We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour”

Stanley Wilson Day Tours
Ranked #4 of 58 Tours in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Backwater cruise in a shaded canoe boat. This will offer you a special experience. This trip would be superb for those who are willing to be away from sound and noises of busy life.. We operate this cruise in a calm and quiet area where you can know about the insides of village.The trip starts on early morning 6:30 ans end on evening 3:30 and it includes breakfast and lunch for the day and you can enjoy activities like feeding and bathing elephant.
Munnar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great tour”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Just finished a tour from Stanley to Munnar and farm stay. Did Munnar for 3 days(don't do this for 1day) had a great time with a tremendous driver, Justin, who made the trip really good with his knowledge (he speaks very good English) and local information. Then on to the farm stay and a night on a boat in the backwater, another great stay.
Stanley was able to Taylor the trip to us and I would not hesitate to recommend him.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank johneallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    41
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Helpful, spontaneous, tailored to your needs”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We've walked around Kochi for a day before dropping into their offices in the evening. After a quick look we decided to go for the Munnar trip, and got the last two spots for the next morning. Everything from the pickup (right from our homestay) to the help with organizing our onwards trip was perfect. Our driver was superb. Thank you Johnson! We felt very safe on the hectic roads and he always made sure we never missed any attractions or sights.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank magicd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous trusted drivers”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We used Stanley's services to take pick us up from airport, take us to allerpey and finally to do a 3 day trip to munnar. I cannot recommend their services enough. For our 3 day trip, our driver Albert was amazing - great knowledge of the area, excellent grasp of English language and built the trip round our requests. He spotted wild elephants for us, monkeys and found great places to take photos. Albert was a great driver - we felt so safe in the car especially as the roads were very bendy and not great! Totally recommend them.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Crispslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Backwater instead?”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We signed the three of us up for the Munnar overnight tour. The tour was well organised and our driver (Shagi?) was really good. The reason for the 'average' rating is the quality of the sights and the comparative pricing. The waterfalls were a bit underwhelming, the elephants seemed sad and abused, the spice garden seemed contrived, as did the tea museum (especially in comparison to the working factory we visited in Sri Lanka). All in all it was good fun and the views from the accommodation were fantastic. It just left us feeling like there might have been better ways to spend the time/money.

Overall I suspect that stanly does a better backwater tour and that is why his reviews are so high.

P.S. I would say that the food was also a bit bland, but that is probably unfair as they have to accommodate a range of diners.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank andspleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“seascape”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had already been to Munnar and on a houseboat trip to Allepey by the time we met Stanley Wilson so we did not book any tours with him. However we wish we had and found him to be knowledgeable about the area. He recommended Kannur as a beach destination which would never have considered and are very grateful for the recommendation. We booked the accommodation recommended by Stanley directly with seascape and found the owner Anvar very helpful and willing to listen to any feedback. The rooms were basic but clean and the food was delicious. The only much needed improvement would be the garden and the interior pond area. We stayed an extra night to help Anvar and the owner with the pond and found them both to be very willing to make changes and were hardworking. I'm sure this humble guest house will become a regular destination for those who discover it. As for Stanley, we were grateful for all his advice and money saving tips!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley Wilson Day Tours also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Stanley Wilson Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing