We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent cooking class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasmin Villa Homestay
Ranked #43 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent cooking class”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We took the cooking class organised by the affable Stanley Wilson and hosted by his lovely wife Jasmine at their home a mile or two from downtown Fort Cochin. If you are interested in learning about Indian and Keralan cooking I can heartily recommend this course. Jasmine takes up to 3 people on the course, unlike some other more widely advertised courses which can have classes five times that number, and so it is a really personalised experience.

Jasmine has a magic with spices and taught us a host of dishes and clued us up on so many more. We took the vegetarian course but cooking with fish is also offered.

Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to arrange one of the tours but having met Mr Wilson and given his 18 years experience in the trade, I would certainly seek out Wilson Tours should I ever return to Cochin.

NB we didn't stay at the hotel, just took the cooking class but it is situated in a quiet part of town.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Headfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    33
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
62
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My sister,a friend, and I took a Keralan cooking class here on March 13, 2011. We cooked veg pulao, chappati, veg curry, pappad, dal, okra, and raita. Jasmin was a wonderful hostess and clearly showed us how to prepare all of the dishes. It was a fabulously intimate class, as it was just the three of us and we sat around the cooking table. She dictated all of the recipes with specific amounts (bring a notebook and a pen!!) and patiently answered all of our questions. Then, the four of us sat around her dinner table and enjoyed the amazing meal and good conversation, followed by a delicious pineapple.

We HIGHLY recommend taking Jasmin's cooking class!!!!

Disclaimer: We did not stay at this homestay. We only took the cooking class.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akumpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kochi
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2011

L annee derniere nous avons dine chez STANLEY WILSON et sa femmen JASMINE .
JASMINE nous avait prepare un repas typique du Kerala .
Nous avons beaucoup apprecie ces plats savoureux parfumes aux epices du Kerala et admirablement cuisine aussi cette annee nous lui avons demande .un cours de cuisine .
JASMINE est tres methodique et organisee.
Ses explications sont parfaitement simples et claires.
JASMINE adore cuisiner et elle maitrise parfaitement cet art..
Au final nous avons eu un repas royal compose de Crevettes au curry
Poisson fris au masala
Legumes au curry
des okras fris riz
Riz Pulao
accompagne de Chapatti et de raitha

Merci et Bravo JASMINE qui est un veritable CHEF.


Last year we were invited by STANLEY WILSON and his wife JASMINE to have a diner at their house.
JASMINE cooked a typical KERALA meal.
We appreciated so much this tasty and flavoury meal so this year we asked her to have a cooking class for the tree of us.
JASMINE is methodic and perfectly organized.
Her explanations are very simple and very clear .
We admired her skillfullness and her "savoir faire".
JASMINE loves and enjoys cooking.
Finally we had a Royal meal composed of : PRAWNS CURRY
FISH MASALA
' VEGETABLES CURRY
FRIED LADIES FINGER
PULAO RICE
with RAITHA and CHAPATTI

Thank you and congratulations JASMINE she is a real " CHEF "


..

Stayed February 2011
Helpful?
Thank totoKOCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stanley and Jasmin made us feel very welcome in their home and nothing was too much trouble for them. Jasmin is a talented and enthusiastic cook. The meals she provided were imaginative and lovingly prepared using local fresh ingredients. Her food was amongst the best food we had in Kerala. Sadly time did not permit us to have a cookery lesson with Jasmin. If you have time, I would recommend a cookery lesson, you won't be disappointed. Stanley was very helpful in advising us with his tours and was quick to rectify any problems that we encountered once we were on them. Jasmin provided a good pack up breakfast for us when we left at 6am for a trip to Munnar. Her chocolate cake is wonderful. They are a very warm hearted couple and we chose to spend an extra night with them. The accommodation is excellent value for money. The centre of Kochi is a good 20 minute walk from the Villa but getting transport is easy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brown31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timrat, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We wanted to try Keralic Food, and Stanley Wilson, our wonderful guide to Kerala, invited us to have dinner at the Jasmin Villa homestay, a hotel and kitchen run by his wife, Jasmin.
It was an exceedingly good experience. Jasmin is a great cook and she was full of explanations and recipes. The food was fresh, healthy and spicy.

We highly recommend the place for the good food, good conversation, and the lovely philanthropic Jasmin.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limor_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagercoil
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2011

The place was providing us a great tranquility and rejuvenation of mind.Had a great time all through the cooking classes.Really a great experience .The service was really fantastic and the cleanliness was really awesome.Really a great a trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeniferJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stayed one night at the Jasmine Villa. It's in a quiet neighbourhood not far from Princess street. It's a 'real' hommestay, you stay at a family's home. It's clean, friendly and the food is great! Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#40 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reds Residency Homestay
Reds Residency Homestay
#37 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fortkochi Beach Inn
Fortkochi Beach Inn
#12 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fort Muziris
Fort Muziris
#22 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#1 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmin Villa Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmin Villa Homestay

Property: Jasmin Villa Homestay
Address: 11/1305 Odatha | Veli, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jasmin Villa - The homestay run by Jasmin Stanley which is one and half kilometers away from the city center of Cochin. At Jasmin Villa, you will find the warmth and charm of homely atmosphere. It has three well furnished and spacious bath-attached rooms (AC/Non AC) with hotwater facility. Like some of the most distinctive homestays in the world, the Jasmin Villa offers its guests so much more than is ever expected from a homestay – all included in the nightly rate. Complimentary breakfast and dinner (Best and delicious Kerala delicacies) is served daily, Free Internet, Wi-fi and complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day. Above all,Mrs. Jasmin is an excellent cook and she used to conduct cooking classes in traditional Kerala cuisines for interested tourists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jasmin Villa Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasmin Villa Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing