We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fort Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fort Castle
Ranked #142 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Pleasant enough stay although the room was plagued by mosquitoes and the biggest cockroach either of us have ever seen! We eventually plugged all the plumbing openings to stop them from getting into the room. Fair enough we arrived late, but had the worst room immediately next to reception. It wasn't exactly good value for money although it is centrally located. We only stayed for one night and were thankful for it!

Room Tip: You can do better in Fort Kochi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthSeasCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
27
38
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fort Castle is centrally located and they offer modern, clean and comfortable rooms to stay. Reasonable priced and the staff and the manager are very friendly and helpful people. Enjoy your stay!........... My room was pleasantly spotless,......with free wifi, balcony, real shower, TV etc.
nothing to more say.everithing..good..........

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeevan_pande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALMO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

When we got to fort koshi we were showen a couple of hotels, homestays by a taxidriver. We saw a few nice places but Fort Castles really got our attencion.

The rooms were really clean and had great "european standard" with free wifi, balcony, real shower, TV etc.

We stayed for three nights where one was a birthdaynight. The manager helped us orginaized the celebration... It was a fun night :)

If you looking for a comfterable place to stay please visit the Fort Castle

/Nils & Alexandra

Room Tip: Get a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow,Bucks,England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in early Jan 2013. Well located in old Cochin, the Fort Castle appears to be family run in a polite and helpful way. Rooms are average size and our bed was comfortable, but all fixtures and fittings (curtains, furniture, toilet/shower etc) are a bit tatty, certainly by European standards. In no way did this spoil our stay and I would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sapphire10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This Hotel is managed by a friendly & enterprising young man named Jomon Nelson. I have to mention him first because he adds the 5th star to my rating. This guy defines service with a smile! I arrived late at night & alone and he couldn't have been more accommodating. My room was pleasantly spotless, the bed - super comfortable & the shower superb! Breakfast - fresh juice, fruit, an omelette, toast AND this is the 4th star....coffee was served in a real MUG! Centrally located among restaurants & shops and a stone's throw to the waterfront, it's a perfect home base to explore Fort Kochi. Jomon can also hook you up with whatever you need - car service, backwater tours, or just some helpful advice. Overall, a very well-run & well-maintained hotel. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryEunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My partner and I initially booked three nights at Fort Castle, and after just one night, decided to extend our stay by another four nights!

We were collected at the airport by a member of staff, who was very chatty and knowledgeable about the area. He was a very good introduction to the lovely people of Fort Cochin! Once we arrived at Fort Castle, we were greeted with huge, huge smiles and a very warm welcome from the manager, Jo. After booking us in, he presented us both with a beautiful bouquet of flowers each, which was such a lovely gesture! Another member of staff carried our luggage upstairs, and showing us to our room, Jo explained that the next day we could be moved downstairs to a nicer room, and to please accept his apologies for putting us at the top of the guesthouse!

The next morning, after having a great night's sleep, we decided to keep the room we had; there was nothing wrong with it - it was spotlessly clean, incredibly comfortable, very quiet, and perhaps best of all, from the window, we could watch several species of eagles soaring overhead (in addition to many other types of birds)!

Breakfast was plentiful, if a little basic. In truth, we would have preferred a south Indian breakfast but we had no cause for complaint regarding the fresh fruit, juice, toast, and Masala omelettes we had each day. Plus, we were given bottled water every morning. The omelettes, by the way, were wonderful, and on some days, cooked in coconut oil, giving them even more of a fantastic flavour!

Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff; if we asked for the water pump to be switched on (on the top floor there is not much pressure), it was done straight away. When the water pressure dropped to zero one day, the staff got onto it immediately, and it was fixed within five minutes, giving us much more pressure than we'd previously had! (Another reviewer complained that they had to shower with a bucket - if they'd asked for the pump to be switched on, they could have had a 'proper' shower.) We actually only used the pump in the evening, before bed - any time we showered during the day, we were happy to use the bucket and jug; it was both a novelty, and very refreshing!

Still on the subject of helpful staff, one of the other guests here asked if there was a liquor store close by - apparently the nearest one is 2km away, so Jo offered to send one of the staff on a shopping trip for him! As it was, the guest was happy to go himself, so Jo arranged a tuk-tuk to ferry him to and from the store!

The only downsides of our stay were that the WiFi (only available in the lobby area) was very slow, which made Skype calls rather difficult, and our room could have been cleaned a bit more often (we did have to ask for clean linens, towels, and loo rolls on our sixth day). Having said that, the staff were fantastic with regard to giving us as much privacy as we wanted (we are both writers), so they didn't expect us to vacate the room every day in order to clean... and actually, we were more than content to look after ourselves - we don't actually need people attending to our every whim!

I would definitely recommend Fort Castle; it's clean, comfortable, and has a very relaxing atmosphere. It may not have the frills of a high-end hotel but what it lacks in that area, it more than makes up for with its comfort, friendliness, and hospitality!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right-hand side of the upstairs corridors have their windows on the same side as the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yumsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel refused to comply with their own terms and conditions and issue us with a refund after more than 48 hours notice was given. No mosquito nets, temperamental air conditioner, very dirty bathroom, poor quality stained linen, NO hot water or water pressure at ANY time during our stay. We had to use a bucket to shower. Friendly people but lacking professionalism and integrity. Avoid any hotel associated with Intech Hotels (the company whose website you are directed to when making a booking).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCAH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William846, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Though we value every feedback coming from our guests especially
from Trip advisor we are of the firm opinion that these wonderful facility
is being misused in this case. You can view our cancellation policy on our
website which says within 72 Hours there is no refund and you yourself say
that you have given only 48 Hrs notice that too in peak Jan dates, where
there is no way we can sell the rooms. In your case we have taken additional
caution to let you know that there will not be refund if cancelled in last
minute. Also every facility is on the website and there is no way we mislead
the customers. Sad that you write falsehood out of sheer anger in this
wonderful forum. We are sorry that we don't agree with any of this
feedbacks.

William Rodrigues .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Rossitta Wood Castle
Rossitta Wood Castle
#57 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elphinstone Residency
Elphinstone Residency
#55 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#20 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bright Heritage
Bright Heritage
#145 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#14 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Manor
Fort Manor
#52 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Castle

Property: Hotel Fort Castle
Address: Rose Lane | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fort Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Castle is a new boutique hotel in the heart of Fort Kochi. Explore the glorious past of Fort Kochi where history, time and tradition meet by staying at Fort Castle which comprise of 10 elegantly furnished, smartly designed rooms providing you with stylish comfort and modern amenities. Be it Chinese Fishing Nets or St Francis Church (where Vasco da Gama was once buried) or Kochi beach, all are located within walking distance from hotel. Soak in the history by walking through the streets lined with mixture of old houses built by the Portuguese, Dutch and British in the colonial periods. Quality service, value for money and personal attention are always assured. Set near the warm, welcoming environment of the reception Casanova - Hotels Bar Cum Restaurant offers you with the best settling for a leisurely meal. Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner Casanova offers an a la carte with the best of continental, Indian and Kerala delicacies. With emphasis on variety, freshness and quality to patrons, The Casanova is the perfect place to indulge in best gastronomic exoticism and culinary pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fort Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Castle Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing