We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Princess Inn

Princess Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princess Inn
Ranked #241 of 442 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The guest house is warm, in good location and the owner will make sure you are having a great time! Highly recommended, nice clean rooms in a good price and very good service. On the same street you'll find restorants, Internet and book stores.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehud-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    32
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
1
19
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

A great value guesthouse right in the centre of Fort Cochin. The single room I stayed in was small and basic but immaculately clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. I went on the full day Backwaters cruise that they offer and found it to be very enjoyable and well run. The chill out area is a nice touch and a pleasant place to relax and meet fellow travelers.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 2 nights and we loved it. The manager, Freddy, is a great guy and all the staff were very friendly. We had a basic room in the upstairs lounge area and it cost 600 or 700 rupees....can't remember exactly. It's in a superb location where you can walk to nearly all the main tourist spots.I would definitely stay here if I was going back to Cochin.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a roadside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The rooms are basic but very fairly priced. Location is great, close to all sights and attractions, they can arrange day trips from reception for you and overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We came upon Princess Inn whilst wandering down Princess St. It was the best place we saw in our price range so we decided to stay.

The first night we had a room at the back (600R) with window facing a kind of lounge area where there were tables & chairs and books you could swap. The room was basic but acceptable.

For the second night we moved to a room at the front (700R) with a big window facing the street. This was a little cooler with more air circulation (not that the first night was that bad.)

The staff were great. Friendly, chatty and helpful. One in particular gave us lots of info about a local festival that was happening at the time.

The location is very good, right in the heart of the action (not that this is a party town so street noise shouldn't be much of a problem.)

I would recommend eating at The Teapot. They did an excellent fish curry and one of the best western style breakfasts (eggs, good bread, baked beans, fruit, coffee etc) I've had in India. Also check out the shop down the road (I forget the name) with lots of Indian themed designer souvenirs. Very cool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. peters, mo
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights and really felt at home there. Loved the common area. Freddy the manager is helpful and friendly. My train out of Kochi didn't leave until evening and Freddy offered the day use of a smaller room, with bathroom at a great rate. It was very helpful, as I was able to shower before getting on the overnight train . I paid 600 rps/night and 200 rps for the day use.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
2 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We think the staff (Freddy) of the Princess Inn, is one of the most friendly and helpful we experienced in India, without being pushy to do things or go places you really don't like! All his tips about Fort Cochin were helpful and good and we really enjoyed staying there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.8 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
419 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
424 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
7.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
641 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tripunithura
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Inn

Property: Princess Inn
Address: Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin), India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Princess Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing