We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious clean rooms”
Review of Hotel Victory Dawn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Victory Dawn
Ranked #96 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spacious clean rooms”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in Nov 2012. Bedrooms were spacious and clean, bathrooms were huge with very hot water. Our room also had TV with wide choice of channels and mini fridge.
Good selection of breakfast options with plenty of good tasting food. Great location by the parade ground, easy to navigate around Fort Cochin from here.
Receptionist very helpful and although no wifi, computer and internet were available on the 1st floor.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
31
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Algarve, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Victory Dawn a great place to stay in Fort Cochi. Small clean no frills B & B. Vashant receptionist is most helpful but beware of his taxi service. Rooms are all large, with nice wooden floors and AC but make sure you are on the first floor. Copious breakfasts with an opportunity to have keralan breakfast on request. Plenty of delicious fruit served including Papaya from their back garden. Convenient location for visiting all there is to see and shop in Fort Cochi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We are just back in New Zealand after a wonderful stay at the Hotel Victory Dawn. We were a party of six adults and we had this lovely home all to ourselves in late August. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the breakfast lovely and our rooms very large and comfortable. I loved it and would encourage you all to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms were great and this was a quiet area but close to the shopping and restaurant district
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2xKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed at The Victory Dawn Hotel for five days in August 2012. I was alone there as my three friends had booked at another hotel before I had decided to go to India with them and their hotel didn't have any spaces left. As it turned out I definitely had the better hotel....he he he! I was very tired after we had travelled to Kochi on the sleeper train overnight and also quite hungry. The manager arranged for me to have an additional breakfast, when I asked him on my arrival. In fact, throughout my stay, nothing was too much trouble for the staff of The Victory Dawn and the staff seemed happy to make sure the guests were OK. There was always a peaceful and pleasant atmosphere in the hotel. Someone was always available at the reception desk, day or night. The breakfast was nice and I could have asked for more if I wanted to. The masala tea was delicious! My room was enormous and clean. I always think that if you feel OK about the bathroom when you stay away from home, that is a good indication of the standard of the facilities and I can happily say the bathroom and the shower were a delight to use. There was a small problem with the remote control for the air conditioning which was fixed as soon as I mentioned it and then it worked perfectly afterwards. If ever I go to Kochi again I would definitely stay at The Victory Dawn Hotel.

Room Tip: I had one of the enormous upstairs rooms that had an equally enormous ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozdyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

There are a lot of overrated hotels in Cochi - this is not one of them.

Service - excellent, really nice and accommodating staff. Very helpful.

Breakfast - standard toast and eggs affair. Excellent honey for toast!

Location - very good, within walking distance to everything in the Fort Area (don't ever bother with the mainland). Plenty of good restaurants about including the much over hyped Dal Roti.

Power - power seems to go out a lot in Cochi, the generator was always turned on instantly and kept on until power returned.

Rooms - very big with nice wooden floors and furniture. A bit sparse and could use some more color but very clean. I found the beds to be uncomfortable but apart from that quite good, nice big bathroom also.

Plenty of large common areas in the building also, its a very nice old building. Colonial style.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a lovely 3 star place,more of guest house then hotel with only 6 rooms. Good location just by the Parade Ground & everywhere within walking distance. My friend and I were the only ones staying here and had rooms upstairs. Very spacious, clean with large bathrooms and lovely communal areas. Staff friendly & helpful. Free wi-fi. Breakfast could have more variety and usually finishes at 9am but they did serve it later for us. We were here for 5 nights and had a relaxing time during the start of the monsoon. A lot of the restaurants here in Fort Cochin don't have a licence but there is a government liquor store which an auto will take you to. Dry days in Kerala are not just the usual national/election days but also the 1st of the month - not sure where that date came from!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel in a beautiful spacious room with an enormous bathroom.I had requested upstairs room by email and this request was honoured. We arrived early and the staff went out of their way to get the room ready. Good location, just 2 minutes walk from the Del Roti restaurant and not much further to the beach and local points of interest.
Breakfast could have been better, but still ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but it was the room that really made it.

Room Tip: Request room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonlassUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#86 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#119 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ann's Residency
Ann's Residency
#42 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fort Heritage
Fort Heritage
#167 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#90 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phils' Residency
Phils' Residency
#71 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victory Dawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victory Dawn

Property: Hotel Victory Dawn
Address: Ridsdale Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victory Dawn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is my pleasure to introduce to you my latest hospitality venture, Victory Dawn in Fort Cochin. Following on the heels of the highly acclaimed boutique hotel Koder House, Victory Dawn is an attempt to bring yet another exclusive experience to discerning travelers. A former Tata tea company bungalow, Victory Dawn is set close to the beach and the Parade Ground in Fort Cochin - an area where English, Portuguese and Dutch influences abound. Tea cultivation and production played a very important role in the commercial history of Kerala and in its heyday, this tea bungalow hosted many influential officials. Like Koder House, Victory Dawn pays tribute to an era and preserves this atmosphere in an authentic manner. The bungalow offers six large rooms refurbished to retain all its age-old charm as well as modern facilities like internet data port and TV in each room, business centre, foreign exchange, electronic safe, doctor-on-call and laundry etc. We hope your patronage and support will continue to be with us as we embark on this new venture. Help us to make it a success as we attempt to give our distinguished guests yet another exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Victory Dawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victory Dawn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing