We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay with lovely host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Casero Home Stay
Ranked #47 of 466 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 8, 2012

It was our first trip to India and because of satying in Maison Casero homestay it was a fantastic trip .we stayed 7 days here but definatly will come back soon.
Maison casero homestay is a place you can feel you are in your own home , very clean and comfortable ,with free WIFI . Priya and Jaison both are fantastic hosts, they are very helpful and arrange every thing for you in best way , any time you need help or suggestion Priya is there to talk with you and arrange things for you , she arrange us the Katakali show ticket, backwater trip in Allepy and also a very good tour to Munnar and Elephant training camp , the home stay is near to almost all the sights, near to spice market and also ferry to other islands such as Ernakulam , Vypin, wilington island, she made us very delicius breckfast every day ( i suggest you try the keralan breack fasts, which are really delicius ) and fresh jiuce every morning , no matter you wake us too early or too late, she is there to prepare you the breckfast and give you suggestions about what to do for rest of the days, she suggest where to go, where to eat, where to buy souvenior and also talk with you about the history of the islands and etc
I definatly suggest this lovely place to any one who plan to travel to fort kochi , i am sure you can not find better place with so friendly host

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanaz_Rezvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 131 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

we stayed here in Feb 2012 whilst touring Kerala. They were really kind to us and very hospitable. They helped us to book a boat trip and gave us a cookery lesson which involved shopping at the local market and riding on motorbikes/pedal bikes in the crazy traffic.
Highly recomend, we landed here with little experience of India and left feeling like home.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SimonandFurby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Maison Casero for one night only, but would´ve loved to stay for a while longer. The room was big, clean and comfortable, with an impeccable private bathroom and a lovely terrace. The location is perfect if you want to walk around Fort Kochin, in a really nice neighborhood, and Priya, the owner, makes the stay even better. She booked us tickets for kathakali (highly recommended), gave as a great breakfast (included) and, most importantly, made us feel at home. We really enjoyed chatting with her and having some answers to our many questions about India.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This Homestay is.clean and comfortable. Priya and Jaison are very friendly and welcome you into their home. The rooms are quite basic, a little darkish due to the dark wood furniture but clean and comfortable with aircon and bathroom with shower. It's a quiet area apart from the odd dog barking. I would recommend this homestay to anyone visiting Fort Cochin. We stayed for three nights at the start of our holiday. Priya and Jaison arranged our pick up from the airport at a competitive rate and arranged taxi on to our next Homestay in Alleppey.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19Sheppard61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed for almost a week, travelled up to Munnar and when we came back stayed one more night. The location CANNOT be beat, a minute's walk to the Santa Cruz Basilica, two minutes to shopping, cafes and restaurants (even a beauty parlour for a somewhat questionable facial!) just two minutes away in quiet Princess Street and Burgher Street.

Priya is especially lovely, looks after you well and likes to chat about Indian culture, her own life and yours. One night she showed me her wedding album. Jaison is quieter and less involved in the face-to-face side of things, but seems a nice man.

The A/C room was large and airy (though no real windows to speak of), with a good bathroom. Everything is nice and clean. A/C is icy cold, just what you want after traipsing around in the Kochi heat for hours!

Breakfast is included and you have a choice of Western (toast, jam, and omelette usually) or South Indian style, plus freshly squeezed juice (made with unusual fruits) and tea/coffee.

Being located in amongst private homes, you get a sense of life in Fort Kochi, with the various food delivery sellers wandering the narrow alleys each morning, calling out their wares. A house next door was preparing for a wedding while we were there, and each day we watched more and more decorations go up.

For the price, location, cleanliness and comfort, Maison Casero is a great choice.

Room Tip: A/C A/C A/C!!! You will need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lola_sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Cochin was our first stop in India, so we booked three nights in advance at the Maison Casero Homestay. Finally we stayed instead of three nights three weeks, because we found here a really sweat home far away from home.

The rooms are all available with a/c or only fan – all have an attached bathroom and mosquito-nets at the windows. It’s clean and if you stay longer the bed linen and the towels will be change regularly.

And even when you come back late in the evening from a 5-days trip (like we did) without a reservation and the homestay is fully booked they will find a room for you opposite at Jaison`s uncle house.

We had the cooking class in the home kitchen witch was amazing. You can choose the meals you want to cook, and then you first go together to the market to buy all the necessary things you need. During we cooked Priya explained everything to us and we wrote down all the recipes and made a lot of pictures. At the end we had a candle-light-dinner on the roof-top-terrace with our delicious self-made indian meal.

During our stay was my birthday, so Priya cooked lunch for us and baked a yummy birthday cake and the two girls painted for me birthday cards. I had a wonderful day so that I nearly forgot my home sickness.

So we really like this place and highly recommend it.
Overall – 6 from 5 possible stars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris-Joerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great location (main sights and restaurants all within walking distance), extremely clean (which is not always the case in India), good value for money and the nicest hosts one can imagine (they took care of us when we were ill)!

The offered boat trips to the backwaters are highly recommendable as well.

Only (negligible) downside is that it can get very hot in the summer months (no air-con in the rooms)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Rasa Hotel
Rasa Hotel
#82 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#15 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gloria Homestay
Gloria Homestay
#31 of 466 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aroma Homestay
Aroma Homestay
#8 of 487 in Kochi (Cochin)
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#13 of 466 in Kochi (Cochin)
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#23 of 466 in Kochi (Cochin)
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Casero Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Casero Home Stay

Address: H Fosse Road | Opposite Fatima School, Kottavalappu, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $21 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home in the heritage town of Fort Cochin, calm & quiet place and stay with a little family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maison Casero Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Casero Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing