We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to explore Fort Kochi”
Review of Tea Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tea Bungalow
Ranked #59 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good place to explore Fort Kochi”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Tea Bungalow.
It is a quaint little place with an old world charm.
The property and room was very well maintained.
Importantly the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Finally, the food was great and we hogged a lot.
Cons – It’s a small property, so do not expect resort type facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1976indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    137
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
88
211
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved the Tea Bungalow. It is presented beautifully, is peaceful, BIG and has lovely staff. The food is excellent, the best breakfast we had in our 3 weeks in India. Paulwin, the restaurant staff manager, was brilliant. They do the absolute best club sandwiches (not on the menu) - tasty, massive and a square meal in themselves. The kids loved the pool and felt very comfortable.

Room Tip: We slet 4 to a room (they are so big) with an extra bed added for our daughter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ta
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great hotel in Fort Cochin and great value for money.
It has all amenities you would need- a pool to chill out, great rooms, nice showers, good restaurant.
It is located behind the fence so you don't hear the street noise, but it is still very close to the tourist attractions which you can reach either by foot or short tuk tuk ride.
The staff was very helpful too.
After travelling around Fort Cochin and looking where are the other most popular (and more expensive) hotels are located, I think, this hotel gives better value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybgy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful house in Fort Cochin. Spacious and comfortable rooms. Young crew, very efficient and eager to please. Very close to city center and still very quiet. Inside patio with a swimming pool and lounge chairs to relax under the shade.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From Australia and this place was a little gem to find it has Great food and great people. Our room the Mombasa was amazing and the bathroom is a must see A+++ will stay here every time were in kochi.. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanej9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay. We stayed here in one of the cottages which are beautiful with an amazing bathroom. The staff are fantastic , really helpful and informative. It was our anniversary during our stay and they decorated the room with flower petals , it was a lovely touch. One of the top three places I've stayed in India,, nice for a couple for a romantic getaway, but get one of the cottages if that's the purpose of your trip. Highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a ground floor room, and thought it was excellent. We walked to the harbor area with the fishing nets quite easily taking in the Basilica in the way. The walk to Jew Town was long and hot, but worth the trouble.
In the restaurant, I had the catch of the day on the first night which was about the best dish I had in 3.5 weeks in India. A charming waitress from Darjeeling had about the best English we encountered also.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwatsontlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
13.6 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#6 of 7 in Cherai Beach
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#78 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#3 of 30 in Ernakulam
425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#183 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bungalow

Property: Tea Bungalow
Address: 1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tea Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dempo Resorts and the historic Tea BungalowThe guiding force behind Tea Bungalow is Mr.Vivek Dempo founder of Dempo Resorts. The Dempo Family is one of the oldest families of Goa, who controlled the coconut trade from the 16th to the 19th Century. They also owned large cargo sailing ships which sailed from Goa to the African Ports of Portuguese colonies like Mozambique and Angola in the Indian Ocean.The restoration and decoration of Tea Bungalow has been a labour of love for Mr. Dempo. He has crafted an escape from the humdrum, noisy, soul-killing rush of everyday life. Tea Bungalow offers a tranquil place to step away for a while, to centre your thoughts and get the balance you need.Tea Bungalow occupies pride of place in the heart of the exclusive heritage area of Fort Cochin. Cochin (Kochi) is made up of three districts: Ernakulam, Wellington Island and Fort Cochin. The bungalow was built in 1912 and run as a workshop and office of a UK Company called United Carpets engaged in the manufacture and export of coir and spices. Brooke Bond the tea company bought the bungalow in 1956 and christened it Brooke Bond Bungalow which housed the top management of Brooke Bond & Company. Dignitaries used this bungalow for important meetings. Its history of spice and tea brought about its new avatar - Tea Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tea Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tea Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing