We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - never expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villa Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Villa Romantica
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great place - never expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My wife and family hail from Aluva and have been staying there for nearly 30 years. My in-laws moved out of there to Coimbatore in 2012 and when we had some unfinished transactions in Aluva my wife swore it would be impossible to find a good place near there. Her view was - stay in Thrissur and drive down to Aluva and I was in no mood to drive an hour and half in the morning to get work done with a wife, 2 kids and in-laws in tow. With my prior great experience with tripadvisor reviews, I decided that Villa Romantica was worth a try - and sure it was more than that.

They have a small number of rooms but the ambience is terrific. The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms are good. We had a problem with the solar water in one of the rooms on Day1 that was fixed the same day. The food was good and because of the small number of guests you get individual attention. Jeevan is great and can take care of all your needs. All you need is a call to make it happen.

Thanks to the folks at Villa Romantica. I hope the 2 kids did not create too much of a ruckus to scare away other honeymoon couples for you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnanthIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    51
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
84
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

we stayed at villa romantica for a night on 24th nov 2012. It was the beginning of our honeymoon package. Our trip was arranged by the Travel Planners, we were picked up at the kochi bus stop and driven to the hotel in the morning.The staffs were great and the service was personalized to your needs and taste. The staffs always served with a smile. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The breakfast and dinner were made and served to your taste. The swimming pool was clean and I even had a chance to take a plunge into the pool. Everything including the cleanliness, service, location, staffs were great about this place. I highly recommend this place to any couple for a quite romantic getaway or any family or individual if you are looking to get away from the hustle bustle of a city life.From the pick up till the end of our trip, the staff went out of their norm to give us that extra care and attention, which was something out of ordinary. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Location is very close to airport so ideal for a quick stop over. Staff were very friendly and food served was very good with generous portions. Location has movies and not close to anything so you have to drive if you want to go out which is a bit of a pity. Also, they do not serve alcohol so bring your own...management kindly allowed us to do that. There is a very noisy church nearby so be prepared for an early wake up call.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaandHunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

A very pleasant guest house a stone’s throw from Cochin Airport. It’s owned by a tour firm ‘Travel Planners’ who use it for their guests but it’s also open to independent travellers such as us if they have the space.
There are four rooms, two on the ground floor by the pool and two slightly larger ones upstairs sharing a large balcony overlooking the pool. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms clean with decently powered showers. Dinner was very nice and served in the open-air dining area overlooking the pool. They catered for my elderly mother-in-law’s sensitive palate and prepared mildly spiced food that evening and produced a ‘continental breakfast’ for her the next morning at her request.
What stood out was the service provided by the manager Mr Jeevan who upon hearing that my husband had left his computer bag (!!) at our previous hotel in Kumarakom liaised and negotiated its retrieval. It was with us less than 3 hours from us finding it missing - a 2-hour journey and for the princely sum of Rs1500.
I personally wouldn’t choose this guesthouse for a week’s stay because it’s a bit far from Fort Cochin and other Kerala attractions but found it a perfect place for an early airport flight. As I said we didn’t travel with their tour firm Travel Planners but judging by the service we received and their time-perfect, free connection to the airport the next day I would say they are probably very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedPenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay, staff were very polite and rooms were spacious and clean. Toiletries are the best, the soap and shampoo provided were wonderful with ayurvedic aroma. Food was okay not great! Its very near to cochin airport (approx. 10mins drive) but 45Kms away from Cochin city.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krish0091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trivandrum
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

its a small villa property, at a very homely ambience near kochi international airport ( approximately about 3 kms) very friendly staff, homely food,and a swimming pool makes the stay here a relaxing experience. two rooms are located around the pool area. if you are breaking journey at kochi airport ,this is a good idea. the nearest big town is ankamali, offers great shopping too

Room Tip: ask for first floor rooms if you dont like to be near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourdesigners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was just a week we had been married. The experience of staying at the Villa Romantica was really an exciting one. The honeymoon suite and the food(vegetarian) were just perfect. we would certainly love to stay at Villa Romantica when we visit Kerala.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the swimming pool, are an added advantage of easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VikramCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Kochi Airport
Courtyard Kochi Airport
#1 of 9 in Nedumbassery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diana Heights Luxury Hotel
Diana Heights Luxury Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nedumbassery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flora Airport Hotel
Flora Airport Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nedumbassery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Airlink Castle
Hotel Airlink Castle
#3 of 9 in Nedumbassery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Romantica

Property: The Villa Romantica
Address: Kariyad, Close To Cochin Airport | Cochin International Airport, Kochi (Cochin), India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 415 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villa Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa is a small boutique Resort with four rooms and a swimming pool located five minutes from Cochin international Airport . Ideal place for honeymoon couples arriving at Cochin Airport for their visit to Kerala. Its a very private villa for family stay. We have restaurant and friendly staffs to make your holiday in Cochin memorable . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Villa Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Romantica Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing