We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay in Kochi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reds Residency Homestay
Ranked #38 of 430 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
“Excellent place to stay in Kochi”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was my second trip to India, and we found Reds Residency to be the best place to stay when in Kochi!. Maryann, Philip and Melissa were wonderful,excellent hosts and were incredibly warm and friendly. They were really helpful with anything we required, and gave us good advice on where to shop, sights to see and places to eat. Themselves and the staff really work hard to ensure you enjoy your stay, and Maryann's cooked Indian breakfasts are an absolute must!. The rooms are lovely,clean and comfortable and the overall feeling you experience is one of staying with friends, instead of a guesthouse.

We would strongly recommend Reds Residency to anyone, and next time I am in Kochi theirs will be the first number i call when looking for somewhere to stay. If you want to stay somewhere where you are well looked after, can relax and have a conversation, and really learn something about India, I can't think of anywhere better.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDSFORT, Owner at Reds Residency Homestay, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, your words of encouragement is just what keeps us goings and we receive the much needed boost to help us strive harder to reach perfection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    44
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
44
93
49
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was my first trip to India and I stayed at Reds Residency for the majority of my month long visit to Kerela. Maryann, Philip and family are excellent hosts, with a genuine warm welcome, able to relate well with visitors from any country. Together with the friendly staff, they work hard to ensure that all visitors' individual needs and wants are met effectively. I stayed in all three types of accommodation, and all were clean, comfortable and well-equipped. I found that the location was ideal being just far enough from town, with the tourist centre just a short walk. Overall, staying at Reds Residency ensured that I had an excellent introduction to life in India.

Room Tip: All excellent, cottage is great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel_wainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was a great homestay, MaryAnn takes care of everything for you. She found us a great cooking class and arranged for her husband to drive us to the airport shuttle when we were running late. She'll sit you down when you arrive and take you through a map of the city and point out all the best spots. The rooms are nice and clean and fresh. One downfall - its across the street from the Fort and we woke up one morning to target practice.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ajandbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We received a very warm welcome at this guesthouse in Cochin, situated 15 mins walk from the town. The room was clean, large bathroom, cable tv and a very comfortable bed. The family speak excellent English and are very helpful with organizing transport and recommending places to eat and visit. They have wifi.
We had tea on arrival and fresh juices before we left again in the morning. We found Cochin expensive after our time in Varkala, however enjoyed our stay here immensely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I spent my first night in India at Maryann's and Philip's place, then took some days around in Kerala, and came back on my last day at their place. I enjoyed the stay at Reds Residency. I got two different rooms, both very clean, both with AC. Maryann served great food at breakfast and tea times, and provided me with plenty of advices to make my stay wonderful.
I really like the atmosphere and hospitality and recommend that place if you plan to stay in Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papillon_vlinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Do to the fact that not all `Home Stay` residencies in the Province of Kerale - or in Fort Kochi for that matter - are referring to the same hi standard of room condition and service, I find it most relevant to put in a few word for Reds Residency in Fort Kochi / Cohin.
I’ve stayed in this residence - owned and carefully run by the extremely nice and informative plus very helpful English speaking couple, Philip and Mary Ann – for two periods, 11 days in total.
From my first arrival – with a noisy taxi driver at half past four o’clock in the morning – I felt welcome.
The rooms including the integrated bathrooms are exactly like you want rooms in India to be – big ones with high sealing and all equipped with a fan, air-condition and very comfortable beds.
The Reds do have my full respect, and should I ever return to Fort Kochi / Cohin I would not hesitate to give them a call and ask for one of their nicely decorated beautiful rooms.

Tage Seier Mikkelsen
Denmark

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We Indians are yet to catch on to the culture of staying at homestays than those highly overpriced luxury hotels :) I love homestays basically because it so warm to have like minded people around, curious tourists and lovely hosts. Reds Residency happened by chance, I chose the place for my two day stay in Fort Kochi and I must tell you that I would stay there everytime I revisit the city. Maryann is already a close friend and I have shared life's big secrets with her already :) She is lovely and makes you feel like one in the family. The hosts are extremely caring and do not invade your privacy. They are also very cool about the tariffs as I stayed for one and a half day and they cancelled a booking just for me. Usually I would end up paying for two days but I paid up only for one and a half day. Maryann makes sure you are fed well :) and really pampers you. She is your perfect guide to the city and you won't get a more vibrant one. The rooms are spick and span, modest and comfortable. It is also pretty close to all places in Fort Kochi, you wont have a problem going around. I didn't have the food but I can vouch that it would have been real good going with the standards they maintain. So if you are in Fort Kochi..go to Reds Residency.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LekshmiNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#15 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jojie's Homestay
Jojie's Homestay
#19 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Costa Gama HomeStay
Costa Gama HomeStay
#51 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Noah's Ark Homestay
Noah's Ark Homestay
#30 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#1 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Muziris
Fort Muziris
#22 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reds Residency Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reds Residency Homestay

Property: Reds Residency Homestay
Address: 11/372 A K J Herschel Road | Near Dronacharya Main Gate, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 430 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Reds Residency Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reds Residency has 5 double rooms, all of which are spacious and have attached bathrooms. There is also a luxury suite, which includes a living room, kitchen and bathroom. In addition to a warm and friendly welcome from the hosts, and first class service throughout your stay, the following are also present: homemade Indian and Continental breakfast; a tour and activity booking desk; laundry facilities; free wi-fi internet access; a range of books and magazines. The facilities and service available are of the highest quality. Staying at Reds Residency Home stay whilst exploring the area is perfect for really getting to know people here. As well as having the all of the luxuries that you would expect to find in a star hotel, you get the added benefit of receiving the warm care and service of being within a family environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Reds Residency Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reds Residency Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Reds Residency Homestay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing