We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and terrific value”
Review of Bastian HomeStay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastian HomeStay
Ranked #3 of 467 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Really clean with nice rooms and tasty breakfast, and a lovely family feel. A short walk to centre of Cochin in a quiet residential area. The hosts are really helpful, organising transport and activities and giving useful advice. Highly recommended as a good value stay in the city.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TJonesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 458 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a great place for senior females. Hosts are so helpful and the location is wonderful. Very quiet at night and within walking distance of all tourist areas. Rooms are spotless. Would highly recommend this homestay

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 199Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Rooms and bathrooms are clean, location is very good and calm... Gini and bastian are friendly they are ready to help with any problems, breakfast is rely good aswell... I really recommended this home stay to the people who are searching for a good one

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shijugiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

It's impossible not to like Bastion Homestay. Gini and George are nice helpful people. The fan room had one of the more comfortable beds that I've slept on in India. The homestay is close to the fort attractions and walkable to Mattancherry and Jewtown. The room and bathroom are freshly painted and the fan room has screens (without holes). Top this off with the biggest and best 100 rupee breakfast I've had in India, it was the best value stay during my Indian trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Though not on the main road, location is not far from the Beach and nearby to the main market place Princess street. Freshly built neat and clean room with attached bathrooms as well. Gini, George and rest of the family is very helpful. They arranged for lunch as soon as we arrived from a nearby hotel and also arranged for a cab to drop us to the airport.

Stayed for only a single day and was a good value for money. Would definitely recommend my friends to stay here.

Room Tip: Would suggest to go for an AC room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiva79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed three nights at the beginning of our holiday and one at the end. Well located for the attractions of Fort Kochi with a number of good restaurants/cafes nearby. Small but clean and simple rooms with good sized bathrooms, ours had a fan and a/c as well. Good value breakfast served on a nice terrace area upstairs. Not on a main road so nice and quiet at night! Owners arranged a taxi pick up from the airport when we arrived (could have got a cheaper autorickshaw or even bus but it saved us any stress or hassle after a long flight). Owners are lovely, friendly and extremely helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaklei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here on our first night in Kerala. Very helpful: arranged car from airport, sorted out sim card for phone etc. Close to Fort Kochin attractions which can be done on foot. Nice breakfast and good restaurants nearby. Recommended as a value homestay

Room Tip: Quiet area off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPP617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#15 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#2 of 467 in Kochi (Cochin)
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#14 of 467 in Kochi (Cochin)
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Heavenly Home Stay
Heavenly Home Stay
#4 of 467 in Kochi (Cochin)
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#20 of 467 in Kochi (Cochin)
263 reviews
3.6 mi away
North Centre
North Centre
#1 of 467 in Kochi (Cochin)
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastian HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastian HomeStay

Address: House No. 1/1276 E | Chirattapalam KB Jacob Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 467 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $11 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bastian HomeStay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastian Home stay at Fort Cochin is a traditional building offering 4 rooms with all modern facilities. It is set amidst a quiet and calm place turned away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. The motto of Bastian home stay is service with a smile. We offer our guests a cozy homely atmosphere. We give top priority to neatness and hygiene. Bastian Home stay assures each one of our guests the best great holiday comforts in the region without puncturing their wallet. The visitors during their stay here are not just the guests of pleasant stays but a part of our Bastian Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Bastian HomeStay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastian HomeStay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing