We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of Tea Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tea Bungalow
Ranked #63 of 208 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Tea Bungalow in October and we had a lovely big room, that was very comfortable and well detailed. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. The overall ambience of the Tea Bungalows is a welcoming, comfortable and elegant hotel. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyM505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    137
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
87
211
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This small elegant hotel was a delight. The building and its rooms are elegant and airy while remaining welcoming and almost home like. This was possibly a partial consequence of the friendly, helpful young staff team. The menu has been tailored to western tourists which is a shame. We asked if there were more authentic Indian options for our dinner. After assuring us there were the chef made us a special Indian vegetarian feast..it was brilliant...his mother would have been proud! We were honoured by the effort and blown away by the wonderful meal. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is wonderful, the rooms are huge and super clean, the bathrooms are tastefully done.
we stayed just for a night and we didn't want to leave. Staff were incredibly friendly, polite, and informative. Its a perfect place for a romantic getaway. must try!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicpotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were only in Fort Kochi for one evening. Stayed in a twin room with a friend. The room was very clean and cool, the bathroom was huge and we loved the old colonial styling. We had lunch outside and the food was delicious. I thoroughly recommend the Kerala Beef Roast. In the evening we sat out by the pool having some drinks where we talked to the owner Vivek for a couple of hours. Had a wonderful time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

-Very clean, quirky and comfortable;
-Restaurant food and atmosphere was delicious / fantastic;
-The manager was very friendly, spent time entertaining guests, helped with the rest of our trip and explained how the food was sourced and all the rest;
-Interiors were covered with interesting paintings (including a beautiful one of her majesty when she was a youngun), model boats and was steeped in history stemming from the building's original roots as a colonial era tea company residence;
-One has to mention the bathroom which was how a bathroom should be. Very clean, well lit, spacious and a pleasure to shower in.

All in all a great springboard to the rest of the city and the rest of Kerala.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArdenDial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 children (11 & 8) stayed 3 nights on arrival in India and loved it. Staff were great the room was huge (upstairs called Gaille) which accommodated 3 in ks bed and 1 on a roll away. Suggestions for improvement although minor were more variation for breakfast (when booked it said buffet but was menu based) and taxis arranged through the hotel seemed pricey. That said I would definitely recommend

Room Tip: Gaille room was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheeky_monkey12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This beautifully done boutique hotel is located in a niceclam and peaceful area. Its a wonderful place to unwind and relax. We had a wonderful holiday. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms are big and neat. The food was good, totally I liked everything about this place and surely would like to go there again. I recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardwork04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
13.6 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#78 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 208 in Kochi (Cochin)
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bungalow

Property: Tea Bungalow
Address: 1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tea Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dempo Resorts and the historic Tea BungalowThe guiding force behind Tea Bungalow is Mr.Vivek Dempo founder of Dempo Resorts. The Dempo Family is one of the oldest families of Goa, who controlled the coconut trade from the 16th to the 19th Century. They also owned large cargo sailing ships which sailed from Goa to the African Ports of Portuguese colonies like Mozambique and Angola in the Indian Ocean.The restoration and decoration of Tea Bungalow has been a labour of love for Mr. Dempo. He has crafted an escape from the humdrum, noisy, soul-killing rush of everyday life. Tea Bungalow offers a tranquil place to step away for a while, to centre your thoughts and get the balance you need.Tea Bungalow occupies pride of place in the heart of the exclusive heritage area of Fort Cochin. Cochin (Kochi) is made up of three districts: Ernakulam, Wellington Island and Fort Cochin. The bungalow was built in 1912 and run as a workshop and office of a UK Company called United Carpets engaged in the manufacture and export of coir and spices. Brooke Bond the tea company bought the bungalow in 1956 and christened it Brooke Bond Bungalow which housed the top management of Brooke Bond & Company. Dignitaries used this bungalow for important meetings. Its history of spice and tea brought about its new avatar - Tea Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tea Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tea Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing