We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel as Introduction to India”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #7 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We picked this hotel for a group of couples & families collecting together for a family wedding in Kerala. A number of the group hadn't been to India before so, based on the Tripadvisor reviews, this seemed a good hotel to provide a relaxed and gentle introduction before venturing into the frenetic world of Cochin and the rest of Kerala. It is expensive by Indian standards but the rooms, service and facilities justified the price.
In the end, about 15 of us stayed in the hotel for 3 or 4 nights and everyone was very happy with it. The Keralan breakfast wasn't to everyone's taste - a bit bland for some, but we had a couple of other meals & they were excellent. The food was freshly cooked so the hotel did need some warning because of the size of the group, but the end product was worth waiting for. Other good points - the staff who were so gracious & helpful. The pool & roof area. The attractive rooms & hallway. Only downside was the dodgy wifi - but that may well have been fixed by now.

Room Tip: Our group occupied 6 or 7 rooms & everyone complimented the rooms. I don't think any were to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 786 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great location to begin with, that solves half the problems. The staff is always smiling and very helpful. Lot of attention given to every customer. They genuinely want to get feedback which is always a good sign.

Rooms are clean and tastefully done. The common areas are decorated with antiques that add a lot of charm to the place.

All in all if you want to stay in a nice boutique hotel that does not cost too much - This is it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arjun_Bhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great Boutique hotel. It was clean, beautiful and comfortable. I really recommend it. Food was good, we had breakfast and dinner, everything was fantastic. For breakfast we had a choice between indian and continental. Room was clean, comfortable with aircond. Bathroom was clean and we had hot water all the time. Pool area was clean and pleasant. We had free wifi all the time. There was power at the hotel all the time. The hotel had its own generator. There were antiques around the hotel. The owner of the hotel owns an antiques shop. You should visit the shop. The name is crafters, fair prices and you are sure that you get what you pay for. The staffs were nice. Sanita the receptionist helped us with restaurants ans trips. The hotel manager helped us to book the backwaters tour, we had a good deal. Also, the manager hired a taxi for us to take us to Allepey to take the backwater boat. If you are thinking in renting a scooter they will help as well with the information. Service at Tissa's was excelent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were able to find accommodations at Tissa's in on short notice when our travel plans had changed at the last minute. Our stay was brief, but wonderful. This is a really nice hotel. The food was wonderful, the pool area on the roof was clean and pleasant. We stayed several places in India. This was by far the nicest.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindfulmayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in beautiful Kochi, had a spacious and renovated room, breakfast choice between continental and Indian, got a lot of suggestions for restaurants and trips. So altogether a perfect place to stay.
Just a small complaint: Please try to get the swimming pool ready at 08:00 am and provide some towels at that time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank street-foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wow! Understated elegance and charming, attentive but discrete staff .... This really was the best place to start our trip to Kerala.
We arrived exhausted after the long series of flights and a bit earlier than check in allows. The staff were amazing and let us leave our bags, shower and cool off in the pool before our room was ready... Even bringing the most delicious ginger and lime cocktail for us as we looked a bit warm!

The room was massive - beautifully decorated and cool with fantastic aircon and great bathroom.
We can't recommend this hotel enough - yes, it's a bit expensive but truly worth every penny. We just wish we'd booked it for the last day of our trip too.

Breakfast was great and we even ate in the restaurant (something we never do) but the service and food was so good it was a nice option. no alcohol but you can get beer in a couple of bars in town.

Tissa's inn knows what good service and relaxation mean - go for it. By the end of the trip this was the best place we'd stayed in all Kerala.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seallofapproval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Tissa's Inn for our first night in India. Arriving at 5am after a long journey from the UK, we were met by wonderful staff that went out of their way to look after us during our stay. Despite being the busiest time of the year, a room was quickly prepared for us and breakfast provided so that we could check in early and get some well needed sleep. The hotel is stunningly decorated and our room beautiful. The food was also excellent. If we're back in Fort Cochin again, we''ll definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineC1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,067 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
859 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $69 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing