We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bastian HomeStay
Nearby Hotels
$66
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
$83
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kochi Marriott Hotel(Ernakulam)
$85
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$79
$65
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Trident, Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Old Harbour Hotel(Kochi (Cochin))
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$88
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$101
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$62
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveler rating
387
97
11
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
97
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome staykerala breakfasthelpful hostshot waterfast wificlean roomsfort cochinquiet areahis wifecontinental breakfastlovely familyplace to stayairport pickfantastic staythree nightswalking distancelocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 497 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good place to stay in Cochin. Super clean, friendly owners, great hospitality!
The only thing that it is not located in the city centre, you will have to walk around 10 min or pay 30rp to rikshaw driver :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gosia_TRIPADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Have stayed at Bastian twice now. Gini and George make you feel right at home. The beds are clean and comfortable. There are screens on the windows that keep out most mosquito and they supply nets for the persistent ones! Only tepid water for showers but who wants hot water in this climate? Air-conditioning works well....generator kicks in immediately the power goes off. Breakfast is delicious, even the coffee! WiFi is good. Didn't always work in the first room I was in but did when I went out the door. This would have to be the best home stay I have experienced.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I came with my two girl friends and we had been traveling all over south India.. It was our last stop on the way home and we had such a pleasant stay thanks to Gini and Bastian. Gini was especially wonderful, giving us great trips on kochi and just such a warm host. It always felt very safe.. we were 3 girls and that was important to us.

Room Tip: Make sure the Ac works.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 208tc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Coming from a very busy Trip this is just like home...**********************************************************************************************************************************************
Stayed 3 nights, with Gini & Bastian!
Very clean, lovely and helpful!!!
One of the best homestays we have ever been!
Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muchach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our first accommodation of the trip and a very clean/ comfortable stay.

Room was fan only with cold water but it was so incredibly hot and humid I only ever wanted a cold shower anyway! The family were sweet and live in the ground floor while the top floor is all guest rooms so you don't feel you're intruding. The breakfast was good and included two eggs, toast and fruit.

Downsides were the location (only reachable by a two minute walk down a back alley- make sure you have a torch if you're coming back after dark, especially as motorcycles come down these alleys quite fast). Our taxi driver from the airport had to ring as he couldn't find the homestay (although there is a sign on the road) so it might be handy to have their phone number to hand if they haven't organised your pick up. The beach is a little bit further than we thought it would be... hard to say how long we spent walking down there but it must have been at least 15 - 20minutes one way; there are lots of homestays in this stretch so if we hadn't booked ahead I would probably have booked one closer to the sea/ shops/ restaurants.

The owners did try the hard sell a little bit with the backwater tours/ tea plantation tours/ kerala cultural show tickets... stupidly we felt a little guilty telling them we were booking with a travel operator instead... be firm if you don't want to use them.

Overall though great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews