We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't recommend this place”
Review of Tandoor Restaurant

Tandoor Restaurant
Ranked #105 of 964 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Four decades of service is a long way into the hearts of people living and visiting Kochi city.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Won't recommend this place”
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Every 3 - 4 months, when we visit Kochi, this is a usual family eat out place. But the last trip to this restaurant was not the best. The quality of food has deteriorated. The pulao that my wife ordered had too much oil in it that it could have prompted a US attack. The kerala porotta that i ordered went cold and stiff in a matter of minutes. I bet I could swing the porota, cut steel and do a better job than the James Bond villain with the blade hat.

Well, enough said, we'd be staying away from this place for a long time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    64
    18
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pathetic food.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I visited the restaurant recently during my overnnight stay at Kochi and was recommended Tandoor for good North Indian food.

Both.the food and service was horrible and pathetic and would recommend not to visit this place ever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_Gambhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Tandoor is my all time and one of the favorite restaurants in and around the city!
The service offered is quite good, just like the food served! Esp the kadai :) The American Chopsey is my fav! The place offers a good ambiance in its ground floor and I personally don't like the first floor! The place is quite crowded these days for dinner (No wonder)

Its a good experience to dine from here, cos in my opinion the food offered is too good and economical at the same time! Worth the money! :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY POOR AND PATHETIC SERVICE !!!!!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I went with my family for my wedding anniversary... we were a group of five adults and we ordered food with the starters... in that we ordered 2/ 4 soups for 4 persons and 1 soup for the other person ... they almost took 40 min for the starters and this guy brought 2/4 soup.. after that he brought a big bowl of soup which could be consumed for another 4 persons.. and then we questioned about the quantity he started arguing and literally started blaming us continuously... we said to him that we will pay for the extra soup then he started blaming us more and trying to make everyone around that it was our mistake and not his... it was obviously his mistake.. but we din want to make an issue... after that instead of solving it they said u can leave after paying for the soups which we consumed which was really rude.. at least the management should behave properly.. the guy who took the order doesn't know half the things and he was the one arguing...really bad experience... and will never ever go there or ask anyone to go there...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikesh1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“expensive”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

visited this place with my family the restaurant ambiance was really good and also they served our food really quickly ..Though the food was good it really not fit for pockets..they serve mainly north indian dishes

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor Restaurant also viewed

Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin)
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Tandoor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing