We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one of India's best kept secrets”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #6 of 223 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I travelled with 3 of my adult daughters and had the BEST time. Spotless airconditioned rooms, wonderful service, just the most magic place. Whatever little challenge we had was quickly dealt with by the amazing Mr Francis or the gorgeous Christina. We felt like we were staying with family and were sad to leave. Do check this lovely place out. Highly recommended.
Thanks so much Mr Francis, Christina and Jackson. We miss you.

Christina, Treva, Erin and Inga

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christinaregina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 810 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

Unassuming from the outside, but wonderful inside. Impeccably clean, spacious rooms with tasteful and charming decor, modern bathrooms with pretty tiles, high pressure showers and lots of hot water, crisp white linen and towels, great service and a kind professional staff headed by the one and only Francis, Tissa's star manager.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meenakshi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Mr. Francis and his staff made our stay in Cochin wonderful in all respects. Mr. Francis is "Tissa Inn". Tissa is exactly as described by others visitor and more. Mr. Francis helped in planning our itinerary, arranging hiring of a taxi and also negotiated an excellent rate for Houseboat in backwaters. A beautiful boutique hotel in Fort Cochin, very clean with comfortable beds and within walking distance of various tourist sites. We met visitors who were back again - that says somethings! The staff is always helpful and ready to assist with any request. Like other visitors, the lemon ginger punch is very refreshing and we really enjoyed the food served in the restaurant - especially the spiced fish wrapped in bananas leaves.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5ContinentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

A lovely, beautifully furnished boutique hotel with Keralan and other antiques throughout the hotel. We finished our Keralan holiday in Cochin and it was nice way to end our tip – the hotel was clean with well appointed rooms and ensuite modern bathrooms. Very clean, fresh and comfortable bedrooms. The hospitality of Francis and his team was wonderful – very helpful with any requests. It is also ideally located in Fort Cochin making it easy to travel to various tourist sites close by. The lemon ginger punch at Tissa’s restaurant was thirst quenching and delicious.

Sadly we did not get the time to use the rooftop pool but perhaps next time. The rooftop was an ideal place to read a book, enjoy a cocktail or swim laps in the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orchidNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Our happy memories of Tissas inn are partly responsible for our return to Kerala.Francis and his staff are exceptionally caring and considerate.Their readiness to help in every way was unobtrusive but commendable.The hotel is stunning.It exudes charm and style.Dotted with beautiful antiques it creates an atmosphere of calm and comfort.
It is close to all the lovely attractions of Kochi and makes an ideal base to return to each day.The rooftop pool is a gem!
We hope to return to Tissa's one day and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChannieBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

You wouldn't know you were in India, this hotel is so clean! The staff are extremely welcoming, always helpful and there to answer any questions you might have. The rooms are neat with all facilities you could need, and quiet enough to get good sleep.
There is a restaurant too with a good menu, and a rooftop pool to cool off in after a day of sightseeing. Thank you so much Mr Francis and your team for looking after us so well and making us feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perth0990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Tissa's Inn is a great little find in Fort Cochin, close to the fishing nets and other sights. The staff are really friendly and the food is very good. A great little find.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
314 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#14 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#3 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
501 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#27 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam , Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $92 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing