We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place - highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Ranked #181 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - highly recommend”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

My husband and I went to this hotel for a brief vacation and ended up having the most wonderful time!

The hotel is the erstwhile home of the architect of Kochi and therefore has a quaint old-world charm. The room that we were assigned had wonderful wooden furniture, a large modern bathroom and a nice LCD TV!!! The air-conditioner worked great - soundless.

When we arrived late at night, we received a traditional welcome with garlands and tika + some refreshing coconut water. The friendly staff helped us with a speedy check-in. We also got an opportunity to meet the owner of the property and he was very friendly!

The best part about the hotel is the food. Traditional Kerala food is served with much joy. It was really nice to meet the Head Chef. He actually took us inside the hotel kitchen and demonstrated a few dishes and desserts. The Hotel bakes its own cookies and bakes the wonderful cakes/desserts. The snacks and finger foods are also very good and presented beautifully.

We received a complimentary foot massage and it was super relaxing.

As far as the location of the hotel is concerned, it is very nice. Better be prepared to do a bit of walking - as Kochi is best explored on foot. There's a small beach which adjoins the hotel and its fun to hop over to it!!!

The staff is extremely helpful and assist you in arranging for a taxi and providing suggestions for shopping.

Would love to visit this hotel again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dipteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    146
    45
    24
    17
See reviews for
120
193
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This was our fist visit to India; we chose to stay at the Old Lighthouse while in Fort Cochin. The stay was great, friendly attentive staff, great location (for us) right on the sea front and beach, although the beach is a bit dirty. The bedroom was clean and spacious with a separate equally large bathroom.
The location is about 10 minute walk to the Chinese fishing nets and the ferry terminus and is in a quiet area which suited us. Can’t think of anything bad other than it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham6214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Had been staying in Malabar House, but when we decided at short notice to extend our stay in Kochi, we had to change hotels. We were delighted to find ourselves at the Old Lighthouse Bristow. Though it didn't have the trend factor of Malabar House, it was a better answer to many of our needs. The pool was quite large, plenty of relaxed seating and pool lounges around it, views out to sea. It's a great pleasure to sit in the garden with a cup of tea or (BYO) drink and watch the sun set over the sea as Kochi's busy port traffic passes by, from huge freighters to fisherman poling canoes. The restaurant is cooled by the sea breezes, and again offers a lovely view of the harbour entrance over dinner or at breakfast. It's a small hotel, easy to chat to other guests if you wish, but also easy to relax in quiet and calm.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Our room on arrival had mosquitos plus evidence of the previous occupants battle with them in the number of squashed mozzies on the wall. This was'nt the only evidence of the previous occupant, we had their dirty bathmat with 2 brown footprints on it plus grubby sheets with hairs in the bed! When we complained they did give us a new and far cleaner room, however the manager does'nt ever seem to be on site, he has to be telephoned and takes an hour to arrive. It is a shame as it is in a good position overlooking the sea with a breeze and beautifully done up. The suites are stunning but the standard rooms far less good and not worth the money, it is one, if not the most expensive hotel in Kochi and for service, cleanliness and food is not a patch on the Malabar House which is where we wished we were staying.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

The location is beautiful, with direct view over the sea. The rooms are nice with a large bathroom and bathtub (the kids loved it!!).
The hotel service was nice and friendly but the morning breakfast took ages and the quality was average.
The pool was dirty and therefore not usable. The view from the bedrooms was on very dirty beach.
I little better cleaning in the rooms would have just given that overall better feeling that misses.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matahari_Tweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We had been traveling around Kerala staying in home stays and decided to see if we could find a hotel that would provide good Typhoon Season prices. Old Bristow delivered! Our room was by the pool and we were treated with the utmost attention. The food was good and the spa was nice. The prices listed were quite high. Though it is a high value hotel, we were very thankful for the discount offered. I would go back to this hotel if we return to Kochi.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The Od Lighthouse Bristow hotel is a lovely choice of hotel unless you need the internet. The location is wonderful, such a gorgeous view of the ocean, and you can hear the waves at night. The staff are very friendly and attempt to be helpful however it can be difficult to understand what is being said in some cases and a course on ‘listening’ is needed by one person in particular. The exception to this rule is the restaurant staff and the person with the best English in the whole place seems to be one of the waiters who is also a barista – search for him if you need to explain anything.
Unlike a previous reviewer, I loved the pool and used it every day. Yes there were leaves in it, but I think you would expect that being as it is under huge trees that were dropping their leaves all day. There were only four deck chairs though which is a problem being as the hotel allows outsiders in for 500rps including lunch, thus it is easy for actual guests to be denied a pool lounge. This situation needs to be rectified.
We enjoyed the food greatly. Not much more to be said about that, except that as you would expect the Indian food is far better than the ‘western’ food.
Ah, but then there’s the internet. We were there for six days and I needed the internet. The hotel’s advertisement says that internet is included. What it should say is that internet is not charged for however that it only works randomly, really quite rarely and when it is working it doesn’t allow you to log in. I know that many of the guests here at this time were upset about this continuing situation. OK, I accept that this is Kerala and that even the electricity is not reliable. But I suggest that the hotel (and it’s not exactly a backpacker cheapie where you might expect things to not work) doesn’t advertise internet as an asset that they can offer to guests if it is not actually available.
In summary, it seemed to us that many of the upper end places in Kochi were more popular than the Old Lighthouse and we weren’t sure why. Perhaps the lack of a liquor license was the clincher for many, but it didn’t bother us at all.

If some of the staff’s attention to detail and communication skills were polished up it would make the place even better, I feel bad making this comment as some staff are exceptional, but service interactions need to be standardised and you don’t want (as we did) customers saying ‘don’t ask person x’ because you know something won’t be done properly.

Despite this issue, I would return to this hotel and would recommend it to others

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziepore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#75 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#63 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,379 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel

Property: Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Address: Beach Road, | next to INS Dronacharya, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#35 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#50 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic luxury heritage boutique hotel in Fort Kochi. This is the latest treasure that has been created with great outdoor dining by the sea, one of the only spas that offers both western and traditional treatments in the area, and an infinity pool with great views of the sea and the English style garden. The indoor lounge is fantastic for a relaxing evening. The lighthouse bears witness to many a ship passing by and the ships that sail by seem to walk into the property. The hotel was the residence of the founder of Cochin port Sir Robert Bristow and has been receiving great reviews from all its guests. The hotel is a true sanctuary to relax and rediscover yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing