We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

The History and Terrace Grill
Ranked #387 of 966 Restaurants in Kochi (Cochin)
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Had a lovely dinner here and staff as friendly as I remembered from a visit 5 years ago. Definitely one to try if in Cochin.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing, magical meal”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The food was truly special - with dishes we hadn't seen anywhere else and which tasted incredible. Service was excellent - attentive and knowledgeable. An incredible atmosphere, with a beautiful setting and traditional music throughout some of the meal. All in all, perfect. You must try this restaurant.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sianw2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Overpriced and lacking taste”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

It is beautiful here and we were hoping for good things. They got off to a good start as the starters were really quite tasty however the two main courses we had were both incredibly poor and a little confused. My Madras Pork had a really sickly, sweet sauce and was served with slices of roast potato and beetroot which really didn't work. At least my dish had a taste though - my husband's aubergine curry was just bland and it had been over-stewed which meant the texture was just soggy. Afterwards we went down to the bar on the ground floor of the Brunton where we drank a few beers - I wish we'd just eaten there as the food looked good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent and only $30-40 for 2”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This place looks like its going to cost a bomb but is actually not much more expensive than the other less spectacular hotel restaurants. With most dishes everything is included (rice, nan etc.) so there's no bill creep. The food is as good as the room suggests and the service is perfect. They're not at all snobby or obsequious. Make sure you book. do it in person so you can check out the amazing building.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank aaronshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is not value for money”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Unless you can afford to stay at the Brunton Boatyard, you will find the menu very expensive. I love food and do not mind paying for superb quality. Bukhara in Delhi is worth every penny but History & Grill is not. Seafood is available all over Kochi and for the standard served at this restaurant you can eat at a fraction of the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yunewalawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The History and Terrace Grill also viewed

Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
Maradu, Kochi (Cochin)
 

Been to The History and Terrace Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing