We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose your room wisely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort
Ranked #87 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed as a family for two nights along with another friend's family.

Location: In the heart of the town.But the approach road start to cast doubts about what to expect next.It is an isolated area with lots of lorries parked on either side and not much sign posting.Don't even think about walking to the town esp. out of hours.
Once you enter the large compound,there is no sign posting to the reception or parking.The area is secured with two gates with security guards which is a good thing.But more sign posts would help.
Check in : Smooth.But could be better.
During day time there are plenty of staff around and out of hours it is only one or two male staff.The glaring thing is the absence of the professional ambiance or approach.You immediately feel the difference between a privately run hotel and a government establishment.The staff are friendly.The reception desk and computer equipment needs immediate renovation.It took half an hour for our check out due to some problem with the printer!!

Our room was in the old block (we did not know there was another building until we checked out!!) The rooms were really big,almost double the size of an average hotel room,with high ceilings.The twin bed could not be put together due to the fixed bed side table in between-not a good thing when you are with family.The balcony was big but overlooking the backyard with a well and garden which is not looked after well,pardon my pun.
The decor was very dated including the bathroom fittings.The fittings are the expensive ones and I am sure looked wonderful when the hotel was opened.But no one has bothered to change it after its expiry date or clean it properly.
My friend did not like the dated looks of the room and asked for other options.But the staff did not even mention about a nearby building which is new and overlook marine drive. I still don't know why! That is the only reason why I have given three stars instead of four.

Food: Very good with plenty of options.Friendly staff.Our package included dinner and it was definitely value for money.

Room Tip: I had a chance to look at the other rooms (after checking out unfortunately). If you have money,c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobilemedic70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had been in Kerala for 12 Days and had booked our stay in Bolgatty Island Resort. Our stay was wonderful and staff were extremely good. Service & Hospitality was unmatched to our other hotel thru out Kerala. Ms Binsha (Staff), to name, was extremely generous to get our reservation done back to our Home from Kerala. Kerala is "Gods Own Country" we felt "Bolgatty is Gods Bedroom". Price charged is really amazing against the service given. So much to say but one should experience to believe what I say. I recommend everyone reading this review.

Room Tip: Anywhere you are in Bolgatty, it shall be memorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaviShankarMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for the appreciation. It gives us immense pleasure and motivation when we receive such comments. Thank you for the kind comments you made about our staff. This makes our team more charged up to meet the guests' expectations.

we look forward to have you here again in near future..

Happy Onam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

we were there for 2 days with my wife and 1 yr old son...nice staff...great place to hang out...nice rooms....great balcony...excellent bathroom....nice food too...value for money.....has its 400yr old culture and the staff is very help ful...for a family it is really nice especially the pool area.......

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anzarshouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for the time you have taken to offer a specific and informative feedback on Bolgatty. It was indeed our pleasure to have you here us our guest and knowing that you enjoyed your stay here adds to our joy.

We are proud of our centuries old heritage and are privileged to have guests like you who appreciate the value of it. I would like to thank you on behalf of our entire team for those kind words you spoke about our rooms, food and staff.

Look forward to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

i have stayed a few times in bolgatty and in various rooms.Place is must visit one located on the port area.Nice park around , good to walk around with your sweetheart and good pool and restaurant.

The only problem i faced is no Wi Fi in room, no paper , and TV all are old fashioned.They are not upgrading.

Room Tip: dont take cottages...the rest all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drhifsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on trip adviser. We are happy that you liked the serenity of this Island and our pool and the green lawns It was indeed our pleasure to have you here us our guest and knowing that you enjoyed your stay here adds to our joy.

We are extremly sorry for the non availability of Wi Fi in rooms. We are happy to inform you that in our new building, Marina House we have arranged the Wi Fi facility. We have been offering newspapers on request in rooms and I am sorry that we were unable to provide the same during your visit. We appreciate your positive remark on upgrading to new televisions. Marina house is already installed with brand new TVs and replacement of the older ones in other rooms is under process. I expect that in your next visit you will find the rooms more interesting with new televisions.


Look forward to see you here again soon.

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We went and stayed there as a part of our alumni get together. It was a nice experience to be in wondeful 'space' so charming and so entwined with nature.
The rooms are planned in a peculiar way based on the culture and tradition of the land.

Room Tip: One of the wonderful places in "Gods own country"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frontoffice_manager1, Front Office Manager at Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for the positive comments. The hotel and its team is eager to take personal care of each of your requirements. happy that our efforts are paying off.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed two nights during our Honey Moon at Bolgatty Island Resort, Kochin. We received a warm welcome, nice Honey Moon suite and great service. The location of the resort is superb, surrounded by Vembanad Lake and the other side of main Kochin city. You will get a city view from the outside garden and port view from the inside garden. The Picturesque beauty of the Island, the Heritage style and Modern amenities gave us an awesome experience of life. The Bar and Restaurant both were very good. The food quality was excellent. We choose buffet and can’t forget the variety of foods in breakfast and dinner. The swimming pool was amazing, it will be better to spent day time in resort by using it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner suite at Ground Floor, it has a nice balcony. It was very quiet but you would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a great Stay..!!
We experienced great Service for Sure..!!
The swimming pool is amazing..!!
The locales I dont need to tell are exotic..!!
Only thing that if you are being promised candle-lit dinner then do not opt for it, as there are too many mosquitos in the night to let you sit outside the restaurant and eat on a table..You have to sit inside the AC restaurant..

Room Tip: All rooms are nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
7.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.8 mi away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
#2 of 7 in Cherai Beach
471 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort

Address: Mulavukadu, Kochi (Cochin) 682504, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $46 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort, just off the Marine Drive,is literally an Island of Calm right in the midst of the bustling City of Kochi. Here heritage meets natural beauty as the resort overlooks the backwaters, the port and estuary all at once. Surrounded by 14 acres of green groves and golf course, Bolgatty Island is neatly tucked away amidst a giant umbrella of refreshing green.conference facilities:Our Banquet Facilities include: Event Center- Capacity 900-1000 Pax theater style (ideal for marriages and conventions), Lake Side conference Hall : Capacity: 200 pax theater style . Palace Hall: Capacity: 75 pax, View Point: Capacity: 30 Pax Board Room: Capacity: 30 pax East Lawn: 1500 pax Palace Lawn: 1000 Pax Front lawn: 200 Pax Marina Lawn: 100 pax. Other Facilities in the property includes 9 Hole Golf Course, Swimming Pool, Health Club, Ayurvedic Spa, Boat cruise, recreation center, Internet, Coffee Shop, Beer Parlor, Multi cuisine restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolgatty Palace & Island Resort Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing