We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neemrana's Tower House
Ranked #48 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a bad place to stay!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Nice, decent hotel. Staff was very friendly, and rooms were clean and well maintained. I stayed in the Moens room right near the street. Room had plenty of windows, a bit too many - so make sure the curtains are closed at night! I stayed here at the beginning of my Kerala trip and later at the end, and I appreciated it more the second time around for sure! Only complaint would be the mosquito infestation in the rooms at night. Yes, they may put an oil thing on, but that is not enough depending on the season. Other hotels I traveled to would smoke the mosquitoes out, and I asked them to do the same, and they made sure it was done. The breakfast they serve is okay, however they provide standard western fare, so don't go expecting a full South Indian breakfast. Overall, I was pleased with the experience!

Room Tip: Sea view room was nice, but noisy in the AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseyb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    106
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
66
91
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The tower house is an excellent place to explore Fort Kochi.
The hotel itself is very grand and wonderfully decorated. Very stylish.
The rooms are large and airy.
We asked for a seaview room in advance and whilst we didn't quite get that (you can't see the sea and the busy square and road is right outside your room), we did get a room with plenty of light and a luxurious feel.
The pool is fantastic and very well looked after. Perfect for lazy afternoon, although I'd worry in tourist season since there aren't many deckchairs.
The only drawback to this hotel is the food and drink.
Breakfast IS very good- proper coffee, omelettes, Dhosa, fresh fruit and juice etc. However, we had read disappointed reviews on here before we went and we decided to just go straight for it and ate on our first night. We were off-season, but there was no atmosphere at all. As written here previously, there is no alcohol. The main disappointment was the flavour and quality of the curry. My wife's Kochi fish curry was awful... flavourless (that is tricky for a curry!) and mine wasn't much better. It's such a shame and a waste, we didn't eat there again during the week we stayed, but there is a wealth of great food in the area for all budgets (the cheapest is often the best!)
The first floor lounge is so grossly underused it's such a shame- we would have loved to have had drinks there before an evening meal.
Having said all that, it was the perfect place for us in Kochi.
It offers elements of the other luxury Neemrana hotels, but for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I have spent a whole week at the Tower House in May 2011 and have stayed in three different rooms. They were all lovely and I would have loved to try even more as they are all different. This place definitely doesn't feel like a hotel. It's a beautiful colonial house, with high ceilings and very spacious. It has been restored and decorated in a very elegant and tasteful style. The furniture has been carefully picked and it is not hotel style. There is small but lovely garden with a good sized pool which is a blessing when you happen to be there in the hottest month like me! The service is sometimes a bit distracted but always light, unintrusive and very sweet. Everyne was lovely and helpful. There were definitely few clients around when I was there so I'm not sure how it would be with a full house but I was very happy. Although the room were perfectly clean, there is room for improvement with cleanliness in the restaurant/breakfast area where table cloths and sets were kept for too long with stains and food debris. I do totally agree with the eco-approach to limit laundry (they will not change your sheets everyday unless you specifically ask, which I think is absolutely normal), there should be a bit more effort on the tables setting. Also, definitely room for improvement with the food which was very basic. The location is great, just on the Vasco da Gama square in front of the Chinese fishnets and you can actually walk pretty much anywhere in Fort Kochi. Alternatively, there are always plenty of autorickshaws just outside. I would definitely go back there, and having gone for drinks or just to have a look at the more expensive hotels in Fort Kochi, I think this is still the one I prefer for its style. And has made want to go try the other places of the Neemrana group.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samspit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

I stumbled upon this hotel by pure chance, since my rikshaw driver could not find the budget homestay I booked and at 2AM this was the only open place... I was surprised that the room only cost 4000 rupee a night, about half of similar places as the neighboring Old Harbour.

I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the rooms, the amazing lounge on the first floor... This place is a museum, not a hotel! Every room is different, furnished with unique antiques in exceptional taste. Bathroom was huge, excellent and deliciosly fragrant sopas, shampoos, conditioners etc were provided. Wifi access was free. The pool is a big plus in the somewhat sultry climate of Kochi...

Only drawback is that the restaurant does not have a licence to serve alcohol. I dined most evenings at the Old Harbour Hotel which is right next door. The breakfast served at the Towerhouse (inclusive) was excellent, though. The hotel is at the best possible location in Kochi, right across the chinese fisher nets.

Some complain about the service. I did not have a problem, the hotel might be a little understaffed, I actually appreciated the very relaxed atmosphere and the unobstrusive atmosphere... Higly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

This hotel has probably the best position in Fort Cochin- closest to the famous Chinese Fishing Nets. It is also in the most amazing old (17th C) building that has been beautifully furnished and maintained- stunning. It has gives true value for money- if you want to pay more and get a top floor room you can , but the ground floor are great too- just as charming. A beautiful hotel with great staff in an incredible location and free WIFI! One of the nicest pools we've seen in the area as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it really is excellent. It is beautifully furnished with colonial furniture and the bedrooms are truly unique. The swimming pool (which I think is a new addition) is great for spending an afternoon by. If you are going to Fort Cochin you should stay here.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JosieBamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

The Tower House is a beautiful old house full of interesting furniture. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Location-wise it's great...right on the waterfront, over the road from the Chinese fishing nets. I worried that it might be noisy at night but not so. A good swimming pool and breakfast is served in the garden...lovely outlook but you have to keep an eye on the birds and the resident cat!

My only complaint - and it's a big one - is that my room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. There were curtains all the way round the room and they had absorbed the smell as had the bedclothes and pillows. The management had provided an ashtray and matches in the room so obviously encouraged this. I tried to explain this to one of the front desk staff when I was leaving but he didn't seem to understand that this wasn't a good thing. A big mistake for a hotel that is aiming for an international market.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PearlPureheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 mi away
Neemrana's Le Colonial
Neemrana's Le Colonial
#49 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#38 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koder House
Koder House
#70 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#183 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neemrana's Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Tower House

Property: Neemrana's Tower House
Address: 1/320 Neemrana's Tower House Tower Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India (Formerly Neemrana's Tower House)
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Neemrana's Tower House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House sits facing the Chinese fishing nets, marking the spot of a 17th century light house which has given it the name. Cannon balls once fired out from its thick bastion-walls. This scallop-walled twin-house looks rather like a ship and indeed, boats were brought in on high tide and parked downstairs in its stable and dry dock! Since 1982, it is owned by Peirce Leslie. The character of The Tower House lies in its unpretentious yet proud bearing, almost grandfather like, it sits looking out over the sea, a spirit of adventure surrounds it even today, taking one back to stories of high seas told and retold over centuries. Stately colonial pillars hold up its vast, high-ceilinged halls. The generous arched doors welcoming one to step in to another world where time stretches, pauses to watch the sun set, and then moves ever so lightly towards dawn. Yes it’s the magic of spaces that have seen more history than we will ever see, spaces that we know will still be there to delight those who come long after us. The furniture is an eclectic mix with no attempt to recreate rooms of any one era or type because the residential structure was added on to. It’s the light pouring in through the windows, skylights and the vastness of the indoor spaces that make for an unforgettable experience. Most of the rooms have large four poster beds, and bathrooms that happily accommodate large tubs. The windows have views of the trees or the sea depending on where they are located. Restored to be compatible with present-day needs while maintaining its structural integrity, it reflects different periods rather than artificially being faithful to any single one. It takes you back in time, as moods and memories woven together create a fabric that is strong but sits ever so lightly. The above uncompromising principles of practical use of material and form dictated The Tower House renovation too and its adherence to these very values of being honest to the time we live in while respecting the past that has set new standards in heritage tourism. Discover the old world charm where, sailors, travellers, traders, planters feasted and danced under chandeliers, suspended from high wooden ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Neemrana's Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Tower House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing