We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bernard Bungalow Homestay
Ranked #93 of 442 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Bernard Bungalow is a beautiful restored colonial house. We booked all 3 rooms on the top floor for a single friend traveling with us and then 2 adults in 1 room and our 2 kids in the room next to us. Lovely dark boards on the floor and the ceiling. A/c and fan, big firm beds with mosquito net (our boys made a cubby house with it!) each room had a bathroom. simple breakfast included, toast, eggs, tea, fruit. My only caution is we got our washing organised from BB and it came back beautifully washed and ironed (even socks and jocks!) but about 21/2 times the price of what we have paid previously- our fault for not clarifying we didn't want our clothes ironed, so if you do get your washing done, be clear on what you want them to do.

Room Tip: top floor is lovely and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
11
32
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We loved our stay in the comfortable and homely Bernard Bungalow. Gracious host Coral Bernard and her family were very welcoming and made our stay a memorable one. Our room was spacious and comfortable and we enjoyed our breakfasts watching various recreational activities opposite on the parade ground. Coral was very helpful in recommending excellent places to eat locally and organising a wonderful houseboat cruise for us on the Kerala Backwaters. We would certainly stay here again and recommend others to do the same.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are light and airy, have wooden floorboards and are spacious and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights to explore Fort Cochin. Coral and her family were great hosts serving a lovely breakfast and helping us book trains for our onward travel.

The rooms are nice and the bathrooms great. The best thing about the accommodation though is the veranda overlooking the local park.

Coral also recommended 2 great restaurants: Dal Roti and Oceanos.

We'd definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A new experience for my wife and I staying with a family, we enjoyed our time here and we were made to feel very welcome. The house is only 300m from the ferry/barge to fort cochin which runs every 10 minutes, until 10pm, and although its on the main road its very peaceful.
Having home cooked meals was very special, If you are looking for something more personal than a hotel, then you should enjoy your stay in the Bungalow Homestay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved staying with you!

And our daughter (two years old) to.

It´s clean and everyone was very helpful!
When we needed to come back to Cochin they made space for us in very short notice.

Coral is fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Lovely stay here. Very welcoming owner and beautiful rooms. Coral went out of her way to help us organise parts of our trip. The location is excellent as it is very central and close to everything. Really enjoyable 2 nights.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gregoryunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Delicious stay at Bernard's Bungalow in Cochin. The family has worked hard to restore this seventeenth century Dutch monumental building.The rooms are large and spotless. The place is in a perfect location to visit ancient Cochin. We are glad we chose Cochin in stead of Ernakaulem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikdeVries2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortkochi Beach Inn
Fortkochi Beach Inn
#9 of 442 in Kochi (Cochin)
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raintree Lodge
Raintree Lodge
#39 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
425 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,025 reviews
17.8 mi away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernard Bungalow Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernard Bungalow Homestay

Property: Bernard Bungalow Homestay
Address: 1/297 Cochin Residency Parade Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Bernard Bungalow Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing