We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eden Garden Heritage Homestay
Ranked #128 of 430 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and great hospitality”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Mel and Judith were brilliant hosts making us feel totally at home in their lovely quiet haven of peace away from the noise of the city. We returned late on our last night in Kerala neglecting to request an evening meal in advance. But within 20 minutes Judith had magicked up a delicious dinner featuring her trademark soup (a rarity in Kerala), a succulent dish of giant prawns and lots more. Food and hospitality to cherish long in the memory!

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in met all our needs + each had a fridge: very welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyandMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoselandFortCochin, Manager at Eden Garden Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear Judy & Martin,
Greetings from Eden Garden,

Thank you for the wonderful review and the commendations on our services.
We are elated to know that our premier facilities and warm hospitality were all to your liking.
Our team is both dedicated and diligent in maintaining our services at a level that our guests can appreciate and revel in.

We heartily hope that you will continue your patronage with our hotel.

Regards,

Revenue Manager,
Revenue Solutions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
23
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I chose this initially because if the reviews on Tripadvisor - and it didn't disappoint. Ideally located, clean rooms with air con and TV, good food, internet access and wi-fi, great hosts. The family was friendly and helpful. I can not stress enough that homestays are the way to go in India - the hosts are proud of their accommodation and homes, and this was no exception - and we stayed in 2 of the three rooms on a round trip. It raised the bar. You do need mosquito spray when outside in the garden around dusk but there is a mosquito plug provided in the rooms. Also, unavoidable anywhere you stay, is the loud religious music of various denominations at various times of the day. If you, like me, are a light sleeper, I recommend earplugs...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoselandFortCochin, Manager at Eden Garden Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear Roza,

Greetings from Eden Garden,

At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at on your recent trip to Kochi. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write to us. I have shared your great words with my team and its a source of motivation for all of us

The philosophy of “total guest orientation & satisfaction” has been the guiding force behind the organization’s growth in years .....

If given the chance, we would like to host you again at Eden Garden.

Regards,

Revenue Manager,
Revenue Solutions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A very good homestay in one of the oldest houses in Cochin. The garden is fantastic. Quiet and friendly. Judith will
Take care of all your needs. She is really nice. The room was with all what you need.
Viveke o Bo from Sweden

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickandBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoselandFortCochin, Manager at Eden Garden Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear Viveke,
Greetings from Eden Garden,

Thank you for applauding our warm services on this esteemed travel forum.

Personalized services combined with the mesmerizing views of our well-appointed accommodation have always garnered positive review from our guests.

It is always a delight to hear that our team hard work resulted to give our guest an experience at par excellence.

Regards,

Revenue Manager,
Revenue Solutions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My daughter and I stayed two nights while visiting Cochin and felt completely at home in this charming place. It was a treat to stay in a real neighborhood in Fort Cochin and the dinner and breakfasts we had were the best eating we enjoyed in south India. We enjoyed the resident doves, turkeys, parakeets, and raptors in the yard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yrmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoselandFortCochin, Manager at Eden Garden Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from Eden Garden,

At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at on your recent trip to Kochi.
We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write to us.
I have shared your great words with my team and its a source of motivation for us to perform each time.

Regards,

Revenue Manager,
Revenue Solutions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in this homestay February 2012 and it was the best homestay of our experience while travelling through southern Kerala. Nothing was too much trouble for Judith and her family. The food was the best we ate anywhere. We have not stopped recommending it to friends and family and when we return to travel through northern Kerala we will make it a priority to return and stay again. A highlight was Judith guiding us around their walled garden; to see all of the spices growing which are harvested throughout the year and used in her delicious meals was memorable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoselandFortCochin, Manager at Eden Garden Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear Jane,
Greetings from Eden Garden,

We are in receipt of your review on this platform,
And, are pleased to note that you had a good time at our hotel & enjoyed our services. Team at Eden Garden always try & create the memorable holidays for each guest stays with us & they carry a great experience from Kerala.

We thank you once again...

Revenue Manager,
Revenue Solutions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We booked 3 nights in Eden Garden via Mahindra Homestays at the start of our 2 week holiday in Kerala.
Our room was in the downstairs of the annexe situated in their peaceful garden which is tucked away down a lane of one of the main roads out of Fort Kochi.
We were greeted with a delicious meal prepared by Judith and she swiftly organised our tickets for the Kathakali and Raga performances the next day. She was a kind and helpful host but unfortunately, both she and Mel were away for some of our stay so there was not the opportunity to interract with our hosts as much as we did in our other homestays. However, there was plenty to do and see in Kochi so this did not matter so much as it would in a more isolated location. Mel's father,Tony, was around one morning to chat about the history of their home and the generations of physicians who have lived there.
We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this homestay to others, especially for the opportunity to retreat to a peaceful setting while experiencing the buzz of Fort Kochi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoselandFortCochin, Manager at Eden Garden Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear Melanie,
Greetings from Eden Garden,

Thank you for the wonderful review and the commendations on our services.
We are elated to know that our premier facilities and warm hospitality were all to your liking.
Our team is both dedicated and diligent in maintaining our services at a level that our guests can appreciate and revel in.

We heartily hope that you will continue your patronage with our hotel.

Regards,

Revenue Manager,
Revenue Solutions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our plane was delayed so we only managed 1 night at Eden Garden instead of two. Judith's welcome was wonderful and she cooked us a really delicious vegetarian meal. The rooms are clean and welcoming - the air conditioning was very welcome!

Eden Garden is about 15 minutes walk from the Chinese Fishing nets or 5 minutes by Tuc Tuc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevernBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoselandFortCochin, Manager at Eden Garden Heritage Homestay, responded to this review, October 2, 2016
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Eden Garden,

At the outset we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at on your recent trip to Kochi. We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write to us. I have shared your great words with my team and its a source of motivation for all of us

The philosophy of “total guest orientation & satisfaction” has been the guiding force behind the organization’s growth in years .....

If given the chance, we would like to host you again at Eden Garden.

Regards,

Revenue Manager,
Revenue Solutions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kochi (Cochin)
0.6 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#179 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
4.1 mi away
Keys Hotel Kochi
Keys Hotel Kochi
#13 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.4 mi away
M S Residence
M S Residence
#209 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#1 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#13 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rock Inn Munnar
Rock Inn Munnar
#58 of 182 in Munnar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Garden Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Garden Heritage Homestay

Property: Eden Garden Heritage Homestay
Address: 10 / 1335, Varekat, Rose Land | Amaravathy, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 430 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Garden Heritage Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Eden Garden Heritage Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Garden Heritage Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing