We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, great owner!”
Review of Tag und Nacht

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tag und Nacht
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent location, very short walk to beach. Lovely, spacious 3 room apartment with lounge.
The rooms are really comfortable, best beds we slept in during our stay in India. Antonio is a real gent and is always willing to oblige. We suffered some major delays due to British Airways being rubbish, which had a serious knock on effect to our travel plans, and Antonio was unbelievably obliging in assisting us. He also arranged an excellent English speaking drive called Josey who took us to a very nice elephant training centre where the kids got to enjoy the elephants being washed in the river. Will definitely stay here again when we come back to Kerala next year.

Room Tip: All of the 3 first floor rooms have ac and are top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveSmith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 114 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

we stayed 2 nigths with my girlfriend and we loved the place, room was nice and cosy, the location perfect. we arrived very very early in the morning and woke up poor Antonio, the guy running the place, who let us in, to stay until regular checkin time. he and his family were very nice and helpful, we really would come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perlakiszab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Tag und Nacht served as a very affordable and comfortable homebase while in Fort Kochi. Wifi worked well in rooms, ceiling fan, balcony, good showers, comfortable clean rooms with charming decor, a few wall plugs for charging electronics, great family feeling from Antonio, little Anna, and wife Kristine as well as other guests. Was a fantastic stay and would love to come again.

Antonio was extremely helpful for suggesting and organizing daily excursions, rides, printing tickets . He even lent me his phone to call local relatives and became friends with them instantly. A very charming man and likes the company of others. You feel truly at home here as he takes kids to school and to choir practices etc.. He caters to guests in having breakfast prepared at fairly open schedules, helps rent them bikes or scooters and even arranged to have a driver take us to an elephant washing in a nearby village. A great guy..:) I highly recommend staying at Tag.

Very minor downside.. there was some construction nearby which was noisy on certain days. Staying in the back house is not as nice as the main 2nd level suites. Ceiling fans could use a middle setting as they can be overpowering or too slow. Mosquito nets should be available for rooms as there can be many in Fort Cochi.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the second floor above the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here as a solo female traveller for the beginning and end of my visit to Kerala. I arrived 24 hours later ( in the middle of the night) than expected due to Gulf Air's incompetence, but Antonio and Kristine were fine about it - even sending their driver twice to the airport to see if I had arrived. I stayed in 3 different rooms during my time here - they were all clean- but the one on the first floor was the best as it was lighter. Antonio went to great lengths to help me sort out a local sim card which did not work at first. He sorted me out with a driver to meet me from the airport who was wonderful; safe, cheerful, helpful with excellent English. The breakfasts were varied and good value. For those who say this is out of the way - I don't understand what you are talking about - this is a 10 minute walk to Fort Cochin at most and it is a pleasant walk along a tree lined road, and if you can't manage that, you can get a tuk-tuk for a matter of pennies - at any time of day and into the night.
Antonio, Kristine and their delightful daughter made my stay very pleasant and enjoyable and recommended a lovely place to eat. Very good in every respect.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter, but the front rooms on the first floor are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notenoughtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The room was big, clean and it had a nice hot shower, AC, and good working van. Antonio was very friendly and helpful (great host!), also the reservation we made and an airport pick up was perfectly arranged.
Breakfast in the morning was a great mix of Indian and continental, with fresh fruits.
With a rhiskha you're in Fort Cochin within 5 minutes, walking is also possible.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The place is nice. Is not located within the main area but only a walking distance. Anyway, Antonio (host) will rent you a bike (no brakes) which will take you everywhere.
The room is big, comfortable bed and clean. The only thing is that is was very very humid.
The breakfast in the morning is very nice and tasty.
Antonio is very helpful, he is always there to give you tips or help you with your travel plans.
Is very nice to open the window and see the trees and birds all around. Quiet place.
The only thing we were sad about is that they offered us laundry service, and when the clothes arrived there were some t-shirts missing... Of course it was not Antonio's fault but we thought that they were cleaning the clothes at home not sending the clothes to a laundry service.
In general we like it. Nice, quiet and friendly place. Very relaxing for India standards.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed in the large a/c room and was most comfortable. TV and wi-fi included. I enjoyed hot and cold running water all the time, a pick-up laundry service and an excellent breakfast. However, the highlight of the place, beyond the comfort and functionality, was the family; Antonio, Christina and Anna. They are most enjoyable characters. Conversation with them was always fun.
It's a real homestay.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#22 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#13 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#4 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tag und Nacht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tag und Nacht

Address: Mackenzie Garden Beach Road | opposite the Maritime Museum, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 464 Specialty Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $14 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tag und Nacht 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our homestay has cozy, clean & spacy rooms to offer.Each room has its own WC & shower, one of them is equiped with a bathtub, two with A/C facility. There is also a single and triple room available - very suitable for single travelers or families with a kid or smaller circles of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tag und Nacht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tag Und Nacht Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tag Und Nacht Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing