We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff, decent hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, decent hostel”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

One of the cheapest hostels in fort cochin we could find turned out to be above expectation, stayed in a 6 bed dorm for 4 nights with my group of 5, good value and a very central location right off the jetty and close to the restaraunt and shops. but the main feature was the excellent staff who organised trips, activities and crucially for novice backpackers helped us navigate and book buses and trains for later travel. very helpful, very friendly and awesome ghost stories!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    117
    33
    17
    20
See reviews for
20
51
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fes, Morocco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I'm not sure why this place has such high ratings? It was ok at best. We stayed for two nights in a room that had air conditioning but the sheets smelled musty and had some stains on them, and the bathroom was a bit gross with someone else's contact lens left on the floor (showing it hadn't been cleaned properly) a toilet that was always brownish and plugs hanging off the walls.

I scored service low as well because one of our nights there, the guy on the desk turned the TV downstairs up to full volume so he could hear it from where he was. It stopped us from sleeping (was still going on well past midnight) so I had to get up and lower the volume myself.

Overall we slept ok and we're grateful for the AC but this place is distinctly nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamVedantaWakeUp, Guest Relations Manager at Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to review us. Your feedback is valuable to us. We ensure that our rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day that also includes changing the sheets, laying the beds properly and cleaning the bathrooms and the guests are given the rooms only once the room is cleaned.We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you because of the volume of the television but it also happens that sometimes other guests request the manager to increase the volume so that it is audible to them from wherever they are lounging around.

We would like to also inform you that our hotel has recently undergone a renovation. We would love to have you over again so that we get another opportunity to demonstrate our strongest commitment to the highest standards of hospitality.

We are a customer centric organization and our team works really hard to ensure that all our guests have a great experience and a pleasant stay at our hostels.

Yours sincerely,
Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It's refreshing to see a place that is actually backpacker oriented in India. Great rooms, great staff, location is fantastic. Really a great place to meet fellow travellers. There's not much to do in Kochi, so it was nice to have the option of hanging out in the common area. Would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardoAraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

easy to find: opp brunton boatyard, next to fort kochi jetty & bus stop. a quick ferry ride & tuk tuk to the railway station. staff extremely helpful in all travel needs. rooms cheap, clean, great mattresses. great resturant next door & close to local foods.
definetly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petastan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nicely clean hostel with a welcoming receptionist who checked us in very efficiently. Room was clean, as was the bathroom, and had everything we needed, including free wifi which worked without problems.

Small residents lounge area and lots of local information also available in the hotel - just off the reception area. The manager Ridin was excellent in helping us arrange for various trips in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were a group of 11 Indian Post-Grad students, travelling from Jamshedpur. (2nd and 3rd March 2013) We booked 11 beds in the Dormitory. In one of the dormitory rooms where we stayed, the AC stopped working in the dead of the night and no fix was done until the next day. And it was really uncomfortable since there were 6 ladies in that 1 room, sans AC, who could not open the door as there are lots of mosquitoes in the region.
We thought this was one off incident. But we were yet to be appalled by the callousness and rudeness of the gentleman at the welcome desk. We were seriously not too concerned about the incident, but the manner in which he discussed this issue with us was unbecoming. Physical signs of aggression by him like pointing fingers, banging the desk while talking etc. left us with a bad taste. We were actually asked if we were "qualified" enough to make a complaint to him.
"Do we really have to be super qualified, or as some of us in group felt, Foreigners to get good treatment?"
The place is really nice and the hotel infra was OK. Machines can fail and we understand that. But a decent way to talk with customers is an absolute hygiene factor, that the place lacked.
I must also mention that the same gentleman refunded a significant portion of the room rent for the night, which we appreciate. We don't appreciate the way he talked with us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram_K_Shukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamVedantaWakeUp, Owner at Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

We sincerely apologize for the malfunctioning of the A/c. Out of all our air conditioners, we have only 2 old A/cs. These 2 old A/cs work brilliantly but sometimes malfunction when they are kept on for more than 24 hours at a stretch. Nevertheless, we have decided to replace these 2 old A/cs and have ordered new ones to ensure this problem never occurs again.

Having said the above, we would like to inform you that we are deeply upset with your allegations. It is really sad and unfair on your part to misreport an incident.

This is what really transpired: You stayed with us on 1st, 2nd and 3rd march, for 3 nights and your group had 11 guests. The air conditioner malfunctioned in one dorm room at 1:45 am on 2nd march. We profusely apologized for it and got it immediately repaired early next morning (3rd morning). You stayed with us on 3rd night. However, at the time of check out and payment on 4th march, you refused to pay us the outstanding amount of your stay which was equivalent to approx 40% of your total amount. You were rude, loud and aggressive and you were disturbing all the other guests and causing them to wake up.

As explained to you at that time too, we hope you understand that it would have been very unfair to us to waive off the entire outstanding amount given that the AC was working for the greater part of your stay and had malfunctioned for only a few hours, after which we had gotten it repaired. Therefore, we waived off only a certain amount for you and not the entire outstanding amount.

Moreover, your allegation that you would have to be foreigners to get good treatment is extremely unbecoming. If you go through our reviews, you will see how many of our Indian guests have praised our team's hard work and hospitality. We are as Indian as you are and we strongly believe in the sanskrit verse, 'Atithi Devo Bhavah', ie The guest is God. We respect and treat all our guests equally, irrespective of cast, creed, race, nationality, gender etc. The fact that you stayed with us for all of your 3 nights, is proof in itself that you too didn't find any fault in our hospitality.

We are a customer centric organization and our team works really hard to ensure that all our guests have a great experience and a pleasant stay at our hostels.

We hope you understand our standpoint.

Yours sincerely,
Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We both enjoyed our stay of six days in Feb second hallf at your Fort Kochi hostel.
We are in our seventies, but enjoyed our stay at the hostel.
It was quite comfortable and staff was friendly and helpful.
For the price charged it was really very good.
You are bound to give the other 'youth hostels' a run for their money.
In your team, ADIL stood apart, besides other youngsters with zest & zeal,.
Hazel was charming
Being a comparativel;y new venture, looks like, you will go a long way.
Good Luck
Surender Rawat
Haldwani, Nainital.

Room Tip: Rooms & Dormitories are airconditioned & Beds are comfortable to rest and sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rawatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamVedantaWakeUp, Owner at Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking time out to review us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel in Fort Kochi and Alleppey. Thank you for appreciating our team's hard work and hospitality.

We are truly humbled by your warm wishes.

We would love to have you stay with us again!

Safe travels!

Yours faithfully,
Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
408 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Ernakulam North Station
0.4 mi away
The Happy Camper
The Happy Camper
#1 of 421 in Kochi (Cochin)
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rampart Homestay
Rampart Homestay
#4 of 421 in Kochi (Cochin)
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonnetta Residency
Sonnetta Residency
#21 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
MARITIME by thehostelcrowd
MARITIME by thehostelcrowd
#8 of 421 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets

Property: Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets
Address: Building 507 1 506 - A Calvathy Rd | Opposite Hotel Brunton Boatyard, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India (Formerly Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi)
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling. Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers. Vedanta Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi, is nestled in the heart of the city and is walking distance to all shops, restaurants, bars and local attractions such as the beach, Chinese Fishing Nets, Santa Cruz Cathedral, St. Francis Church and Mattancherry Palace. Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with en-suite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge. We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!). We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and Ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing