We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location _ Need better management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
Ranked #88 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed here for one day. Location is good. Room was good and clean. But, there was no tea maker in the room. Swimming pool was not so clean. We went for buffet dinner. Staffs are not so efficient (except reception). In breakfast they served egg fried in Coconut oil. that was really pathetic.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ani_chak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 241 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2010

When you book yourself into the Bolgatty Island resort, make sure you specify that they do not put you up in the Marina that has recently been opened on the same premises. The Marina is a new, characterless block of rooms built to accommodate more people and the management tries to fob you off into this thing if the main resort is overbooked. They tried to do this to us and I had to spend over an hour arguing with all levels of management before I got my due and some-they had to upgrade me to the Palace Suite because they had overbooked the main resort.

The resort is a well designed structure on the Bolgatty island, easy access to the main city. The palace suite that we got-Rembrandt- was huge with a large living room, ante chamber, massive bathroom and cosy bedroom. The place was filled with Rembrandt prints. The restaurant serves so-so food with limited options and if most people are on pre-paid meals, they may not offer a-la-carte for that meal.

The resort seems to have massive potential that is under-utilized.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajeev-on-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

i had gone to this resort with my family for an overnight halt before we procceded to Munnar and other places in Kerala . We were so pleasantly surprised that we cut short our other trip and stayed for one more day here. The resort is extremely beautiful. It has all the facilities for children and my nephew just didn't want to leave that place. The food was great combined with the good service provided by all there . All in all, please visit this place before heading to any other place in Kerala

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
3  Thank MumbaiAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The name suggest a grand old Palace and to be honest in its day it would have been exactly that. Now sadly, however its has been neglected.

When we arrived at night, the main road up to the hotel was shut, which meant we had to go down a back route. I have to say that driving this way filled me with dread as we went down a very narrow lane, surrounded closely by run down houses. I was beginning to think that I would never see another day when we rounded a corner to be confronted by the hotel. At first glance we was very relieved by the look of the hotel. The reception areas is ok but is looking a little dirty and neglected. We was then shown up to our room. The walk up is actually at night quite enjoyable with stone/marble floors leading us to our room upstairs. Its easy to see that in it day this would have been a very grand palace.

However we was not prepared form the room that awaited us through the big wooden doors. The room size was good however that is probably the best thing that I can say about this room. The carpets were a horrible green colour, stained in places, dusty and dirty. We was surprised to find that we was not alone in the room either. There were mosquitoes everywhere. Now I would have expected a few bearing in mind that your right on the lake, however the room was full of them, dead ones and alive. Many had been killed against the walls and were still there to be seen. the rest just kept on dive bombing us during the night. We called reception and they did quickly bring us one of those mossie repellent plug in things.

The rooms are very basic and do not have simple things like tea and coffee making facilities or a fridge. Bearing in mind the very obvious mossie problem a simple mossie net over the bed would have been such a relief.

We then went to check the bathroom, and I really wished we hadn't. The furniture there was very dated and dirty. There was a black stone work top that would have looked very nice if somebody had of just wiped off the dirty water marks. Then there was the bath/shower that was again very dated and on closer inspection had numerous small black curly hairs and a number of dead bugs in the bottom of it. To make matters worse I just happened to glace to me left as I was looking at this to see on the side of the toilet. I will spare you the details but there was something there that had obviously run down the side that should never have been there. It was disgusting. To make matters worse when we called reception and the man came up to look at it he picked at it with his finger and tried to tell us it was a crack or mark on the toilet. I can honestly tell you it was not, and I could have died when the man without washing his hand then went back to continue to change the bedding.

The following day we went to breakfast. The room does have a fantastic view and the food was nice. However there was dust everywhere. And there seemed to be a man employed purely just to walk around with a fly swatter. Hearing the electric zap every 30 seconds when your trying to eat is most off putting.


We complained and was moved to a better room however it still was dated and lacking general cleanliness and basic facilities.

The staff here were very accommodating, and helpful when we spoke to them.

This hotel could be a very nice place if it was given some TLC. On numerous occasions staff were seen hanging about chatting and could easily have been used to clean the hotel and help make it back to what would have been a very nice palace at some stage. In all it was a very disappoint stay in what could with a little work be a stunning building and location.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Satyamevajayate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

This is a government-run resort and is a bit overpriced. It looks much better on their website. We stayed at the bungalows right on the waterfront and they were average- at best. Service and breakfast was nice, but since it is on an island outside Cochin center, you are forced to take a boat or a taxi downtown. If I ever go back to Cochin I would live without a pool and go for one of the hotels or homestays right in the center.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Patrice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
13.5 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#2 of 8 in Cherai Beach
477 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#13 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 10 in Vypin Island
338 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 33 in Ernakulam
444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Address: Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $52 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, just off the Marine Drive,is literally an Island of Calm right in the midst of the bustling City of Kochi. Here heritage meets natural beauty as the resort overlooks the backwaters, the port and estuary all at once. Surrounded by 14 acres of green groves and golf course, Bolgatty Island is neatly tucked away amidst a giant umbrella of refreshing green.conference facilities:Our Banquet Facilities include: Event Center- Capacity 900-1000 Pax theater style (ideal for marriages and conventions), Lake Side conference Hall : Capacity: 200 pax theater style . Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax, View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1000 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 pax. Other Facilities in the property includes 9 Hole Golf Course, Swimming Pool, Health Club, Ayurvedic Spa, Boat cruise, recreation center, Internet, Coffee Shop, Beer Parlor, Multi cuisine restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing