We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Simple”
Review of Bastian HomeStay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastian HomeStay
Ranked #3 of 430 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean and Simple”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Basic, but comfortable (and, quiet), accommodation within a short walk to local sights, shops and restaurants. The hosts are very communicative and helpful in making bookings, as well as setting up transport and what-not. Fast internet too!

Room Tip: Specify A/C or non-A/C (fan only) when you book. The A/C room I stayed in is accessible through a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank halliejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    95
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
164
93
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very cheap, clean and comfortable. hard to find but George and Gini will arrange transport o there home for you from the airport. They were very helpful generally and are building more rooms for the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deadhead52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Bastian and Gini are extremely helpful and this Homestay is really excellent value for money. The rooms are very clean and pretty well equipped. The breakfast is very good with fruit, eggs and toast. She offered to cook us a vegetarian meal on our arrival but we decided to explore Cochin's restaurants.
A very pleasant experience and thoroughly recommended as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

When I first looked for a place to stay in Fort Cochin I wasn't sure what I was looking for, but after reading the reviews I decided on spending a week here. It absolutely lived up to my expectations. I was traveling alone, so the location was great considering I didn't have to walk very far to neither shops nor sights.

The day I arrived they had a driver picking me up at Cochin airport and I was brought straight to my room which was perfectly clean with all amenities. Most days I had a continental breakfast, and the scrambled eggs were divine, also the pinapple juice was freshly squeezed and delicious. They were also very helpful with booking of backwater and such. My only complain, although insignificant were the absence of Air Condition. Though I had a fan, and it functioned very well, it might have been my own mistake for not checking my booking thoroughly.

Over all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irmageli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Bastian homestay is an absoluteley subliem place. After onze week we decided to stay here the whole time that we were ging to spend in India. What we found here was as a home to us and the Bastian family did everything to make us feel comftable. We mostly took a Kerala breakfast after we had coffee to wake up. The rooms are one hundred percent clean and the beds are comftable. All practical householdwork is done, like laundry and cleaning etc. Of other possebility's I took every week a cooking class. Gini our landlady is a great Cook besides of a variety of kerala breakfast she offers the possibility to serve a continental breakfast. Every morning there is fresh pineapple and bananas. Before we came here we didn't know that life could be that perfect as it was here. We are verry greatfull that fate has brought us here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike192267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was in Kerala on a photographic holiday, travelling all over with a group of like minded people, staying at some very good four star hotels, and having three meals a day. When this excellent part of the holiday finished in Cochin, I decided to stay an extra week just to 'chill-out'. I wanted somewhere quiet and friendly. Somewhere I could relax and doing nothing, or go sight-seeing if I wanted to.
Bastian Homestay is situated in a labyrinth of back streets but ideal for walking to the town centre, or beaches. George and Gini, and their two children were very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. Although they only cook breakfast, which is great, they will organise meals to be delivered from an excellent Chinese restaurant.
Rooms are basic of course for the price, but have all you need for a couple of nights, or a week. A/C is either an electric ceiling fan, which is not always adequate in very hot months, but some rooms also have wall A/c's, so do ask for them if preferred.
If you want true Indian home-life, then Bastian Homestay is a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidBalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good place to stay in Cochin. Super clean, friendly owners, great hospitality!
The only thing that it is not located in the city centre, you will have to walk around 10 min or pay 30rp to rikshaw driver :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gosia_TRIPADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
5.9 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#4 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastian HomeStay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastian HomeStay

Property: Bastian HomeStay
Address: House No. 1/1276 E | Chirattapalam KB Jacob Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 430 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bastian HomeStay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastian Home stay at Fort Cochin is a traditional building offering 4 rooms with all modern facilities. It is set amidst a quiet and calm place turned away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. The motto of Bastian home stay is service with a smile. We offer our guests a cozy homely atmosphere. We give top priority to neatness and hygiene. Bastian Home stay assures each one of our guests the best great holiday comforts in the region without puncturing their wallet. The visitors during their stay here are not just the guests of pleasant stays but a part of our Bastian Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Bastian HomeStay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastian HomeStay Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing