We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kerala Backwaters and Fort Cochin, India”

Carnival Tours & Travels
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Kochi Shore Excursion: Private Day Tour of Heritage and Backwaters
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Private Day Trip to Munnar from Kochi (Cochin)
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Kochi Shore Excursion: Cochin Harbor Cruise with Glimpse of Cochin Private Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Carnival Tours it's a growing Tour agency in the field of Kerala Tourism operating from the year 2007. We are situated in the heart of Fort Kochi,Cochin. With the aim of providing most pleasant, relaxing and economical tours across “God's Own Country” Kerala. Carnival Tours offer exiting tours across Kerala: Kerala Tour packages – TamilNadu Tour packages South Indian Tours, Tailor made Kerala Tour packages (Fort Cochin Tour Packages , Munnar Tour Packages , Thekkad/kumily Tour packages , Kumarakom Tour packages , Alleppey Tour pacges ,Varkala Tour packages , Kovalam Tour packages , Parambikulam tour packages , Thrissur tour packages,Kozhikode, Kasargode,Bekal etc etc), Fort Cochin – Munnar Hill Station Tour Packages , Alleppey – Kumarakom - Kollam overnight Houseboat cruises, Fort Cochin - Wayanad Tholpetty Wildlife tour packages ,Cochin day tours ,cochin Day Trips , Cochin Shore Excursions ,Cochin shore excursions ,Cochin shore trips , 07 Hrs Backwater Cruises, Cultural programs etc. Also provides tours for Passengers comes to Cochin by cruise ships.We also arrange accommodation [Hotels, Resorts, Home stays, Tree Houses] across Kerala with the Best Rate! Apart from tours we do All India railway ticketing, All India private bus ticketing, Air tickets, Foreign Exchange etc
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kerala Backwaters and Fort Cochin, India”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our first visit to India and it turned out to be the highlight of our 44 day cruise from Barcelona in Spain to Sydney, Australia. Peter from Carnival Tours, and his father, met us at the dockside and presented us all with garlands to welcome us. It was a lovely touch. We had an English speaking guide/driver assigned to us, who spoke excellent English and was very polite and helpful. The air conditioned vehicle took us in comfort to the Backwaters where we joined our experienced boatman who took us on a 4 hour cruise in a canoe, large enough for 10 people, with chaise longs, armchairs and a canopy to protect us from the sun (or rain).The guide came with us and It was a fantastic way to explore the area, as we passed sights of India that have probably not changed for centuries, with women washing clothes and their long hair, men bathing, babies being washed and children running along the river banks, waving at us. We even stopped for refreshments at a small cafe/ convenience store where local workers were eating freshly prepared food, served up in a traditional manner on leaves. On the second day our driver/guide again met us on the dockside and gave us a fully comprehensive tour of all of the historic and interesting sights of Fort Cochin. Peter even waited hours on shore, for the Celebrity Solstice to sail out of the harbor and sent us images of the ship as it passed by the Chinese Fishing nets in Cochin. I cannot recommend this trip highly enough and we will not hesitate in contacting Peter again if we ever get the chance of going back there.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    15
    2
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tour of the Backwaters in Cochin”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This was the best tour I had taken on my recent cruise from Dubai to Singapore. Peter promptly answered all my e-mails and sent pictures of our houseboat tour. We were met at the port by Peter and his father and given a beautiful flower lei. We were driven in comfortable air conditioned van to the backwaters. The houseboat was lovely.We had a modern bathroom aboard and cushy seating areas. The cook served us nice cold mango drinks and we began our 4 hour tour of the peaceful backwaters. A tasty meal was prepared in the kitchen which everyone enjoyed. Chicken, fish and vegetables were part of the menu along with delicious refreshing fruit to end the meal. All had a great time.thanks Peter for a job well done

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nancee02882_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Want to go places in Kerala? They are the best!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We've booked a 1,5 week tour through Kerala from home and everything has been very easy ever since. When Peter prepared our travel itinerary he suggested the route (we knew where we wanted to go) and suggested places to stay. The route was beautiful, the driver (Simon) is a very trustworthy and safe driver and kind person and the places where we stayed we'd never have found ourselves and where wonderful.

Peter and co are a great team, with good ideas and professional staff and communication (which is a very pleasant skill in India :-). They specialize in Kerala, which shows when they come up with travel suggestions. They do day trips as well as longer travel arrangements.

Without a doubt we'd book a new trip with him again, if only he did more than Kerala.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pc_nerdje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic time in Kerela”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our trip was seamlessly organised, and everyone we came in contact with, from Peter (who is based in the office and always responded to emails quickly), to the drivers and staff at the hotels that Carnival picked for us were fantastic. Our 10 day itinerary included stays in Kochi, Munnar, Thekkady and Varkala. All the hotels we stayed in were perfect - small, spotlessly clean and very friendly. We will be recommending Carnival to any of our friends and family travelling to South India...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TJHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"No problem"”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you're staying in Fort Kochi and you want to go somewhere else in Kerala, or India, or possibly anywhere on the planet, go and see Charles at Carnival Tours. We'd been in email contact from home, but it was a pleasure to meet him when we arrived in Fort Kochi.
Nothing fazes Charles; whatever you ask for, your request is met with a broad smile, good advice and "No problem". A car and driver to take us to the Elephant Training Camp? No problem. A car and driver to take us to Varkala at the end of the week? No problem. Charles also booked us a Kerala Backwaters trip, organised our train trip to Kannur, right down to the seat numbers and provided us with the nicest chap you could hope to meet, to drive us to Munnar and the tea plantations, stay overnight and drive us back the next day. His name is Joseph and if you want a good driver and good company, tell Charles you'd like Joseph to drive you.
We thought travel within Kerala might be fraught and tricky. With Charles organising things, nothing was ever a problem.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnival Tours & Travels also viewed

 

Been to Carnival Tours & Travels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing