We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I expexted”
Review of Kapithan's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kapithan's Inn
Ranked #198 of 477 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 30, 2013

There were so many positive reviews about this place that I was confident with my choice. However, must say I was a bit dissapointed with the quality of the room. The room was very small, hardly any room to put your bag. The sheet was to small for the matress, so that does not seem to bery very hygienic. The bathroom was tiny and the water was cold during my stay for 2 nights. No towel was provided. Wifi in the communal area didn't work. My biggest problem was with the moskito screens in front of the window: there were so many holes in them. After the first night I hade more then a dozen moskito bites, after the second night over thirty moskito bites. Staff was allright, but no facilities for buying a drink for example. They keep closing the gate and locking the front door behind you when you leave, which means you have to ring the bell to enter, which made me feel uncomfortable. If they want to lockk everytinhg, they should give the guest a key to the front door.

So what is the upside? It's a great location, right in the centre, with a grass field in front where kids come and play during the day. It's close enough to walk to all the tourist spots in Fort Cochin, but far enough from the large numbers of backpackers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esthergoesasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We chose to respond to this review mainly because the traveler has made this review for the pleasure of making a negative review. How can she expect a larger room when she booked a budget room for single occupancy ?. If she was looking for a bigger room she could have spent more in the month of January. We change towels everyday and this was appreciated by almost all our clients. If she found any hole in the mosquito mesh on the window why didn’t she report it then and there, we could have attended to it, but that it is not true, because we clean the mesh very often and maintains the mesh very well. If the bed linen was found to be smaller in size, then it must have been the fault of the house keeper who did the bed. He must have put the wrong linen and we are sorry about it. Hot water is available in the mornings till 10 a.m. and in the night hot water is provided against request. Since Kapithan Inn is not a 5 star hotel and it is a family run guest house, the front door is closed during the day time for security reasons and we cannot provide the master key to every guest. The guests will ring the door bell as they enter the gate and it is opened to them. Some people even choose to enter through the side door without any fuss as it is opened all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This cosy motel in is localized in nice suroundings in the centrum of Fort Cochin.The rooms are ok with bathroom and AC/nonAC.
The staff are really nice and serviceminded people.There are no food,but you can buy coffee or tea and water.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is quite old but the rooms are fairly clean.Our room had a water problem so we had to change from the big room to smaller one (very small).There are a lot of mosquitoes so if you're allergic avoid!
Overall I don't strongly recommend this hotel but if you can't find any other place it's ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Libeccio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

We made a big mistake by accommodating this family in the new year eve. The room they booked was a family suite room, unfortunately there was a plumbing problem in the room which could not be attended to immediately being new year eve. We shifted them to our standard rooms. If we had not provided them these rooms, they could not have got a room in Fortcochin on such a day. The price was our usual peak season price and if they couldn't afford it, should not have opted for it. We had other potential clients to grab it on that day. Regarding mosquitos, all our rooms are sealed with mosquito mesh. may be this family is allergic to mosquito and we are not to be blamed if they got bitten from elsewhere. We find this review very inappropriate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Within walking distance from everything in Fort Cochin, a very nice and quiet place to stay. The hotel i s family run, and the lady we met was very friendly and welcoming. They have different rooms, my room had a airconditioned bedroom, bathroom, a small frontroom and a veranda.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arne_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

hi my partner and i stayed in kapithan in about foru years ago and found it very pleasent very clean and quite hospitable we were also offerd to dine with the owners which we declined but for the money it is a great place to stay michael and patricia UK

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NrManchesterMikkie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Encouraged by reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked a basic room at Kapithan. We arrived at Kapithan Inn and were greeted by one of the 2 women running this home stay. We had read that the hosts were extremely friendly, but we weren't really shown this friendliness. Instead, our hosts were distant and offered little welcome. However, they weren't unkind, so maybe they were just having a few bad days. Mostly, they just ignored us. The home faces an open field where local kids are usually playing and is guarded by a beautiful gate. It's a great location, close enough to walk to all the tourist spots in Fort Cochin, but separate from the shuffle of backpackers. While the family lives in an attached building with some interesting period and Portuguese details, the building for the guest rooms is simple and unremarkable. Our room was up a flight of outdoor stairs. The room was small and dingy, with an attached musty bathroom. Still, we were happy with the location and lacked the motivation to move rooms, so we stayed 3 nights, making sure to spend most of our time outdoors. The property does have free Wi-Fi, but it didn't work in the room, so we had to go downstairs and sit uncomfortably (both physically and in terms of personal space) on the kitchen stairs to use it. Kapithan Inn was a disappointment - mostly because we felt like they ignored us because we were renting a cheap room.

Pros: Location, Free (spotty) Wi-Fi
Cons: Bad service/hospitality, Dingy room, Poor value

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LooseOfLimits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

We are also very much disappointed by the comments raised by this traveler who stayed with us for 3 nights. We wish to clarify that we will distance ourselves from certain guests when they are not friendly. Secondly we do not offer Wifi in the rooms, even in the most expensive rooms in our property. Wifi is offered in a public area of the property, in front of our porch where the signals are strong. As long as they can access the wifi free of cost, all the guests are found to be happy. Thirdly, it was the choice of the guest to use the kitchen stairs ( a very clean and tiled guest kitchen) when there are a few comfortable chairs in the porch. Lastly, about our rooms being ‘dingy’ and bathroom ‘musty’, we would like to say, we are now entering the 14th year in the hospitality business and it is the cleanliness and our genuine sense of hospitality that keep us going steadily even today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Kapithan Inn was a superb place to stay in Fort Cochi - good locality, tidy, with an atmosphere, friendly and helpful owners and staff, and good value. We stayed almost a week in a family room, and the only drawback to it was that while our two year old daughter slept, it was impossible to use the very nice anteroom, because the extra bed goes right in front of the door. So that made a kind of comandant hour, too.

Room Tip: We saw just our room, but I suppose an even better choice would be one upstairs, especially if one...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapithan, Owner at Kapithan's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

While we appreciate the positives pointed out by the guest, we would take this opportunity to make clear about the laying of the extra bed. We can lay the bed in such a position that it will not hinder anyone entering the anteroom. But the guest wanted to do it themselves and we did not know that they were laying the bed in the wrong position at night. Now a clarification about the room tips. It is true that when this guest was staying with us in November 2012, there was a very heavy rainfall, with much thunder, lightening, strong winds, and the whole of Fortcochin was flooded. The wind was so strong that the water gushed into the open veranda and seeped into the room for a while. The same was experienced in our neighbourhood houses also that day. But that was a very unusual rain in our lifetime. Even in the heavy monsoon days water cannot enter in any of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
6.5 mi away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
97 reviews
6.4 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 35 in Ernakulam
1,040 reviews
6 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 35 in Ernakulam
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,147 reviews
16.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kochi Airport
7.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapithan's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapithan's Inn

Address: 1/931 Near Santa Cruz Ground | K. L. Bernard Master Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 477 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: $15 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapithan's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THE CHANGE OF PROPERTY NAME - FROM KAPITHAN INN TO KAPITHAN'S INN We have elegantly furnished cozy rooms for budget travellers with affordable prices. Rooms are avaialble Non AC and with AC, attached bathrooms with hot and cold showers. Also have exquisitely furnished modern AC suite rooms for high end travellers with TV, refrigerator, balcony etc. Family rooms are also available with 4 beds in an AC suite room. We are centrally located and have easy access to beach, historic monuments, restaurants, shops, theatre with cultural activities, yoga and meditation centres, massage parlours etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Kapithan's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapithan's Inn Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing