We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like crustaceans. go here”

Fort House Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 964 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you like crustaceans. go here”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

THE most delicious prawns on earth (especially the giant sized ones) in a gorgeous setting out on a jetty. There is a bar next door where one can enjoy a beer before heading to the restaurant. The walk through the eclectic laterns is something quite magical on a steamy night. Note that the restairant doesn't open until 7 - but it is worth it. oh so worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richstokoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    116
    32
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“romantic setting, excellent food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a candlelit dinner on the jetty, watching the boats go past, the locals enjoying food on a neighbouring jetty. Good choice of food, suited our unadventurous 12-year old as well as those in our party who prefer Kerala food. Bit of a splurge for us, compared to our usual local cafes, but well worth it for views and setting.
Location: Right opposite the Kathakali show we attended at River Green, and then we enjoyed walking back to our accommodation by Parade ground.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkMaidofPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, nice ambience.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The service is a little slow, but they make it up with the food they serve. Its fresh and tasty. The ambience is very nice. should go a little early in th evening as the place gets full.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingPockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pricey, but great good and atmosphere”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was our most expensive dinner in Fort Kochi but the ambience was great - we had a table on the jetty overlooking the harbour, which gave a cool and welcome breeze in the evening. The food was really tasty, though portion sizes were small. It was worth the expense for the experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Global-Nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good but watch the spices!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Amazing food, great place to have fresh fish but watch out when they say "not very spicy" my Vindaloo was well cooked but very hot, even by my standards. Ate here at least three times and enjoyed every meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort House Restaurant also viewed

 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Fort House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing