We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great superb service”
Review of Tea Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tea Bungalow
Ranked #54 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Positives:
1) Excellent service.
~was picked up at airport by the driver plus the hotel's
manager!! (and dropped off too)
~Even though I arrived close to midnight, the kitchen staff were available to cook, but I settled for hot tea instead
~I wanted to take a sunset boat ride, was dropped off by car at the pier, when I got back early (because I was the person that wanted to go on the boat and didn't want to pay for the whole thing) I didn't think they would notice but they did and called me in the room out of concern (how sweet)
2) + Free wifi in room and rest of hotel
3) decent small pool area to relax by
4) close walk to the Kochi sights, or in a little rickshaw
5) nicely restored heritage house (esp. the outdoor bathroom)

Room for improvement:
when I arrived was given malacca room but as it was street/traffic facing I moved into the Mombasa. Perhaps because mombasa had been vacant a few days the room was a bit dustier and had a musky smell to it vs malacca

the rooms are not luxurious but a good deal for usd130 a night --1/3 the px at brunton which was my original 1st choice. With the money I saved I was able to have lunch at Malabar house and dinner @ Brunton Boatyard

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 435 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2010

We (me , husband and 10 year old son) stayed for 2 nights at The Tea Bungalow during our holiday in Kerala. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Its beautiful property, stylish and individual. Travelling with a child, hygiene matters to us and the hotel is absolutey spotless. The bathrooms are gorgeous. Our first room on the first floor was lovely, great views of the town out of the 2 balconies and quiet. It would have been perfect when we were a couple but it was cramped with the extra bed so we were moved the next morning. Our next room (Zanzibar) was bigger, equally lovely with a simply fabulous bathroom. It was off the restaurant area but wasn't noisy and is great for parents who want to stay up longer for a drink/meal and still be in eye/earshot of your bedroom. We relaxed totally.

The restaurant needs a recommendation. The food was fabulous. We had just had 2 weeks of excellent Indian food further south and so tried the fusion/ western options here for a change. The veg lasagne was easily the best I have tasted ever. The sea bass and chicken options got the same response. Even if you dont stay here check out a meal. The restaurant manager Reuben is a star...listen to his suggestions!

Of all the many places I have reserved over the years before arriving in India, the Tea bungalow has to get my vote for prompt, efficient and friendly booking. In actual fact, the staff at this hotel are 5 star. Everyone was welcoming and helpful over and beyond the call of duty. On our last morning an unforeseen incident occured which meant we couldn't get to our next hotel over 1 hours drive away. Rather than capitalise on the situation and get us to stay an extra night the manager Norven and Rueben got up at 3am and drove us to where we were going themselves. What can I say....5 star treatment.

As others have said on this site...if you are thinking of the more expensive hotels in Kochin (malabar etc) consider The Tea Bungalow first. I am glad we did and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Arrived there by chance, really sorry that I could not stay there all the time we spent in Kochi.
The staff were excellent, responsive and very kind.
Would recommend to everyone.......Best Scrambled eggs and Pineapple fresh juice in India, guaranteed!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonioisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

It's difficult to describe the feeling when you walk into the Tea Bungalow but whatever it is, it is both striking and inspiring. A sense of old world grandeur, a 100 year throwback to European tea traders in india but with cutting edge 21st century interior design throughout. You can taste the history of the place and yet you have all the luxury of the coolest of boutique hotels. This place is a must. The staff are attentive, warm and friendly, the food excellent, the rooms just ooze atmosphere and the bathrooms well...phenomenal. This isn't a hotel or a guesthouse, its a museum with rooms and a plunge pool. A time warp with splashes of modern brilliance. Settle into the Tea Bungalow and soak up the history of Fort Cochin right on your doorstep. An amazing place to stay in one of the most special towns in the world. Can't reccomend this enough.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colonial99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

The hotel is in a nice, cozy area.The rooms ae highly luxurious, serene and well designed. The food is out of the world and the service is commendable.The pool area and the colour scheme used is very pleasing to the eyes and most of the rooms and attached bathrooms are larger than the that of other hotels in this category.i would highly reccomend staying in the rooms on level one as these offer more privacy and open into a private sitting aisle area overlooking a lovely and well lit swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

My small group of 10 travellers stayed at this hotel on our last night in India. The management and staff could not have been more attentive or friendly. Our flight out of Kochi left very late evening. Lloyd Alvarez, the hotel Manager happily arranged a late check-out and an early dinner for our group. Each elegant bedroom has it's own unique design with large well appointed luxury bathrooms and quality toiletries. The rooms are named after Our bedroom had a colonial four-poster bed with a very comfy mattress. The negative was no bedside reading lamps. Wireless internet available in rooms or in the resident's lounge. There is a lovely outside garden BBQ area with a small swimming pool and pool deck with sun loungers. We dined alfresco the first night which was perfect. I could not speak more highly of the freshness and taste of the dinners served. The chef prepared special menu requests for the group on the last night. How good it that!
One suggestion would be to have a self-serve breakfast buffet table with cereals, fruit, toast, spreads, tea and coffee with hot dishes cooked to order.
Tea Bungalow has a fascinating history. I thoroughly recommend this hotel to all discerning travellers who appreciate elegance and genuine quality accommodation .

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

It was a real pleasure to stay at Tea Bungalow in Fort Cochin. We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our 2 week holiday in India and this truly was a lovely way to end our trip. This hotel has been recently renovated and opened about 5 months ago. The rooms are amazing and a mixture between traditional and modern, done to a very high standard and in very good taste. It is also real value for money especially compared to accomodation of a similar standard in this area.

The staff at Tea Bungalow are also fantastic and nothing is too much trouble, they are welcoming and always stop for a chat. They arranged our day trips for us and were so very helpful. They made us feel very relaxed and comfortable.

We ate most meals in the Tea Bungalow restaurant and this was for a reason, it was so nice. Although the menu is quite limited they are very accomodating and will make anything requested aswell as making some very good recommendations.

I can honestly say i have nothing negative to say about my stay at Tea Bungalow and would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#91 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
97 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 35 in Ernakulam
451 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sealine Beach Resort
Sealine Beach Resort
#7 of 8 in Cherai Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#27 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
681 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#11 of 35 in Ernakulam
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#5 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bungalow

Address: 1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $85 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tea Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dempo Resorts and the historic Tea BungalowThe guiding force behind Tea Bungalow is Mr.Vivek Dempo founder of Dempo Resorts. The Dempo Family is one of the oldest families of Goa, who controlled the coconut trade from the 16th to the 19th Century. They also owned large cargo sailing ships which sailed from Goa to the African Ports of Portuguese colonies like Mozambique and Angola in the Indian Ocean.The restoration and decoration of Tea Bungalow has been a labour of love for Mr. Dempo. He has crafted an escape from the humdrum, noisy, soul-killing rush of everyday life. Tea Bungalow offers a tranquil place to step away for a while, to centre your thoughts and get the balance you need.Tea Bungalow occupies pride of place in the heart of the exclusive heritage area of Fort Cochin. Cochin (Kochi) is made up of three districts: Ernakulam, Wellington Island and Fort Cochin. The bungalow was built in 1912 and run as a workshop and office of a UK Company called United Carpets engaged in the manufacture and export of coir and spices. Brooke Bond the tea company bought the bungalow in 1956 and christened it Brooke Bond Bungalow which housed the top management of Brooke Bond & Company. Dignitaries used this bungalow for important meetings. Its history of spice and tea brought about its new avatar - Tea Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tea Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tea Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing