We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect homestay!”
Review of Nest Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nest Homestay
Ranked #86 of 442 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect homestay!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a lovely place. Very comfortable, clean, great and quiet location, delicious food and beautiful people. Check out their travel agency as well. They are incredible helpful.
I am staying here for a month and I could not ask for anything better. It is a home.
Thank you Renju and Anoop!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opole, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

The best homestay we stayed in Kerala and Kochi. Very clean, comfortable (soft beds which are rare in India), at reasonable price, close to Fort Kochi center, very helpful and nice owners who run also a travel agency.

Worthwhile to stay there !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lutienstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2010

This is a small 3 bedrooms home, very clean, where the hosts make everything they can to make you feel at home.
The location is allright, not absolutely central but within 7 mn walk you are in the very center of Fort Kochi.
Ranju is of great advice, she can arrage trips and taxis for you but will not pressure you to do so. Actually before taking one trip she arranged we compared what was done by others and she wasoffering the same deals cheaper, plus the friends she send us to where as nice as she is.
The only downside is the absence of hot running water, but she gives you buckets of hot water for showering, which is much better than some places we stayed at, where the so-called running hot water was barely warm most of the time.
We really enjoyed the place, and would go back with pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yayabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We really enjoyed the feel of this local family home stay with a lovely couple. Although it was a home stay, we felt we had plenty of privacy. The room and attached bathroom were very comfortable and clean and we slept great! The Keralan style breakfast was delicious and huge too...a great value!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaTraveler9989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

I moved into 'The Nest' homestay after spending 4 days at the Mercy Hotel in Ernakulam, although the Hotel was excellent I found the location quite noisy and dirty so moving to 'The Nest' at Fort Cochin was a good decision. Renjitha and Anoop were wonderful hosts, nothing seemed too much trouble and although I was offered (and took up) several tours I was never pressured. I was more than satisfied with the accommodation, my air conditioned room was reasonably spacious and most importantly...clean. I would have liked to have hot water for the shower but in the heat of March (and it was very hot) it was ok. Renjitha arranged for me to go on a backwater tour, elephant training and a refreshing overnight trip to Munnar in the highlands which I cannot recommend highly enough. Apart from the huge welcome temperature drop the scenery is spectacular....so if you have the time don't miss it. I enjoyed Fort Cochin very much, I found 'The Nest' to be comfortable and clean with hosts that made you feel not only welcome but part of the family. I am happy to recommend 'The Nest' to any traveller that is looking for a comfortable, friendly homestay that provides value and genuine warmth.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JHB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfainstat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2010

A must for anyone visiting the fort cochin. The home is immaculately maintained by the nicest couple you will ever meet. They are very kind and offer very useful advice regarding the area. Renju is also a great cook and will gladly prepare you some lovely home food. Will certainly come again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfainstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Renjitha and Anoop were nice and the house was nice if a bit small and noisy. The thing is tourism is ruining India and Renjitha knows instinctively how to treat guests, but the culture of squeezing as much money as possible out of tourists is influencing how she treats guests which is very tiring. Everyone looks for a commission on everything, so you cannot listen to what they recommend. It such a pity because this is a short term solution to what could be a long term thriving business. India in general really needs to treat travellers better and stop trying to rip them off..

The house was clean and she and her husband did make an effort. We paid 1500 per day for an air conditioned room (the first night we had taken a non a/c room and it was too hot, the bed was small and very hard, as most beds in India) as it was unbearably hot in Kochi at the end of December. I had been there in September 2003 and it was a lot cooler. I also noticed a big difference in Kochi, though it is still one of the nicest places to visit in India, if you discount the hassle and being ripped off, it has become very touristy. Anoop pushed too many tours on us and she (under his 'advice' I'm sure) started doing the same. So that really put us off, as did being told there was hot water when there was none, even though we were given a bucket of hot water. In all there was so much potential it is such a pity to see them going down the same road as everyone else when they could do something different and really become popular. Considering how much things cost in India, accommodation is too expensive and I don't think this is good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank july47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#17 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allan's Inn
Allan's Inn
#111 of 442 in Kochi (Cochin)
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tantraa Home Stay
Tantraa Home Stay
#28 of 442 in Kochi (Cochin)
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#11 of 442 in Kochi (Cochin)
250 reviews
6.3 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
424 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nest Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nest Homestay

Property: Nest Homestay
Address: Thamaraparambu Road, Pattalam, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nest Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Nest Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nest Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing