We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Fabulous View & Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Ranked #179 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place, Fabulous View & Excellent Service”
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights, had a nice welcome, very nice view, was relived to entry the property after a long drive from the airport to the Hotel, was so serene. The staff very friendly, always happy to help with any information and went out of their way. View and the calmness of the place is just excellent. Food at the restaurant was also ok. On the whole a must stay place to experience the true Cochin, the heritage building and the coast with great service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashok010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    146
    45
    24
    17
See reviews for
119
193
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. First a very warm welcome with coconut water at the lovely terrace where you can feel the sea breeze. Then the lovely building and the tastefully decorated room with a hugh bed with crisp white linen make you just want to lay down and rest for ever.
But you should not stay in bed - you should walk the narrow streets of old Cochin which is easy as the location is extremely good - just a few minutes walk to everything including the Chinese fishing nets. The Old Lighthouse is also one of the few hotels with a panorama sea view from the restaurant and the garden.
We tried the one of the massage programs on offer - seemed very professional and felt lovely!
The attitude of the staff was warm, friendly and service minded.
Any drawbacks? Maybe some minor issues:
The hotel restaurant isoutside on a terrace at the sea side - very nice view but unfortunately fleas were a bit of a nuisance - after all this is India! But this is not a problem - there are lots of restaurants in town.
The pool was nice enough to relax by, but not really inviting for swimming.
I would no doubt select Old Lighthouse if I went to Cochin again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgotHamre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed one night and wished we had stayed more. It's a lovely hotel with fantastic service without the pretentiousness of some boutique hotels. It's well located, overlooking the sea, and it's easy to walk to other restaurants in the area. Woul definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed here for two nights on our arrival to kerala in mid November. The hotel was a converted old mansion house, clean and very well appointed with beautiful grounds facing onto the seafront. The staff and service was exemplarary and would definately recommend. Our only gripe was that the hotel served no alcohol at all. We understood that many places did not have an alcohol licence, although we hoped that the hotel may be able to offer us a beer (unofficially of couse.. perhaps with the bottle disguised in newspaper like other places in Kerala do). something which would have been perfect to watch the sunset and the ships go by, but instead had to make do with a soft drink. We later found other similar class hotels in Cochin during our stay where we were able to have a beer served in some form or another. Only a small glitch to moan about but if they dont make an effort to get an alcohol licence (or serve it unofficially) it may put us off staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersey-Crapeaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed at the Old Lighthouse for three nights after having arrived in Kochi and it was an ideal place to get over our initial jet-lag. On the edge of town, it is peaceful and quiet and yet only a 10 minute walk to the heart of bustling Fort Cochin, via the chinese nets - a beautiful stroll! The rooms were great: we had a garden room with a 4-poster, which was a generously sized and well equipped. The staff were exceptional, and could not do enough for us. One tiny frustration - please sort out your WiFi - it is very slow and unreliable, especially in the rain! The best recommendation, though, is that we returned for a second visit for the final two nights of our trip! In all, a great hotel and great value too!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2010

we had a short weekend but the hotel was gorgeous, steeped in history itself and minutes from jew town and the fishing nets. right on the beach, our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool on one side and the beach and ocean on the other. the room was classy and very nicely done, the staff were lovely, the masseuses had some of the best hands ever (and i have worked with spas all my life) and the chef was flexible enough to cater to our fussy needs- he even fired up the barbeque one night just for the two of us.
they made a couple mistakes, but made up for them in immediate apologies and did really well to recover from them. we would definitely recommend using the bicycles they have on site to ride through the quaint, quiet streets to discover spice markets, antique shops and hidden treasures.
a VERY relaxing weekend and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank varunshivdasani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

There aren't many things one can talk about after staying at the Old Lighthouse. Maybe because it's so stunning that it's bound to leave you speechless. Or maybe, you just don't want to talk much and prefer soaking in the calm long after you have checked out.

Every element that has gone into making this serene paradise bears the stroke of an artist gifted with a heightened sense of aesthetics. Be it the swimming pool which almost spills into the sea, or the scenic seaside restaurant, or even the colonial British Raj like structure that stands tall amidst the ocean, everything in and around the Old Lighthouse seems to be married in perfect harmony.

I'd give this place a 9 on 10, cutting only one mark for making one feel so miserable while leaving this paradise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#73 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#35 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel

Property: Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Address: Beach Road, | next to INS Dronacharya, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#47 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic luxury heritage boutique hotel in Fort Kochi. This is the latest treasure that has been created with great outdoor dining by the sea, one of the only spas that offers both western and traditional treatments in the area, and an infinity pool with great views of the sea and the English style garden. The indoor lounge is fantastic for a relaxing evening. The lighthouse bears witness to many a ship passing by and the ships that sail by seem to walk into the property. The hotel was the residence of the founder of Cochin port Sir Robert Bristow and has been receiving great reviews from all its guests. The hotel is a true sanctuary to relax and rediscover yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing