We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Casero Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Casero Home Stay
Ranked #46 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We arrived in kochi from a 38 hour flight from canada and priya had our ride at the airport waitimg for us. The rooms were clean, food was great. She offered us information on what to do while we were there. We did a cooking class with priya one day and it was the hoghlight of our stay. The best food and company. Thank you priya for welcoming us to india

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keemiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaisonmathew, Owner at Maison Casero Home Stay, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
We are really Happy that you really enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    13
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
64
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Jaison and Priya made us very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Cochin. We were welcomed into their family very warmly and the 4 nights we had at Maison Casero was terrific. The travel advise and suggestions that Priya gave us was excellent and she even booked our Backwater Cruise for us which we thoroughly enjoyed. The cooking class that Priya ran for us was terrific which we thoroughly enjoyed. I would have to say that staying here was definitely one of our highlights of our 3 week trip to India!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wjwsept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a lovely time with Priya, Jason and their wonderful daughters.

The home is beautiful, perfectly clean, with spacious rooms and comfy beds. Priya does all she can to make your stay a good one. The breakfast in the morning were delicious!

Priya also does cooking classes, and showed us how to prepare two traditional fish dishes and a crab dish. Easily the best food we had on our entire 2 months in India. Definitely take the time to do this.

It's a bit of a challenge to find the place, so get good directions before you land in Cochin.

The homestay is in a great location and easy walking distance to most attractions. And a lovely walk in the morning to the fishing nets.

Thanks Priya and Jason!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AspiringVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaisonmathew, Owner at Maison Casero Home Stay, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank u Dr Shoba & Dr Valerie for your love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful family atmosphere, warm, welcoming and overall excellent hosts. Facilities are superbly maintained, clean and well located for exploring Fort Kochi. Will be coming back here again!! Thank you Priya and Jaison.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank shobanayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaisonmathew, Owner at Maison Casero Home Stay, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Although it was a little difficult to find at night after getting of the airport bus at Fort Cochin, it turned out to be a very pleasant stay. (Do email Priya the hostess in advance for more specific directions rather than near Santa Cruz Basilica.)
It was located in a residential area so it was pleasantly quiet. Fact is, the only "noise" was the birds and crows. (During our stay we were the only guests so no disturbance from others at all.) The room was simple but clean, comfy and efficient. There were plenty of channels to choose from on TV, and my husband was happy to be able to watch EPL in the room! Also came very useful was the free and stable wifi in the room as well as on the balcony.
It's close to everything - the two main churches (Santa Cruz and St. Francis), the bus station, the Chinese fishing net, the ferry places, restaurants etc. It only took us 20 minutes to walk to the Jew Town on the east side (tuk-tuk costs 40 rupees to come back).
Breakfast options included Kerelan and western, and the portion was biiig. On a couple days we didn't need lunch! Freshly made juice, coffee/tea and breakfast, on the lovely and shady balcony. I particularly enjoyed sitting on the balcony reading/writing.
Lastly, I must send my thanks to Priya and her families. They're very helpful in providing the info about basically everything. Priya gave very honest and impartial suggestions on hiring a house boat from Alappey. I really enjoyed the chats with Priya about her country and mine, about her life and mine. The three nights stay at this homestay was unquestionably a very important part of a favourable memory of Cochin.
I highly recommend this place for your trip to Cochin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Priya and her family made us feel at very at home and were helpful arranging all kind of matters during our stay.

The room was very basic but clean and has both a fan and airconditioning. You can enjoy the very tasty western or indian homemade breakfast on an idyllic balcony overlooking the rooftops of surrounding houses.

Some people write they were disappointed that they were sent to the owner's sister's house. We spent several nights there too during our second visit to Kochin and enjoyed this just as much.

If we are ever in Kochin again we will definitely visit Maison Cicero again! Thank you Priya for the good care!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stutger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and had an excellent stay. Not only were the family warm and welcoming, they were very helpful with offering us local knowledge, which was vital for me since I hadn't planned very well! The breakfast she made was not only exciting and different (on request) but very tasty and filling. The rooms were in top condition and everything was in working order. All together great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Spice Fort
Spice Fort
#29 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Noah's Ark Homestay
Noah's Ark Homestay
#25 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#13 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#17 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#20 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#6 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Casero Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Casero Home Stay

Property: Maison Casero Home Stay
Address: H Fosse Road | Opposite Fatima School, Kottavalappu, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home in the heritage town of Fort Cochin, calm & quiet place and stay with a little family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maison Casero Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Casero Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing