We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #7 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at Tissa's Inn for two nights at the end of our trip. It is in an excellent location, close to everything. We had a lovely room and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great as were the other meals we had. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 239Sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 786 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved this hotel! It is located very centrally in walking distance from all the sights in Fort Cochin. It had beautiful decor and interiors with exceptional attention to detail. The staff were wonderful - warm and helpful and gave us attentive and professional service at all times. The breakfast included was divine. Francis and his staff also helped us arrange our ongoing transport and the next leg of our trip in Kerala. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at this place in the beginning of our trip for 3 nights and then at the end of our trip for one night.this place have excellent location and friendly and very helpfull staff.
the rooms are very clean and very comfortable with all what we need.
it was the bast place that we stay in our trip!
thanks very much to the excellent staff that give us very warm hospitality during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erez3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at Tissa's Inn twice in September - for a couple of nights at the beginning of our trip and then 2 nights at the end. Arriving for our second stay at the end of the trip, felt like coming home due to the warm welcome of the staff.

The hotel is centrally located and within easy walking distance to the Chinese fishing nets, local shopping (Princess Street is good) and restaurants. It feels very safe to walk around during the day and night. The area is also very clean. We ate at the hotel, which was excellent, and at Oceanos restaurant, which we would also highly recommend. Oceanos also offers cooking lessons.

For more serious shopping, including antiques, pashminas, silk scarves etc, head to Jew Town by tuk tuk (cost is 30 or 40 rupees). Shop around when it comes to pashminas as some of what is on offer is not what is stated. Some proprietors will show you how to tell the difference and will also provide a certificate of authenticity. Better still, do some research before the trip so you can shop with a bit more confidence than I did!

Our room at Tissa's was very comfortable and beautifully furnished (room 9). It was also big, quiet, spotlessly clean, and contained both a ceiling fan and air conditioning (both whisper-quiet). Beautiful crisp white bed linen, comfortable pillows. The wi-fi was sometimes difficult to connect, but there is a computer near reception which is available for guests. There is an ATM opposite and next door. Like many of the hotels and restaurants in Kerala, there is no alcohol served on the premises.

The staff are very professional, friendly and happy to help. They arranged transfers to and from the airport (leave the hotel 3 hours prior to departure for an international flight), transport to Kumarakom and into Ernakulam for a shopping trip (we had to take a tuk tuk for the half hour journey back though, which was a bit hairy).

Finally, the swimming pool on the roof was like a sanctuary when returning after our various expeditions.

As I mentioned above, it felt great to return to Tissa's after the rest of our stay in Kerala, which included Kumarakom Lake Resort and an overnight houseboat.

I can highly recommend Tissa's for its high standard of accommodation, location, professionalism and personal touch.

Room Tip: Room 9 is upstairs and at the back of the hotel away from the street, so it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunk606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Small hotel on main street with lovely pool on the top overlooking gardens.Good location, right next to shops. Friendly and helpful staff. Really excellent meals, one of the best curries we had and very good value for money. Wifi and TV.
Rooms were very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good location. Staff all very professional and friendly, befitting a more expensive hotel. Highly recommend to others.
One pointer - it took us about 2 hours to get to airport and they recommended we gave 1.5 hours for journey so very nearly missed flight. Suggest you leave ample time as traffic is abysmal!

Best hotel of our trip! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillDisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I happened to stay in Tissa’s Inn. I was pleased by the excellence in service and the kind of atmosphere they offer. I suggest my friends this place. I strongly recommend you to go for a north facing room. It will allow you to breath some fresh air.

Room Tip: Look for a north facing room. It will allow you to breath some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nibi_Varghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
863 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.5 mi away
Fort House
Fort House
#27 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $70 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing