We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely charming place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elphinstone Residency
Ranked #73 of 447 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A cool place to stay - reasonnable and with an extremely friendly service - Zenil's smile (the owner) will make you forget the simplicity of the rooms. and a wonderful kitchen attached for lunch and dinners - so why resist ?

Room Tip: best rooms are the ones at the back facing the garden.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxModesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Elphinstone Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 122 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great service, friendly people, nice rooms and food at restaurant is delicious.
Hotel is very close to the centre of fort kochi.
We had a booking issue that was neither sides' fault and staff was very welcoming and quick to think of a solution.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murgeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this place , welcomed by a lovely couple who helped with our queries, organized cars and made this a 'home stay' experience. Rooms clean and functional, lovely staff who popped in and fixed our mess daily!
The extra was the kitchen....fab food from friendly happy kitchen staff created from scratch, worth the wait....talk to these guys , they know their stuff, great chef, he's a legend!
Location spot on, 5 mins walk from sunset beach, little traffic and great for evening walk in the old town beneath majestic old trees...we,ll be back !

Room Tip: Just ask to see!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rory c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Elphinstone Residency cochin went off very well... The best this is the restaurant in front-Oceanos' The facilities at the resort were great. The restaurant,Food were top in the world. The staffs at the resort was very friendly and courteous. Keep the good work going. We thank the Elphinstone Residency for providing such a great holiday there.

Shine.AP
Dubai

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHINE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Zenil and Jacky are ever so helpful. They are building their place with care. There are plans to build a coffee shop and use part of the lovely garden at the back for a swimming pool. The cottage at the back is charming. Just the kind of small place that makes Fort Kochi so special.

We stayed their twice in the run up to the Kochi Biennale. The first time we were there, Jacky took us to buy chilled beer within five minuteds of our arrival! Second time round we were there with our two-year old. We were given the cottage, so the kid could play in the back garden and hangout with their parrot tatama. We even did an impromtu christmas eve nightout in the garden with some friends.

Ofcourse the food at oceanos is a plus, its really good. Stay here!

Room Tip: Cottage at the back has two rooms, they are nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at Elphinstone for a couple of weeks and Zenil and Jacky were perfect hosts,there when you needed them but never intrusive.The best this is the restaurant in front-Oceanos' ,if fact the best food in Fort Kochi. Room 5 was big and airconditioned ,the bed was great and king size.Bathroom was basic and maybe this could be improved ,but overall a great place to stay in Kochi. Lets hope one day they get permission for a pool in the garden.

Room Tip: Room 5 ,for a little more space,but if two rooms are needed take the two in the garden.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place is relaxed and relaxing. The staff are incredibly welcoming and do everything with the lightest touch; never intrusive and never overly-helpful. The room was great, in superb condition. I stayed for two weeks and found my room a place I looked forward to returning to. One small thing, it would be great to have WiFi in the rooms, but I think they are working on that now. Great place.

Room Tip: The outside cottage is very pleasant and feels like your own place. You can also make friends with t...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOssos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaneel, General Manager at Elphinstone Residency, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for spending your valuable time for sharing your feedback. Happy to know that you have enjoyed and liked your stay with us. Looking forward to see you at AURUM Elphinstone Residency very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#45 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortkochi Beach Inn
Fortkochi Beach Inn
#8 of 447 in Kochi (Cochin)
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#26 of 447 in Kochi (Cochin)
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#19 of 447 in Kochi (Cochin)
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#6 of 447 in Kochi (Cochin)
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chiramel Residency
Chiramel Residency
#48 of 447 in Kochi (Cochin)
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphinstone Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Residency

Address: Elphinstone Road | Near Fort Kochi Beach, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 447 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $14 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphinstone Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A calm and peaceful atmosphere. We have in house restaurant which is the Number One restaurant in Fort Kochin named "OCEANOS." And a Cafe Named 'Buzz Deli Cafe' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Elphinstone Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphinstone Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing