We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Place To Stay In Kochi(only in Marina portion)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
Ranked #83 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Planned a holiday for my daughter to Kochi this January of 2014. Went around searching hotels on the net which would have nice views & a decent stay.

Found out 3 places & finalised on Bolgatty Palace & Island Resorts, only because of the view from the Rooms.

First wanted to take a deluxe room in the Island portion of the Resort, but then was advised on Trip Advisor to take the Marina portion of the Resort, which was a vise decision on my part.

Dates were fixed booked Marina Suite so as I could accommodate 4 people. Resort permitted the same by charging Extra person charges.

My Check in was late, but was well received by the hotel reception staff, room was fixed which had a splendid view of the Marina Jetty plus the Backwaters.

Resort arranged me a exclusive Sunset Cruise for a payment of Rs.1125.00 only for 5 persons(any number of people go on the cruise). had a great time on the cruise.

Back to resort took a lot of photographs from the resort, in turn while taking the photographs I dropped the Car key on the lawn facing the Palace, I did know about the same.

When I went to the car found out the Key was missing, informed the resort personal & they HELPED me out in searching the key all over the places I went. It was around 7.30 pm. One attendant was all the way with me with a Torch light & we finally got the key which was lying on the grass. I would like to THANK the resort personal for helping me out of the way, which was a fantastic gesture.

Now about the Review

Property: It is a fantastic & beautiful one but not maintained well. Informed the hotel personal about the same, but what could they do it is owned by the Kerala Government.

Rooms: The Marina Rooms are very good, opt for the same as they are built in 2010.

Service: Very good service, in spite the staff being Government Employees.

Food: Had only Breakfast, very average. On the 2 days I stayed the 1st day there was a buffet & on the 2nd day we had to order what ever we wanted.

The Dinner I was informed as Buffet & costing Rs.500 + tax. Did not take the risk of having the same. When compared to the Hotels on MG Road wherein they charge Rs.300 - 400, the Dinner is expensive.

Can stay in the Resort only on the Marina portion. The property required sprucing up.

Room Tip: Stay in Marina Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1TRAVEL123297675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 242 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed at Bolgatty on Dec 22 2014 in their cottage overlooking the waters. Spectacular view but utterly ill-kept room, gave a very unwelcoming look.The electric switches were very confusing and room service pathetic and the problem magnified by language problem the kind i faced nowhere else. I was just provided bath towels and when I asked the assistant manager Manoj why no hand towels he curtly said, " were we supposed to :, ( sic ! )
The buffet breakfast and dinner were lousy....no variety or flavor and pathetic service. They took 30 mins to prepare an on the spot omelet which was below the mark.
Sadly a complete waste of a fabulous heritage property and utterly untrained and unhelpful reception staff.
The only good memory i'v brought back is the joyride they gave me in their boat around sunset with a wonderful and very well informed driver.....
This property desperately needs sprucing up immediately !!!!!!!

Room Tip: i just have idea of the cottage i stayed in n have given my review above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitaDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there on 15th dec night enroute to munnar. Stayed at their lake view rooms. Rooms very well placed but inside is a little rusty. The lake view rooms are at a distance from the hotel main and that may make you feel a little uneasy in the night. Food was good and check in was also smooth. Overall a nice experience with a lot of space to move around.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Koushik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We arrived here a month ago on a sailboat, and are staying in the attached marina. The staff have been awesome and as helpful as they could possibly be.

The gardens are beautiful, I love walking my dogs there, and the dogs love it too! Chilling by the pool is always a very relaxing way to spend the afternoon, and the massage is not to be missed.

We adore the food here. The buffet is reasonably priced, and my husband and I have always had second helpings of every course, the food is so tasty. And the fresh juices are not to be missed.
Bolgatty Island is a great location.... beautiful and quiet and calm, away from the bustle; and yet so close to the heart of Cochin. The 5 minute ride across to town on the ferry (6Rp) is very convenient, and takes you right into the market, where fresh fruit and veg (and every thing else) abound plentiful.

And let me mention the staff once again. The staff are awesome. All of them. This is the friendliest place on Earth, I believe!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaucySailoress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is in very good location with decent facilities. Rooms are very clean, spacious and good. They have good swimming pool and the views of the harbour. There are no activities for children other than the swimming pool.
Not all on the restaurant menu is available, somehow, again prefers to serve predominantly north Indian cuisine. If you are looking for local dishes, only thing on offer is aviyal but not available most of the time. Same with Nan and other tandoori items. There seems some communication problem even with English (possibly, non-malayali accent is not understood).
This place is in great locale but it falls short in service at many fronts. Room is very clean and spacious, however, the flooring is a bit uneven though carpeted. AC does not work in the High mode. We could not move the switch to High mode. Medium mode was not sufficient enough even in mid-November. Hot water from the shower is luke warm. Toileteries are not replinished though we stayed more than one night. Only an extra soap was put but not the bubble soap (foam bath) or the dental or shaving kits. I do not see what is the point in charging a premium and then treating the guests with such "penny saving" schemes.
For kids the only entertainment is swimming pool which is an open pool but has strict timings of 8am to 6pm. Though there was day light, one of them came and offered a towel at 6pm sharp.
This place seriously needs good make over in the area of service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopalav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Beautiful sarroundings. Clean rooms. Even though there are plenty of areas which needs more attention like cleaning and maintenance of lawn etc.,the stay at this heritage hotel is a wonderful experience. Peaceful sarroundings guaranteed while being hardly 5 minutes ferry ride away from the City. Staff very cooperative especially the room service. Food quality good. Throughout my stay WiFi was not available, which KTDC should ensure and understand as a need of the time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very nice Heritage type of Hotel. The staff are all attentive and willing to help. The location is pleasant and quiet. The only criticism is that the Wifi area is limited and operates only in the foyer.

Room Tip: rooms facing towards the south are lighter than those facing north which are rather dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
2.6 mi away
PJ Princess Regency
PJ Princess Regency
#1 of 10 in Vypin Island
342 reviews
1.8 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#14 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#1 of 8 in Cherai Beach
484 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
677 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 35 in Ernakulam
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Address: Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $53 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, just off the Marine Drive,is literally an Island of Calm right in the midst of the bustling City of Kochi. Here heritage meets natural beauty as the resort overlooks the backwaters, the port and estuary all at once. Surrounded by 14 acres of green groves and golf course, Bolgatty Island is neatly tucked away amidst a giant umbrella of refreshing green.conference facilities:Our Banquet Facilities include: Event Center- Capacity 900-1000 Pax theater style (ideal for marriages and conventions), Lake Side conference Hall : Capacity: 200 pax theater style . Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax, View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1000 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 pax. Other Facilities in the property includes 9 Hole Golf Course, Swimming Pool, Health Club, Ayurvedic Spa, Boat cruise, recreation center, Internet, Coffee Shop, Beer Parlor, Multi cuisine restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing