We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True to its heritage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neemrana's Tower House
Ranked #48 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

it was a wonderful experience staying at The Tower House. We occupied Breekopt on first floor. Although the description says that it faces chinese fishing nets, misleading you to believe that you can actually see it from your room, its not true. Though we were sort of looking forward to the view, still it did not make much difference to what i have t osay about the place. its clean, well maintained and has that old world charm that you wish to feel in a Neemrana property. rightly referred to as a non-hotel hotel, the place looks beautiful. the breakfast was however not so great. also, the dining hall isnt too interesting.

Room Tip: We loved the room we stayed in. So i would suggest Breekopt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shweta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

With reference to your feedback about the views from the Breekopt room, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. As you have rightly mentioned, the Breekopt room has views of trees and the Chinese fishing nets in the distance. The same has been amended on our website. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Your compliments about the cleanliness and maintenance have been conveyed to the team at The Tower House. We thank you for your patronage to The Tower House and Neemrana Hotels and look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and the security guard was waiting for us so our entry was seamless. The rooms were spacious and character oozed form the old home. Next morning we explored and were totally impressed by the place, the staff and the area. Loved it.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front and it was quiet enough with a view if we wanted to look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tubemate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi.

Your feedback is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family that strives hard to put new life into a ruined and unused building. Your compliments about the ambience and the hospitality have been conveyed to the hotel team.

We thank you for patronage to The Tower House and the Neemrana brand in India. Please do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 27 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We learned about and planned a trip to Fort Kochi only because of Neemran presence. Having stayed in some other Neemrana Properties, the Tower House disappointed us a bit. The Restaurant served average food. Restaurant is understaffed with a dull uncared for ambience.Many other large passages seemed uncared for and neglected. Most of the otherwise lage and spacious areas are not kept well, with many discarded stuff strewn/stacked in many corners or under furniture.Many neighboring retaurants/hotels have a very lively, inviting ambience. Tower House disappointed us

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekrijhwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to learn that your stay at The Tower House did not work out as expected. We are writing to apologise and to offer an explanation.

As you may be aware, Neemrana tries to employ as many local people who are often not educated. We put them through a training program and then try to empower them to run their local heritage with pride. Your observations have been conveyed to the hotel team. We assure you that we will be taking the necessary measures to ensure that the same does not recur in the future. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We do hope that you will not hold the above experience against us and will give us a chance to overlay your past experience with a fresh and memorable one. Please do let us know whenever you choose to visit our 27 properties across India.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Excellent place, very nice house. It is well located and the service is very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your warm and appreciative review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Kochi. Your feedback is heart warming for the entire Neemrana family and it is guests like you that continue to reinforce our philosophy of putting new life into a ruined and unused building.

Your compliments about the service have been conveyed to the team. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Pretty as a picture. As beautiful and interesting as Fort Kochi itself is, staying at The Tower House provides the icing to the cake. The hotel welcomes you with its hint of ancient charm in its curved boundary walls and slanting, tiled roof. The algae growth on the white boundary wall, which otherwise makes me a uncomfortable, enchanted me here. It does feel like you’re walking into a property with a bold old-world charm.

The entrance is not particularly big or grand but as you take the flight of stairs that changes as the airy atrium and skylights welcome you. I have this thing for wooden floor and that just made me fall in love with TTH. The rooms are big and airy and again, I loved the wooden floor. Breekopt, the room I stayed in, was interesting with an array of windows on two sides, one overlooking the sea (well almost) and the other, the interesting roadside of Fort Kochi (hey! you can even see the lovely Chinese Fishing nets and the hawkers selling their catch from here).

The room was rectangular with a slanting ceiling towards one end gave it some character. The bathroom was good and done well (although I've seen some other places doing wonders in this much space but it was still very good). Everything was awesome till the time I stepped out of the room the next morning to be greeted by the fishy-smell of the sea breeze that made me rush back into the room (Ah! that's a problem with the people brought up in North India, we just aren't used to this smell) but then you get used to it in a while.

I loved walking around in the common rooms, sitting on the couches and appreciating the beauty of this 300 year old property that's been done-up so well by the Neemrana Group. I stayed there on an off-season discount in an awesome room and good breakfast, my stay was surely VFM (~Rs 2500 a night). The swimming pool is in some kind of a backyard but it’s good. Fort Kochi itself is such a lovely place to walk around (and there are so many stray cats here but they mind their own business) and explore all the eateries, cafes and shops.

If you're a budget traveler, you might have better options out there but The Tower House is definitely recommended for its history, sublime opulence and good location (and at a particular time of the year, it can cost as less as Rs. 2500/- a night. Check their website for tariff details). Only that I do not understand why it's called a "tower"-house when it's just a floor or two high(?!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Je S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive your warm and appreciative review about The Tower House heritage hotel in Fort Kochi. It is heartening to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the facilities of the hotel, including the ambience, the breakfast and the swimming pool.

This is what we strive to achieve and it is always rewarding if someone at the receiving end can sense the effort and the love.

You would be interested to know that The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house and hence the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. The scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship. And indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock !

We hope that as you discover more of real India with Neemrana, you’ll find more to tell us about. Once again, on behalf of the entire Neemrana team we thank you for your kind words and continued patronage.

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This hotel is in a lovely old heritage building. Our suite room was absolutely huge with interesting furniture and decor. The location is good, across the road from the Chinese fishing nets, near shopping, restaurants etc.
Everything was clean and tidy, staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was OK, quite slow but the food we had was tasty enough. We had breakfast included but in retrospect would have preferred to eat elsewhere as it was very ordinary. It was our son's birthday the night we arrived and the restaurant staff spontaneously presented him with a birthday cake after the receptionist had noted it in his passport. It really made our day after arriving in heavy rain and a very long tiring drive. A nice touch!
The first night we were badly troubled by mosquitoes in the room but the staff sprayed in the morning and we were not troubled the next night.
I would be happy to stay at the Tower House again.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is sprayed for mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank opgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about The Tower House in Kochi.

We are delighted to learn that the team at the hotel was able to make your son’s birthday a memorable one. Thank you for appreciating the room décor and the antique furniture of the property.

Your feedback about the breakfast has been shared with the Chef who will be taking the necessary action to make the buffet spread more interesting for guests. It is distressing to learn that your first night was an uncomfortable one. Please do accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. The housekeeping team has been pulled up and given the necessary training and support so that incidents like this do not recur in the future.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to serving you at our 26 properties across India !

Warm Regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We chose the Tower House because of our wonderful experience with the Hotel de l'Orient, another Neemrana Hotel property in Pondicherry, a few years ago. The Tower House starts with the same idea -- a more-or-less restored historic building in an even more historic neighborhood, antique furniture in the rooms and common areas -- but it doesn't seem to have been implemented as well.

Part of our problem with the Tower House might be that we had a ground-floor room ("Albuquerque"). The stone floors make for more moisture and therefore for a somewhat musty or even moldy smell. We did take a look at the common areas upstairs, whose wood floors helped to create a warm and clean ambience that was missing in our room. But there were other problems as well: ostensibly in order to be "green", the hotel relies on a solar hot water heating system that doesn't work at night or when it's cloudy. So we had to call the front desk eight or ten times during our four-day stay to ask them to turn on the real hot water heater. Once this was done there was always enough hot water, but it was irritating and made the hotel seem not as classy or customer-friendly as Neemrana hotels aspire to be -- and as the room prices at the Tower House suggest it should be. And the towels in the bathroom were old, rough, and a bit grey rather than soft, plush, and appealing.

We found the Indian breakfasts tasty and filling although not particularly imaginative. The Western breakfast was unimpressive, consisting mostly of toast and a few sad-looking muffins. And Neemrana's signature line of coffees and teas, served at all their hotels, is not nearly as good as it ought to be.

Despite these problems, it's a beautiful hotel in a great location with an extraordinarily courteous and well-meaning staff. The free wireless internet worked well and the swimming pool is beautiful. We have not ruled out staying there again if we return to Cochin.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms seem to have wood floors, which are preferable to the stone floors on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AssimilatedCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeemranaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Neemrana's Tower House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review about The Tower House. We are sorry to learn that you did not find all at The Tower House to your satisfaction. We are writing to apologize and to offer an explanation.

As you are aware, Neemrana has been working on a very different hospitality model which revives ruined or unused heritage architectural structures. Unfortunately due to the original structure of the property, the Albuquerque room is not as well ventilated as the rooms on the first floor level. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

We have noted your feedback regarding the solar heating system and the breakfast and assure you that the corrective action has been taken. This should never have been the case and we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused. It is our constant endeavour to improve our services and feedback such as yours helps us do so.

Your feedback about the staff and ambience is heart-warming for the entire Neemrana family, for it is guests like you who continue to reinforce our belief in our philosophy of putting new life into an unused and ruined building.

We look forward to serving you again soon!

Warm regards,
Team Neemrana
friendofneemrana@neemranahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#41 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#39 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#31 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
492 reviews
0.5 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#13 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Tower House

Address: 1/320 Neemrana's Tower House Tower Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India (Formerly Neemrana's Tower House)
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $72 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Neemrana's Tower House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house which has given it the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. This scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship and indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock! Since 1982, it is owned by Peirce Leslie. The character of The Tower House lies in its unpretentious yet proud bearing, almost grandfather like, it sits looking out over the sea, a spirit of adventure surrounds it even today, taking one back to stories of high seas told and retold over centuries. Stately colonial pillars hold up its vast, high-ceilinged halls. The generous arched doors welcoming one to step in to another world where time stretches, pauses to watch the sun set, and then moves ever so lightly towards dawn. Yes it’s the magic of spaces that have seen more history than we will ever see, spaces that we know will still be there to delight those who come long after us. The furniture is an eclectic mix with no attempt to recreate rooms of any one era or type because the residential structure was added on to. It’s the light pouring in through the windows, skylights and the vastness of the indoor spaces that make for an unforgettable experience. Most of the rooms have large four poster beds, and bathrooms that happily accommodate large tubs. The windows have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. Restored to be compatible with present-day needs while maintaining its structural integrity, it reflects different periods rather than artificially being faithful to any single one. It takes you back in time, as moods and memories woven together create a fabric that is strong but sits ever so lightly. The above uncompromising principles of practical use of material and form dictated The Tower House renovation too and its adherence to these very values of being honest to the time we live in while respecting the past that has set new standards in heritage tourism. Discover the old world charm where, sailors, travellers, traders, planters feasted and danced under chandeliers, suspended from high wooden ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Neemrana's Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Tower House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing