building. practical

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank postcard12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed as a couple in the double room downstairs for 2 nights. I found the photos on their website a bit misleading as to how the room would look. I have posted a few photos on what it actually looks like. To be honest, there are probably a lot nicer places to stay-in while in Fort Kochin. We found this place acceptable for 2 nights though. The location is brilliant, right near the main shopping streets, restaurants, and the waterfront. They have an internet cafe upstairs- but no wifi in the room itself which was very inconvenient. The internet cafe also closes at 9 pm, so no internet after that either. The room was mostly clean, and had the bare necessities included. The bathroom wasn’t totally clean, but for India it was fine. The bathroom is also connected by a small window to the one beside it, so not so private! It was reasonably priced for what it was. No breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baivw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My second time here. Owners Goban and Habib couldn't do enough for me. Arrived around midnight both times and they were there to greet me. I cannot think of anything I'd ask them to change. Everything works efficiently and without fuss. There are pleasant sitting areas both inside and outside on verandahs if you just want to sit and read or chill out outside your room. Food is good and I can get a cup of tea and breakfast earlier than anywhere else in Fort Cochin - does it for me!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in January after trying a couple other places and found this to be far better value than some of the heritage hotels, with a great location in the centre of Fort Cochin and a homey and welcoming atmosphere. You get AC and free wifi at room tariffs where you will get neither at a lot of places in town. The rooms are clean and functional -- the third floor apartment is definitely the pick of the bunch and perfect if you're a family, but I found the lower floors great value. It's a small place so unlike a lot of homestays that feel like hotels, you'll definitely have a chance to get to know other guests and the very friendly and helpful staff if you stay a few days. Overall - very positive experience with none of the nickel-and-diming or pressure-selling you sometimes encounter in these parts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The lack of frills and slight rough edges of Fort Muziris are definitely smoothened by the warm hospitality and clean (but basic) rooms. One cant ask for a better location, given that FM is located in the hub of Fort Kochi's travel savvy joints - Kashi Cafe, Princess Street, Basilica etc are all a few steps away! The BIG breakfast is hugely welcome in the balcony overlooking the Princess Street... Also, the wifi is tops!

Highly recommended even for female solo travelers.

Room Tip: Remember what you are paying, so don't crib about the fact that sounds from the adjoining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supsonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6.4 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#36 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#3 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Muziris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Muziris

Property: Fort Muziris
Address: 1/415 Burger Street | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 425 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort Muziris 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Burgar Street in the heart of historic Fort Cochin, Fort Muziris offers comfortable and convenient homestay accommodation to the discerning traveller. Spread across three floors, Fort Muziris has six A/C and non A/C rooms with common living room and kitchenette on each floor and balconies on the upper floor. This property is situated close to the bus terminal and ferry, as well as to major attraction of the area such as Church of St. Francis, The Chinese fishing nets and Jewish synagogue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Fort Muziris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Muziris Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing