We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant boutique hotel. A bit overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tea Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tea Bungalow
Ranked #35 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Very pleasant boutique hotel. A bit overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here around mid January 2010 and had the best of experiences in this collection of colonial houses converted into a boutique hotel.

I had requested a quiet room and gor Cochin, all the was in the back, on the second floor. Very beautiful room. Four Poster bed, stained glass windows, really good size. We had a small balcony/transit section between us and the rest of the hallway on the second. It was overlooking the pool.

The hotel feels very quiet and relaxed, an oasis to go back to after a hot day in the city (be warned: Cochin can get VERY humid). We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment on it.

The hotel arranged our transfer to the Airport, and contact was prompt and pleasant.

My two negatives about the place:
- The whole "pool experience" was somewhat lacking. The whole pool area is really not inviting. Few lounges and all stuck together. And it feels lie the whole are was not designed for that (lounging area for the size of people for the hotel) but they made it into that
- I felt it was a bit overpriced for what I have seen elsewhere. Especially given the point above.

Yes, I would consider going back but would shop around to see what's out there too

About Cochin: nice little town that does deserve its two solid days.

Room Tip: Cochin, on the second floor and in the back, is very quiet (away from street noise that might blague...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    135
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
87
207
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Firstly I would like to thank the eversmiling staff and the management of Tea Bungalow for entertaining our group of 4 with such love an affection. Tea bungalow is stooped in history and when given the grand tour by the staff you really feel honoured to stay in such a place. Each room is unique and it gives character to the port in the indian ocean its named after. We stayed in Goa and Mauritius for 2 nights. The decor, the ambience, the room setting just gives one a sense of peacefullness in a place where we are bisiting for the first time. The food prepared by the chef in the kitchen is truly exquisite. Each dish feels like it has been specially prepared for you.The staff are everhelpful and always ensure that the happiness of the guests is their number one priority. Overall, we have never experienced this type of service and enjoyment in all the years we have been travelling around the world. Truly an UNFORGETTABLE EXPERIENCE!!! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Beautifully restored old colonial building with lots of history, but great comfort, delicious food and great staff. Jean-Paul is a great host. I enjoyed walking through the streets of Cochin and along the ocean, the Chinese fisherman are very entertaining to watch. The art Biennale, the first of hopefully many, was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
165 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

A fantastic, small hotel, where the surroundings were were comfortable and the fittings in the rooms and bathroom, first class. Attentive staff, from the people at reception, to the dining room, to the room cleaners, made the stay memorable. The hotel is in a great position, made all the better for the sound of the bells chiming at the Basillica, contrasting with the call to prayer from the local Mosque.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was our third stay in two years and The Tea Bungalow was just as good as ever. Staff were always attentive, rooms tastefuly decorated & food superb and varied. One of the best small hotes in Southern India and a great location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a really atmospheric Raj-era hotel, the rooms are beautifully decorated and super clean -- the showers and bathrooms are amazing and the food is really quite good. The courtyard and pool area could use some improvement, it wasn't very inviting, but the service is great throughout. Our main critique was the overbearing colonial themes - the hotel could have maintained the charm without having pictures of old British rulers, the queen, etc. on the walls upstairs -- it's really off-putting and seems to celebrate wrong aspects of the colonial history.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenz6tenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Sadhana Travel (Delhi) arranged for 2 nights of our (wife, daughter and son in law) Kerala trip here. Nice location, beautiful garden bathroom, great coffee, breakfast, pool, lounge and terrific, attentive service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgsmiroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#66 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
Sea Line Beach Resort, Cherai
#7 of 7 in Cherai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#181 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#10 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Bungalow

Property: Tea Bungalow
Address: 1/1901, Kunumpuram | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tea Bungalow 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dempo Resorts and the historic Tea BungalowThe guiding force behind Tea Bungalow is Mr.Vivek Dempo founder of Dempo Resorts. The Dempo Family is one of the oldest families of Goa, who controlled the coconut trade from the 16th to the 19th Century. They also owned large cargo sailing ships which sailed from Goa to the African Ports of Portuguese colonies like Mozambique and Angola in the Indian Ocean.The restoration and decoration of Tea Bungalow has been a labour of love for Mr. Dempo. He has crafted an escape from the humdrum, noisy, soul-killing rush of everyday life. Tea Bungalow offers a tranquil place to step away for a while, to centre your thoughts and get the balance you need.Tea Bungalow occupies pride of place in the heart of the exclusive heritage area of Fort Cochin. Cochin (Kochi) is made up of three districts: Ernakulam, Wellington Island and Fort Cochin. The bungalow was built in 1912 and run as a workshop and office of a UK Company called United Carpets engaged in the manufacture and export of coir and spices. Brooke Bond the tea company bought the bungalow in 1956 and christened it Brooke Bond Bungalow which housed the top management of Brooke Bond & Company. Dignitaries used this bungalow for important meetings. Its history of spice and tea brought about its new avatar - Tea Bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tea Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Bungalow Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Tea Bungalow Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing