We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent homestay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasmin Villa Homestay
Ranked #47 of 437 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent homestay”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at Jasmin Villa for 3 nights and were extremely well looked after. The food was excellent and Jasmin and Stanley were excellent hosts. The villa was very clean and its location was quiet and interesting, especially in the Christmas holiday period with brilliant decorations. We thoroughly recommend staying here and also using Stanley Wilson for arrangements since he was excellent to deal with and very efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    33
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
62
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

From the moment I booked my stay at Jasmin Villa until the time I left, I had an extremely positive experience. I booked via email with Stanley Wilson who runs Jasmin Villa and other Kerala tours and homestays out of his office in Fort Cochin (wilsontours.co.in). Stanley and Jasmin have a beautiful home with shiny floors, clean rooms and charming Keralan furniture and decor. More importantly, they are the perfect hosts, constantly offering a cup of chai or coffee, advice on what to do and how to get there, and great conversation.
I stayed in a room at the front of the house with a lovely balcony overlooking the street. My room had hot water and a fan. Other rooms have A/C but at this time of the year, you don't really need it to stay comfortable.
One of the highlights of Jasmin Villa is Jasmin's food--included in the rate is breakfast and dinner--Jasmin's cuisine is unbelievable. Every dish another mouth-watering Keralan delicacy. And Jasmin pulls every meal off with calm and effortless aplomb, all smiles as you sink your teeth into deliciousness and offer her compliments!! She offers cooking classes but I simply watched the magic happening from the kitchen door.
Staying at Jasmin Villa was a fantastic way to get a feel for the real Kerala and I will most certainly go back the next time I get a hankering for the best Keralan food I tasted during my time there.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshav near Netanya
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We didn't stay here (too bad...), but had an excellent cooking class. What really strikes you as you enter Jasmin's home is the cleanliness! Our family (2 adults, kids 8,14,18) has a great time in the cooking class - food was delicious and Jasmin was an excellent hostess and teacher. I wish we would've stayed here rather than our hotel which was not so great, and definiately not as clean!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMoshavnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I returned to South India after a break of two years.We had previously booked a houseboat trip with Wilson Tours of Princess Street, Fort Cochin.We thoroughly enjoyed the experience( see my previous review of the 24 hour houseboat trip).We decided to try out their homestay, "Jasmin Villa".The first thing that struck us as we entered the residence was the all round cleanlinesss and warm welcome from Jasmin who prides herself in providing excellent hospitality and South Indian cuisine of a very high standard.The bedroom and bathroom were spotless.We had clean,well laundered and crisp sheets with hot water on demand.We had the most superb Keralan food prepared by Jasmin, who incidentally provides cookery classes at a modest cost.We were so well looked after that we extended our stay and we will gladly return for more of the same.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar in terms of cleanliness and amenities.One has a balcony so if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malabari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin, Kerala, India
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed 2 nights and I had an enjoyable time at Jasmin villa. Hospitality was extra ordinary. Rooms were nice & spacious, VERY CLEAN. Delicious and healthy food was served and I guess they are conducting cooking classes as well (Cooking is not my cup of tea anyways). I couldnt help mentioning about the hosts Stanley and his wife Jasmin. They were too helpful, very well mannered and excellent people. I just asked them about the places to visit nearby and Stanley enlightened me on all possible information which made me feel very easy to travel around. All in all its a nice place to stay and for the guys who are visiting kochi, please do not hesitate to make this your home away from home. I am damn sure you will not be disappointed!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vinrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Even though we arrived around midnight, Jasmin and Stanley (of Stanley Wilson Tours) welcomed us with what we quickly realized, was characteristic friendliness and care including a late supper (they had to be up at 5 the next morning!). Initially we stayed 2 nights, then went away to Munnar and the backwaters (through Stanley's excellent tour company, see review) and came back for 4 nights.

Our room was clean and comfortable especially because it had a shaded balcony where we could sit and watch the life of the neighborhood: this was a real treat and made us feel quite "at home" (see photo). However, had we wanted it, there was a small communal sitting room with television and a/c. We felt it a real advantage to be a short bus or tuk-tuk ride (or 20 minute walk) away from the over-touristy centre of Fort Cochin; our nights were peaceful.

Every morning and evening, we enjoyed Jasmin's delicious food, each meal closing with wonderfully ripe fruit, and although we didn't take cooking lessons Jasmin was ever ready to describe the ingredients and spices.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpearceflute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Kissingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Picked up at Rajah Island from a driver of Mr. Stanley Wilson and getting to a very nice, comfortable Jasmin Villa, Fort Cochin the house and homestay of Staney and his lovely wife Jasmin.
From the first momemt we feel at home, sheltered and welcome. Stanley was so helpfull to us,
organizing many things for us and what ever we need he helped us. My girlfriend got a very bad cold and Jasmin takes care for her with fresh fruit juices, steams and took her to a doctor. And the Kerala food, Jasmin is cooking fresh every day was the best we ever eat in Kerala. So lovely and wonderful and delicious. We will try to cook it at home.
The rooms are lovely and clean and from the Jasmin villa you can reach downtown by bus in a few minutes and you also can walk.
If you are looking for a wonderful, familiar homestay and if you like best homecooked Kerala food stay at Jasmin Villa. You also can book a cooking lesson with Jasmin. I will do it every time when staying in Cochin.
Jasmin and Stanley thank you so much for your support, your kindness and for making us feel comfortable. Ilona

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#16 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
130 reviews
6.6 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#13 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reds Residency Homestay
Reds Residency Homestay
#37 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Muziris
Fort Muziris
#24 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmin Villa Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmin Villa Homestay

Property: Jasmin Villa Homestay
Address: 11/1305 Odatha | Veli, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 437 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmin Villa - The homestay run by Jasmin Stanley which is one and half kilometers away from the city center of Cochin. At Jasmin Villa, you will find the warmth and charm of homely atmosphere. It has three well furnished and spacious bath-attached rooms (AC/Non AC) with hotwater facility. Like some of the most distinctive homestays in the world, the Jasmin Villa offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a homestay – all included in the nightly rate. Complimentary breakfast and dinner (Best and delicious Kerala delicacies) is served daily, Free Internet, Wi-fi and complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day. Above all,Mrs. Jasmin is an excellent cook and she used to conduct cooking classes in traditional Kerala cuisines for interested tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jasmin Villa Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmin Villa Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing