We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets
Demarest, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed in the dorm (one of the few I found in India, and definitely one of the only mixed gender ones in the country) and found the atmosphere very relaxed and friendly. The staff are wonderful, professional and knowledgeable. And the location is very central in Fort Kochi (just a few minutes from the Chinese Fishing Nets). The dorm bathroom could have been cleaner, but I guess 6 people using a bathroom will do that. There was also a sign telling us to ask them to clean it at any point. So not really their fault I guess.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jztennis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    117
    33
    17
    20
See reviews for
20
51
124
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Bit confused by the other reviews on here! We booked this on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews but it did not match expectations. We stayed over New Year and based on the reviews expected the hostel would be organising something but this was not the case at all and we ended up paying to go to a party at another hotel as the hostel didn't seem to be doing anything! Room was fairly ok but bathroom was disgusting and the AC didn't work very well at all. The communal areas downstairs were often filthy and full of dirty pots. The worst thing is that the rooms dont lock. We had to leave our dorm room open all the time. They told us this is because people keep losing the keys. There is apparently CCTV but not sure how much I would trust this. Would not be comfortable staying here on my own .....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamVedantaWakeUp, Owner at Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for taking time out to review us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

We did not organize an event on New Year's eve because almost all our guests wanted to go out and enjoy the celebrations in Fort
Kochi. In general, we love organizing events for our guests as much as possible and the same can be seen from various photographs that we have uploaded online. The only time we refrain from organizing events is when we receive prior intimation from our guests that they will be out all day and prefer to do their own individual activities.

We maintain daily high standards of cleanliness at our hostel. On the night of New Year's eve and the morning after, the room in which
you stayed and the ensuite bathroom became messy due to over celebration by some of the guests sharing your dorm room. Cakes
were cut in the living room and some of our guests stayed up late celebrating and partying. Since it was New Year's eve and given
that we had 100% occupancy, the property got a little too dirty at night. We got everything immediately cleaned the next morning. Nevertheless, we would like to once again apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

The AC in the dorm room in which you stayed gave some problem that night and we got the same rectified by our technician the
morning after. We have discussed this problem internally with our housekeeping team and we have taken measures to ensure such problems are avoided in the future.

We have stopped providing the dorm room keys to guests sharing a dorm room unless it is a group booking. The reason we do this is because we received feedback that the keys were causing more of a trouble than intended convenience. Our guests would often
misplace the keys and sometimes they were locked out of their dorm rooms. To ensure no guest goes through any inconvenience
we have stopped providing dorm room keys. For personal belongings, we provide lockers, to each guest, inside the dorm rooms.

Our CCTV cameras work and our monitored by our Head Office. We have never faced any security issues in the past and assure you
that our team at the hostel takes utmost care to ensure the highest levels of safety for our guests. We go as far as to escort our lady
guests to bus stops and railway stations at night. The same can be corroborated through various traveler reviews that we have
received over time thanking us for this level of hospitality and service.

We are a very customer centric business and we rely on feedback and guest experiences to further improve our value proposition. We appreciate your taking time out to write this review and assure you that our team works very hard to achieve high levels of customer satisfaction.

We hope to make it up to you the next time you visit Fort Kochi.

Hope you have a pleasant holiday in India!

Yours sincerely,
Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great time at Vedanta wake up. The staff were so friendly and helpful and all the staff in the restaurant next door were brilliant too. We had a great time and would definitely go back again.

Thanks everyone one for making our stay so much fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamVedantaWakeUp, Owner at Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking time out to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the efforts of our team.

We would love to have you stay with us again!

Warm regards,
Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Vedanta wake up was de best stay ever in India! I felt immediately at home, the staff was so friendly and professional. All rooms were clean, had airco, a fan, ... the place was the greatest to meet other travellers. When I got back there after travelling, it felt just like coming home!
Not only the accomodation but especially the staff (thank you Binu!) made this staying to one of the best ever! I am recommending this hostel to absolutely everyone, including the travel company where I'm working for. Vedanta wake up, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delphinevdbossche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viana do Castelo, Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Vendanta-Wake-up is a very nice hostel with a.c. in the rooms. But the best are the staff. They are very kind and helpfully. Binu John and is crew make everybody feels as at home. We chat, we laugh and even sing...
If you have time go with Sajad and his rikechaw see Fort Cochi. If you don't have time, try to find some!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jormontez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamVedantaWakeUp, Owner at Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for appreciating our team. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel.

We hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,
Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very friendly and very helpful staff!!
They had a sing a long and were extremely happy help book our transport.
Also helpful for local sight seeing.
Rooms are clean and up to scratch. Hot showers when the power is on.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganSewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamVedantaWakeUp, Owner at Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

We would love to serve you again!

Safe travels!

Warm regards,
Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I would like to start with Rishabh and team - true professionals, kudos!
Now Joseph , you'll always find him smiling and supportive. Binu- ask anything and he is always willing to help you. If u r traveller then he'll save you from some time wasting typical tourist spots. We took the kathAkalli show from Vedanta and we are satisfied. Since we knew that we required only for night stay, With our 3 yr old kid we took the AC dbl room . Room was clean but small , bathroom was clean. I know it's a hostel but still I think they should provide wreck, slab or table to keep the general items handy. I am rating this place 4 star just because I think property can be keep more clean specially the small kitchen and lawn area. Also, major concern was the power backup, since we had to spend couple of hrs without electricity . Location of the property is added advantage.
Bottom line: do not expect luxury but you can surely expect good stay , location and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamVedantaWakeUp, Owner at Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your wonderful words and for taking time out to review us. We are glad that you had a good stay at our hostel. We do have a coffee table and 2 chairs in each of our Deluxe Double rooms so that our guests can enjoy refreshments or keep their items on the coffee table. We have taken your feedback into consideration and are exploring options to install a power generator at the property to beat the power outages experienced in Fort Kochi.

We would love to have you stay with us again. Thank you for appreciating our team and our hard work.

On behalf of our entire team, we wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New year!

Warm regards,
Team Vedanta Wake up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel PGS Vedanta
Hotel PGS Vedanta
#38 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
135 reviews
5.6 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
265 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Ernakulam North Station
0.0 mi away
Rampart Homestay
Rampart Homestay
#5 of 449 in Kochi (Cochin)
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets

Property: Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets
Address: Building 507 1 506 - A Calvathy Rd | Opposite Hotel Brunton Boatyard, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India (Formerly Vedanta - Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi)
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 449 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling. Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers. Vedanta Wake up! by the backwaters, Fort Kochi, is nestled in the heart of the city and is walking distance to all shops, restaurants, bars and local attractions such as the beach, Chinese Fishing Nets, Santa Cruz Cathedral, St. Francis Church and Mattancherry Palace. Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with en-suite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge. We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!). We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and Ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up! - Chinese Fishing Nets Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing