We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and extremely comfortable stay”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #8 of 208 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent and extremely comfortable stay”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here for one day following business meeting. I found this property to be faultless. The room was beautiful and included double bed, ensuite bathroom, toilet with free wifi, cable television and welcome drink of fresh fruit juice. Staff were incredibly helpful with details on attractions, typical prices for transport and local map. Breakfast was either Kerala or European style. I ate local for all my meals. I advised of allergies and they prepared local dishes, as with all their dshes, freshly to order. The mixed vegetable curry prepared in Keralan style was wonderful accompanied by variety of Indian breads. The hotel is about 500 m from basilica and, in my opinion, a far better location than the upmarket hotels in Ernakulam which is reached by ferry. During my final meal, I was met by the manager who regretted not having met me on arrival which he apparently does with all his guests due to his nephew getting married two days prior. All in all, an absolutely wonderful stay and would have been delighted to stay longer. Three wheeler travel to Paradesi synagogue, Dutch Palace aproximately 50 Rupees. Go by three wheeler everywhere, it's cheap, convenient, you see more of the city and you might just get a great driver as I did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    148
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
167
341
63
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

From arriving and throughout our stay we were looked after extremely well -
Room was very clean -
Ate at the restaurant and food was very nice
Felt safe and was very relaxing
As I was travelling with my girlfriend - she was apprehensive about quality of hotels/b&b's in India
We both were pleasantly surprised by the standards Tissa's offered
We moved on to another location shortly after 2 nights here and obviously compared it to our first experience - without naming the other location - it did not compare any any way

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dealstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW AUSTRALIA
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night as Hotel Arches was booked out for our third night in Cochin.Tissa's Inn appears quite new, minimalist decor with the addition of some antiques beautifully positioned. Staff delightful could not had been more welcoming. Pool on roof top, very private. Room great, spacious lovely modern bathroom, our only thing was that wifi very weak.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NswAustraliaDidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Tissa's Inn for two nights at the end of our trip. It is in an excellent location, close to everything. We had a lovely room and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great as were the other meals we had. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 239Sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved this hotel! It is located very centrally in walking distance from all the sights in Fort Cochin. It had beautiful decor and interiors with exceptional attention to detail. The staff were wonderful - warm and helpful and gave us attentive and professional service at all times. The breakfast included was divine. Francis and his staff also helped us arrange our ongoing transport and the next leg of our trip in Kerala. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at this place in the beginning of our trip for 3 nights and then at the end of our trip for one night.this place have excellent location and friendly and very helpfull staff.
the rooms are very clean and very comfortable with all what we need.
it was the bast place that we stay in our trip!
thanks very much to the excellent staff that give us very warm hospitality during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erez3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at Tissa's Inn twice in September - for a couple of nights at the beginning of our trip and then 2 nights at the end. Arriving for our second stay at the end of the trip, felt like coming home due to the warm welcome of the staff.

The hotel is centrally located and within easy walking distance to the Chinese fishing nets, local shopping (Princess Street is good) and restaurants. It feels very safe to walk around during the day and night. The area is also very clean. We ate at the hotel, which was excellent, and at Oceanos restaurant, which we would also highly recommend. Oceanos also offers cooking lessons.

For more serious shopping, including antiques, pashminas, silk scarves etc, head to Jew Town by tuk tuk (cost is 30 or 40 rupees). Shop around when it comes to pashminas as some of what is on offer is not what is stated. Some proprietors will show you how to tell the difference and will also provide a certificate of authenticity. Better still, do some research before the trip so you can shop with a bit more confidence than I did!

Our room at Tissa's was very comfortable and beautifully furnished (room 9). It was also big, quiet, spotlessly clean, and contained both a ceiling fan and air conditioning (both whisper-quiet). Beautiful crisp white bed linen, comfortable pillows. The wi-fi was sometimes difficult to connect, but there is a computer near reception which is available for guests. There is an ATM opposite and next door. Like many of the hotels and restaurants in Kerala, there is no alcohol served on the premises.

The staff are very professional, friendly and happy to help. They arranged transfers to and from the airport (leave the hotel 3 hours prior to departure for an international flight), transport to Kumarakom and into Ernakulam for a shopping trip (we had to take a tuk tuk for the half hour journey back though, which was a bit hairy).

Finally, the swimming pool on the roof was like a sanctuary when returning after our various expeditions.

As I mentioned above, it felt great to return to Tissa's after the rest of our stay in Kerala, which included Kumarakom Lake Resort and an overnight houseboat.

I can highly recommend Tissa's for its high standard of accommodation, location, professionalism and personal touch.

Room Tip: Room 9 is upstairs and at the back of the hotel away from the street, so it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunk606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Property: Tissa's Inn
Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing