We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable stay”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #12 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel is very well located to explore Fort Cochin. The staff were very helpful and confirmed flights home for us and ensured that our check our at 1.30am went smoothly. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the roof top pool refreshing after a day's sight seeing. Only had breakfast which was fine but not a highlight. We had evening meals at restaurants near the hotel which had been recommended by our guide and which were excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 795 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We spent a couple of nights at Tissa's Inn at the beginning of a 2 week Kerala visit. Great food, friendly and helpful staff. Very clean. Good decor. Convenient for local sights. Would definitely recommend it for a short city break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Wanderers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is a small pretty hotel located in a very nice area of Fort Kochi. The jetty is only 5 mins walk away.
We were extremely tired after a long drive from Bangalore (about 10 hours), and just wanted to relax. The check in process was very smooth, and we were in our cosy room within minutes of arriving. They served welcome drinks soon upon our arrival. We fell in love with the room interiors which was full of wooden furniture and good lighting. The bed was very comfortable.
The room was very clean, and so was the toilet. The shower had to be left ON for a while before we got some real hot water, but that was not an issue for us as luke warm water was fine with us. We never asked the staff about the same, and hence cannot complain.

We tried the small restaurant they have on the ground floor, and the food was good. There was not much of a choice offered at breakfast buffet, but whatever was served satisfied our hungry souls.There was this one waiter, who was extremely polite and well behaved.
The staff is very courteous, always wearing a smile. They even offered us umbrella's when we had to go out in the rains.

The pool is located on the terrace, and given that the hotel has only a few rooms, you do not find many people using it at any given time. It almost works like a private pool.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, and I think it was better than the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kavita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Well maintained small hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. Location convenient for sightseeing. Attentive and friendly staff. Beautiful decorations. Very good for rest after a full day of touring. Breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant were good. This hotel was selected and booked by Maavalan Travels (www.maavalanindiatravels.com) for our month long private tour to India.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yuri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We only spent one night at Tissa's but were very happy with the service, ambience and cleanliness of the hotel. It has a very nice aesthetic, with som beautiful artworks around the space.

Our welcome was great, and the room was very clean and comfortable. The view was not great, but that happens often in India, unless you're in a resort with high walls or 15 acres.

There were a few things I thought should maybe have been included at that price point which weren't - all easy to get over considering the place was so nice. Had to ask for hair dryer and iron, which were promptly provided. No room service in this hotel, or alcohol.

Overall this is a great place to stay - I haven't given 5/5 because at this price, expectations are somewhat high, and though there was nothing lacking at all, my expectations were not exceeded. This hotel really hits the mark, and delivers the comfort expected for the price bracket it's in.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Victoria_LoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was the first place that we stayed at on our tour of Kerala after arriving in Cochin and we were not disappointed. Our room was clean, simply but elegantly furnished and the air conditioning worked really well. The only drawback was that we were on the ground floor facing the entrance to the hotel and the busy road, with people walking around all day. This meant that we had to keep our curtains closed for privacy. As we were only staying for 2 nights, we decided not to request a room change but this may be something worth considering if you decide to book. The restaurant menu was quite basic but the food was good and the staff very friendly and helpful. There was a rooftop pool which looked very nice but we didn't use it - not enough time. Location wise, I think there are hotels better situated in Fort Kochi, closer to the harbour and the chinese fishing nets, for example, but Tissa's Inn is still only a short walk away.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room faced a busy road so we had to keep curtains closed. Ask for a first floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bclubleyprima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Tissa's Inn located in Fort Kochi in the state of Kerala,India during March 2014. The hotel was spotless, well appointed and in a great location. The rooms were spacious and the dining area was fine. It even has a rooftop pool. Although we only ate breakfast at Tissa's, judging by our overall experience I would be confident that the food would be fine.
The highlight of Tissa's for me was the service provided by Christina and Sanitha at the front desk. Nothing was a problem for these very professional managers who arranged our transport, gave travel and dining advice, arranged ongoing activities including a rice barge and flights and a hotel in Dehli. They even resolved our IT issues.
I look forward to returning to Tissa'a again soon.
Andrew & Christine (Australia)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gunn457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,079 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.6 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
874 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam , Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $105 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing