We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very diapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very diapointing”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It was quite a disappointment as the room had a dark feeling and did not feel as value for money, no view at all. Breakfast was the worst we had in India where in general we had great food so in general i would not recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    145
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
164
337
62
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I can sympathise with some elements of the previous 3 star review - the rooms don't have a view, using the shower does soak the rest of the bathroom floor and for the price, I would expect wifi in the rooms and not just in public areas. The service differed markedly between day and evening in our view - the ladies on reception in the day were extremely nice and helpful and we had a good welcome with a free upgrade and a cool fruit juice. The men on duty in the evening did seem to spend a lot of time on their phones and you almost felt you were interrupting them if you wanted to ask a question. The breakfast wasn't great - we had to send tea back as it was lukewarm, eggs were cooked hard and coffee was not up to the standard we found in other hotels we stayed in.On the plus side, the hotel was beautifully furnished and our room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel was very clean throughout and whilst the pool is small, it was a very welcome facility after a days sightseeing. The location is fine - if it was possible I would rate this hotel at 3 1/2 although it just about merits a 4 rating

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antarctica
Level Contributor
224 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I were expecting some great things from this inn considering the glowing reviews and the high price tag. Instead, we experienced a very flat and uninspired stay. We arrived late in the evening from a delayed flight and long airport transfer to a very lacklustre welcome that included no welcome drink, no cold towel and a begrudging attitude to help with our luggage from one chap who was more interested in playing with his phone. We were happy with our room on the second floor as it was spacious and modern. But as the night went on the ceiling fan made this horrible knocking noise that made peaceful sleeping difficult. Breakfast was meagre in choice and the coffee horrible. The food took long to arrive. My wife found ants in her cereal. There was no attempt made at showing interest in our plans for sightseeing and no folder with suggestions/options. The price for car transfers are exorbitant (book directly with a taxi). Small pool and very limited facilities. The location is alright but I wouldn't say ideal especially walking back to the hotel at night. On checkout I attempted to get help with my luggage twice by phone and no one answered so I brought down my own bags. No WIFI in the room. Rooms don't have a view. Shower has no curtain to stop a mess. This place lacks local character. All the guests are foreigners with a lot of disposable income. The only saving grace here is the spacious and modern larger rooms on the second floor and the overall cleanliness but for the price charged there is no justifying it. This place was just plain bad value. A luxury tax is added to the bill which is ironic as this place is by no means luxurious. The only thing luxurious about it is the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Tissa’s Inn is a beautiful little property at Fort Kochi. The only drawback to this place is that it is two hours from the international airport. The location is great – walking distance from most restaurants, and tourist attractions. The interiors of the property are beautiful and seem to be done up with a lot of love and attention to detail. Every floor (every corner, really) of the property has been decorated aesthetically. Make sure to walk up to the roof – and check out all the floors while you do – and soak up some sun and maybe take a dip in the rooftop pool.

Our room too was very well done. And thank God there was air conditioning; Kochi is a hot place even in the winter months. Most importantly – the bathrooms were clean and also nicely done up which was a very pleasant surprise.

The staff is eager to help and cordial. The manager of the hotel is very helpful too and may be able to suggest good places to visit around. The restaurant is known for its seafood dishes, but we didn’t get the chance to try these. Breakfast, though, was really nice.

Tissa’s Inn is a great option for a couple days’ stay in Kochi – its walking distance from the bustling beach too.

Room Tip: General tip for the whole of Kochi - ensure you carry a lot of mosquito repellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karishmalulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
211 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

As a travel writer for World-Adventurer, I have visited many different hotels around the world.

My friend and I chose Tissa's Inn based on its reviews and ranking on this site and we were not disappointed.

There are a few points that stand out:

1. Service: The front desk staff go out of their way to help you in anyway they can. We arrived early and they helped us get situated so we could enjoy the pool and tour the town while the room was getting prepared. They also booked a last minute tour for us which was great.

2. Location: If you are looking to stay in Fort Kochi, this hotel is right in the center of town. It's easy to get to any of the sites, but if you are going to Jew Town, I suggest hopping into an auto rickshaw.

3. Decoration: The owner's of the hotel also own the famous "Crafter's" antique store. That means the beautiful antiques decorating the hotel are all real and handpicked from a huge selection. The antique store is worth a visit alone (better than a museum!)

We had a great comfortable stay in Kochi.

For pictures and the full review, please check my website.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little hotel, simply and tastefully decorated with Indian art/antiques. In fact owner also owns an antique store in town. Not much we can add to the other positive reviews here. Reception was always gracious. They arranged a backwaters trip for us with Dax, who has his own travel agency. We would highly recommend him to those particularly interested in backwaters culture, local life. Very fluent in English, easygoing, and knowledgeable. Also recommend rickshaw driver Achu who often waits outside Tissa's. Limited English, but a super good guy and driver. He adopted us early on in our stay and found us several interesting sites and a festival we might not known of earlier.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We spent one night at the Tissa's inn and we appreciated many things in our stay. In particular, the welcome of the staff needs to be mentioned. We were offered a glass of fruit juice when we arrived, and we appreciated. The hotel is well decorated and the hall gives a sensation of peace and freshness.
However, the room we were attributed was quite small and dark, even if we have nothing to complain about the cleanliness, which was perfect, and the furniture.
The breakfast was a little bit too light and mainly the price was very high in comparison with the level of the hotel.

Room Tip: our room was at the ground floor. It may be better to have a room at a higher level;
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amassiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,909 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
6.2 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Property: Tissa's Inn
Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing