We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff. Great food. Lovely rooms.”
Review of Heritage Methanam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Methanam
Ranked #125 of 223 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here over easter (4 ladies). The staff were very helpful especially with getting us to the train station to carry on our journey. They went out their way to make sure we got out train and tickets. The chef and waiters were so kind- meeting all are requested never mind how big or small. The food was amazing- very tasty and fresh. The pool was a great treat with a lovely views of the fishing nets. The rooms are large and with a massive bed. Nice location as it's relaxing and only a cheap rickshaw drive to the fort area. Only negative was the wifi wasn't working. The hotel made our trip to Cochin.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 85Bristol85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 42 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stumbling upon this little boutique gem of a hotel was the icing on the cake for our trip down south.

It was the low season and we were on the verge of a completing a two week trip down south, covering Karnataka and Kerala and our driver recommended the stay here for one night, before doing the backwaters trip in Alleypey and on the way back to Mumbai.

The hotel design is reminiscent of the Sukhothai hotel in Bangkok. Contemporary Thai inspired design, 7 rooms at most, by the backwaters, with pool facility. It was the perfect end to our trip.

Rooms were warmly decorated, with a blend of colonial architecture and Asian flavor, to add to the mix.

Food there was really good. We had trouble finding proper Kerala food elsewhere but luckily the chef made our search come to an end. It was simply fantastic.

Service, can be improved. The staff must be able to command more professionalism and hospitality with arriving guests and be an ambassador to not only the hotel, but to the state of Kerala. Criticizing the level of hospitality here in India will take a whole new discussion, so I can only say that the staff here must be more knowledgable and more service minded.

All in all, a very nicely designed hotel and if you choose not to stay in the historic Fort Cochi area, then this is a place that is a must.

Room Tip: Room 103. Overlooking the backwaters. A real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pradonism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Heritage Methanam Kumbalangi, part of Heritage group, occupies a good spot next to the water. It was delightful discovery of a Victorian architecture, perfectly restored and maintained. Some features of the architecture are carefully maintained.
Service and staff are excellent, though improvements are needed.
Hotel has a broadband connection, and guests can use it only in the reception area, where an old 486 is placed in a tight spot, office is not air-conditioned, as a result you can’t stay for more than few minutes. The last day I moved to its Kochi Fort site, where Wi-Fi is freely available, it was such a relief.
Food menu is limited, especially if you are a vegi, as I am; and there are no other comfortable eating places around. If you staying for a week, you run out of choices very soon, when I moved to Kochi, I found some Italian food for a change.
Our room was small, and without any other air-conditioned lounge in the hotel, you can’t do much except rest in the room. Though the hotel is a well-maintained small lounge next to the water, one can have a little walk, we could not find any other space or walking, I only realised when I moved to Kochi next to the beach, that I missed the morning walks.
My partner is more used to walking even in the streets, where I need a more open space for walking, a beach, river bank or a park at least to feel the morning breeze.
Avtarjeet Dhanjal

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avtarjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Positives: comfortable bed with air con, lovely staff. negatives: Gloomy badly lit room, grotty bathroom with pathetic shower and plenty of ants. No tea/coffee making, hair dryer, packaged water as advertised. WiFi didn't work for the whole time we were there. Poor enough breakfast. Swimming pool most uninviting, badly stained tiles etc, garden neglected and unattractive. Poor level of English amongst the staff who could not even show us where we were on the google map they printed off for us of Cochin! Poor location, not actually in Cochin but outside.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorayned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

After a long time we decided to head to Kochi, during the dec 2012 vacation.
We were actually searching for a place with proximity to backwater.

Me and my family had a good stay, at Methanam.

We felt the hotel is value for money. Location was excellent, calm and serene.

The food was delicious and service was extraordinarily great.
It was a wonderful experience dining on the lawn facing the backwater.
The rooms were kept well, very neat and tidy.

Kids enjoyed playing in the lawn and swimming pool.
The interiors made us feel that we were in a traditional old Kerala house.
We are looking forward to spend the next vacation too at the same hotel.

Room Tip: Room 102 & 103 seem to have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chinchu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amancochin, Manager at Heritage Methanam, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your vacation at our place. Thanks for the valuable comments and hope to see you on your next vacation.

Thanks & Regards
Sajan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had organised a family get together last day in this resort. The staff were very much hospitable and made us feel at home here. This is a heritage resort, and we get to feel the " heritage " in this property.

They have a very nice waterfront lawn where we had our dinner. They also have a well maintained outdoor swimming pool. The rooms were very tidy and it can be seen that very much care has been given to give the rooms a heritage feel.

The access roads to the property is fine. I would suggest this property to anyone who is looking for a hide out away from the noice and rush of city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rookie920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amancochin, Manager at Heritage Methanam, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thanks so much for the compliments. . Expecting your presence and assuring our best services, we remain
Truly yours
Sajan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I happen to read the comments posted by someone which I believe is the same group that was creating hell in that serene and beautiful hotel which I was staying during the last week of December. The comment posted is ludicrous because the hotel's location is best I have ever come across. The funniest part was that the Manager was on Christmas vacation during most of my stay and I happen to meet him only during the end of my stay. The person these people refer to as manager is the receptionist who was trying his best to get things done for this group. The hotel, it's location, the staff and food was excellent by any standards. The only thing bad about the hotel, then, was the presence of this particular group who was actually a disturbance to the rest of the inmates.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Appu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.5 mi away
ATS Willingdon Hotel
ATS Willingdon Hotel
#146 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
40 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#41 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
320 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Casino Hotel
Casino Hotel
#23 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
598 reviews
5.3 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 223 in Kochi (Cochin)
501 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Methanam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Methanam

Address: Kumbalangi,Perumpadappu Road, | Kumbalanghi, Kochi (Cochin) 682007, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $65 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Methanam 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Methanam is located at the back waters of Cochin. Travel back about a 100 years in time to a traditional mansion by the back waters of Cochin “Heritage Methanam” romantically linked with a network of exciting waterways. Exquisite interiors, well furnished rooms complete with new settings make Heritage Methanam one of the best heritage hotels in the state. The resort adds the best architecture award winner of 2009 to its account. This hotel is ideally located in the midst of complete tranquility and peace. 06 deluxe rooms and 01 master rooms are splendid in its interior settings and magnificent views. The rooms have premium facilities and the bath rooms are marvelous. The other facilities include swimming pool, internet, doctor on call, travel desk, Multi cuisine ocean view restaurant, laundry service, travel guidance, traditional art form performances on request etc. Distance from airport:-Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi) is directly accessible to the Cochin International Airport. It is located at a distance of 35 kilometers from the hotel's location. Distance from station:-The location of Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi) is about 10 kilometers from the Ernakulam Railway station. Distance from bus stand:-Kumbalanghi Bus Stand is just about 200 mtr away from the location of Hotel. Distance from sea port:- Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi) is located at a distance of 5 kilometers from the Cochin Sea Port. Tourist attractions in Cochin (Kochi) are within the close proximity of Heritage Methanam Cochin. Jewish synagogue in Mattanchery, the Dutch Palace which has interesting murals and architecture, Dutch Cemetery, Bolgatty Palace,Hill Palace Museum, UN approved tourism village Kumbalanghi, Cherai beach are nearby tourist spots. The main attractions of the state are not very far from the location of Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi). Munnar hill station (03 hrs by road), Athirampilly waterfalls (02hrs by road), Alappuzha back water cruise (01 Hr by road), Thekkady wild life (04hrs by road), Kovalam beach (04 hrs by road), Kumarakom bird sanctuary ( 02 hrs by road). The location of Heritage Methanam in Cochin (Kochi) has helped it to gain a lot of popularity amongst the travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Methanam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Methanam Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing