We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great value”

Fort House Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 950 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food and great value”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Depending on where you are staying in Fort Kochi, the Fort House can be a bit of a walk (about ten minutes east of the Chinese fishing nets), but it is really worth it. It is right on the water so has a nice breeze and the passing ships make for an interesting view. But most of all, the food is excellent and the beer is cold!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    115
    31
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average, but not special”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I booked a table for Christmas day dinner.We went to the Fort house to book and were kept waiting for half an hour until they could take the booking so we thought that this was going to be special.
It was a buffet and it was costly so we were hoping for a great dinner for the price. The table was right on the edge of the water which was great but the rest of the dinner was disappointing. The buffet was average and not remarkable. The service was spotty and so many different waiters came to check on our table it became annoying...but not as annoying as the endless country western music they played the whole evening!
I presume it was because all of the diners were tourists. I looked over at the restaurant next door which was full of locals and wished we were there! Last thing we wanted sitting on the dock in India on Christmas day for dinner was to listen to Randy Travis. Disappointed we left early!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archietew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance, Average Food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Fort House Restaurant on the water in Fort Cochin, boasts a lovely setting on the water. The 8 - 10 tables on the pier that juts out into the harbor make a wonderful setting for dinner. It's very romantic. Other tables are located in a sheltered area of the establishment. Service was good, not stellar - waited about 30 minutes for our main course - but I was disappointed at the quality of the food which, to my mind, was just a tad better than adequate. The chicken we had was tough and lacked flavor and the prawn dish wasn't as good as others I've had in Cochin. I was very disappointed - had expected more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Views, Lots of Mosquitos”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Really enjoyed my meal here on my first night in Kochi. The view of the water is nice, though you are looking at the modern port and not any of the fishing nets. The service was also pretty good. I'd recommend the Kerala dishes. From what we saw of the hotel, this also looked like a really nice place to stay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you like crustaceans. go here”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

THE most delicious prawns on earth (especially the giant sized ones) in a gorgeous setting out on a jetty. There is a bar next door where one can enjoy a beer before heading to the restaurant. The walk through the eclectic laterns is something quite magical on a steamy night. Note that the restairant doesn't open until 7 - but it is worth it. oh so worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richstokoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort House Restaurant also viewed

Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
 

Been to Fort House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing