We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Good Karma inn
Nearby Hotels
Xandari Harbour(Kochi (Cochin))
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$88
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$94
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$88
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
$85
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brunton Boatyard(Kochi (Cochin))
$207
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
411
110
11
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
110
11
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmother treefort cochintwo brothersguest househot waterhelpful ownerrooftop terraceclean roomsincluded breakfastquiet streetgreat place to stayair conbackwaters tripchailocation is greatwalking distancefive nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 544 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A decent place, but very misleading. Advertises on agoda and their website that they have hot water and TVs in the room, but in reality you may or may not have hot water. Despite them insisting that this was a hot water room, i later realized that there is not even a connection to the hot water, turn the knob, nothing comes out! Eventually after a very confusing conversation, they agreed to let me shower in another room (that was bigger than our room but FULL of mosquitoes). So, i guess you get a choice here, mosquitoes and a hot shower, or a cold shower and a small dark room without mosquitoes. which do you prefer?

We used the airport pickup service, and the guy drove like a mad man. He apologized, but said he needed to get home for a phone call (our flight was late so that is understandable). But, then we would make random stops, if we are in a hurry, why are we stopping for cigarettes?

Room Tip: Upper rooms are bigger and have more light, but check for mosquito nets before agreeing. Other places are probably cheaper.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayax_and_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodkarma011, Owner at Good Karma inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

To Ajax and Amy,

It was with great disappointment I read your review about your visit with us.
maybe you have forgotten the circumstances of your stay, you called us telling us you were concerned and begged us for a room which we didn't have ( fully booked out)
As you were upset I offered you our staff room which you then stayed in, no, our staff room has not got hot water. But we gave you the opportunity to shower in another room.
And after your included breakfast next day you asked if you could stay one more night, why? If you were dissatisfied?
Also regarding the driver, we also informed you our driver was unavailable and you requested we call a service for you, which we did, the driver was an independent and we have no control over how he drives.
Hopefully you will find your further travels more fulfilling.
Anoob
GoodKarma
Cochin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was the second time that I stayed at a homestay in Kochi and both were nice. The Good Karma is well located in a quiet area just a few minutes by foot from the main attractions. The owners are very friendly and helpful and they seem to cater very well for the (mainly younger) clientele here.

Good Karma offers good quality for a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hh15302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodkarma011, Owner at Good Karma inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

To hh15302
Thank you for sending feedback after your visit to Good Karma .
We are happy you enjoyed your time here and found our homestay clean and comfortable.
Happy traveling!
anoob
owner
Good Karma Inn
Kochi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as 3 19yr old female backpackers for 2 nights in March '13. We paid 800Rs (£10)  for the night for a double room with an extra bed, non AC. Breakfast not  included. Free wifi and laptop available to use. Good laundry service (24hrs).

Room - we had a room on the first floor. It was of a good size, very clean and the beds were firm. Mini balcony with a table which was nice. No Mosquito net but screens on the windows did the job. A flimsy lock on the door but we felt very safe nonetheless. Strong fan kept us cool. Small bathroom. Shower had hot and cold water and of a good strength. 

Recommended is 'Upstairs' restaurant by the basilica. 

Service - Anoob is such a funny guy. Very helpful with train times ect. He let us leave our bags downstairs the day we were leaving and let us shower in the evening. 

Location - Right next to basilica. 10 min walk to the front/princess st where all the action is. 

A great place. Highly recommended for budget travellers. 

Tip. Don't go out with the resident tuktuk man - he speaks very bad English and it is difficult to communicate with him. 

Be Beautiful on Princess Street is the best for cheap/quality beauty treatments. 

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMG921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Good Karma was our first hotel we stayed in on our India holiday and really helped us get out trip off to a great start. Anoob and his staff provide great care with no fuss which goes well with the laid back Fort Cochin vibe. Our room was air conditioned,quite spacious and clean, and the breakfast provided (eggs, toast fruit and tea/coffee) was always good. Good Karma is also well located in the tourist area of Fort Cochin with plenty of eating options near by. Anoob was a constant source of advice and helped with info and booking for trips etc. which made everything about the stay chilled and relaxed.
I highly recommend Good Karma for anyone looking for good quality budget accommodation in Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esrom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Anoob couldn't have been nicer! He gave us so much helpful information about what to see in the city, including drawing it all out on a map. He answered our questions and made us delicious breakfast in the mornings (eggs cooked to order, fresh fruit, and tea). He made us a reservation for the Kathakali dance show without charging a commission. He has a great laugh :)

The room had a slight musty smell but was generally clean and spacious. There aren't really any bad locations in Fort Cochin since it's so small, but this location is very good, close to the Santa Cruz Basilica.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is definitely worth it!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews