We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient, comfortable hotel at a great price”
Review of The Senate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Senate Hotel
Ranked #100 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed January 21, 2011

Despite an initial hiccup with our online booking which the hotel resolved satisfactorily, we were very happy with the quality and value of the Suite and the service and facilities of The Senate Hotel. The rooms have all the modern appliances and fittings of a western-style business hotel although a few superficial repairs were needed in our room. The restaurant food was also good and reasonably priced, with attentive service from staff. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caspcel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 139 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2010

Spent one night here as I was waiting for my parents to reach Cochin before we start to Munnar. I should say the hotel is a more than a Paisa Vasool. Though the rooms are not quite big, the rooms are quite elegant and the hotel's location is a major advantage. The services are quite good and the food is delicious.

The extra bed they provided is one of the best I have seen so far. :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKK548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed for 3 night during our Kerala trip and we enjoyed it. It is city hotel and it is in the center of modern Ernakulam center, within short distance from restaurants, shops etc.
The rooms very spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was included in price and it was a good deal, as you get choice of 5 breakfast menus (including one safe non-indian with toasts etc:) and you could order more then one and get a solid start for the day. Parking was free, but limited to few spaces, so if you need it, try to get a reservation (if possible).
Overall, it is a good base for discovering Cochin and the whole area, as well as for business travellers. For us it was the best hotel from the whole Indian trip (in this price range).

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyMorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Senate Hotel which is located close to the main shopping area in MG Road. The hotel is relatively new, having opened only in October 2009. While the hotel carries a 3 star rating based on its limited facilities, the hotel/room environment, cleanliness and quality of fixtures and fittings would almost qualify as 5 star. The front desk service and hospitality of staff was also excellent.

Despite having only 32 rooms, 24 hour room service is available with wide menu choice, reasonable pricing and prompt service, although we only ordered drinks during our stay.

The buffet breakfast was complimentary and of reasonable standard but the menu limited to traditional Indian fare. We realised later that certain guests had egg and bread items served from the kitchen based on order; it would have been good if such availability was displayed for the benefit of all guests. We also had dinner once at the restaurant; the service and the ala carte food served was to our expectation from a good restaurant.

Another minor shortcoming noted during the stay was unavailability of Wifi on the floor we were staying; however free Wifi and PC was available on the ground floor for guests.

The front desk staff were also very helpful with travel and tour inquiries (sight seeing, Guruvayoor temple visit etc.) .

We stayed at three hotels in Kerala during our seven day trip and would not hesitate to say that Senate Hotel was the best. Based on cost of slighly more than Rs 2,000 per night for an Executive room (twin sharing), certainly our stay at the Senate was good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Singaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

This hotel is really good. I stayted here during my honeymoon tour to Kerala. I stayed here for one day. Hospitality is very good.
Good Environment. I liked it very much.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kr_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissNinaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Star Emirates
Hotel Star Emirates
#117 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
The International Hotel
The International Hotel
#79 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#11 of 30 in Ernakulam
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#9 of 30 in Ernakulam
157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Time Square
Time Square
#99 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
188 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Senate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Senate Hotel

Address: Providence Road | Off MG Road North End, Kochi (Cochin) 682018, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $26 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Senate Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Senate hotel combines comfort and beauty to create spaces uniquely meant for you. We have well appointed rooms, in-house restaurants and several other services that give you a wide range of options to choose from and make your stay more than comfortable. Tucked away in a quiet area in the middle of the city, the rooms here offer a complete retreat from the hustle and bustle of the traffic swarming within a few yards of you. The subtle ambiance, the contemporary decor and delectable cuisine speaks an exquisite tale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Senate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Senate Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing