We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Sonnetta Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sonnetta Residency
Ranked #21 of 436 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maleny, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

For the best value, cleanliness, position, friendliness/helpfulness.affordability this is the place in Fort Kochi. Owner Xavier and his competent staff made my stay so effortless - this is not always the case when traveling in India! All you need to do is ask. The room was spacious with ensuite, TV, Air con and fridge.
Being on Princess Street meant that I was just a walk away from the beach, Chinese Fishing Nets, shopping and great restaurants.
Thank you for being my home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabha11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    82
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
92
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Of all the places we stayed at, this hotel is by far the most pleasant and friendly place, and by far the best value for money. You may just stay there and surely you'll be satisfied but I recommend you to take advantage of the good people there and get to know the owner, Xavier, and his wonderful staff (Including his nephew Sanish). They are as kind, helpful and honest as they get. Truly great people that run a lovely lovely place in the best spot in Fort Cochin. I really couldn't compliment this place enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuval S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Sonnetta very much. The staffs were very delightful and friendly, making us feel at home!

Oh my God!!!! No words to describe how clean and tidy the rooms were! Each and every little thing for a customer has been taken care very well.

We enjoyed our food at the Elite Café which is very close to Sonnetta.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VipinCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

In the heart of Fort Kochi. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The rooms are simple but yet comfortable. Clean, quite place. The house is pretty as well and location is perfect. Price/quality is excellent. So far for a middle range hotel.. the best.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We paid Rs900 for a night in a double room with attached hot shower and toilet, with a tv and a small fridge. The room was nice, it was in a good location, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only thing that stopped us from staying longer was our budget (there are cheaper places to stay nearby). I would recommend this hotel to those looking for good value with a slightly bigger budget than ours!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

If you are travelling on a budget, this is a great place to stay (and even if you are not). Our room was spotless and so were the common areas. The bed was firm, sheets were clean and rooms had nice homey touches. It's centrally located. While we wanted to splurge at one of the more upscale homestays, they were all booked. As such, we ended up at the Sonnetta, and we're pleasantly surprised at the value for money! Enjoy.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dougandbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I had asked Sonnetta to arrange pick-up at Cochin airport. They called me the day of our arrival to reconfirm. That has never happened to me before. The hotel is managed by the owner himself. He keeps it spotless. The decor is nothing to write home about but everything is in clean and working condition. The location is perfect. Just a short walk to the Chinese fishing nets, playground, Kashi art cafe etc. Sonnetta Residency has no restaurant, but that is just as well. Save some money on staying at Sonnetta and splurge dining wherever you want to . Lots of nice fancy places are very close.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 mi away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#30 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#3 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#24 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort Abode
Fort Abode
#5 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnetta Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnetta Residency

Property: Sonnetta Residency
Address: 1/387 Sonnetta Residency Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonnetta Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a building built by the Portuguese in the 17th century. It is situated in the prime spot of Fort Cochin, just 2 minutes walkable distance to the beach and near to other surrounding tourist sights. We have 6 rooms. 5 among them are double rooms and the remaining one is a triple bedroom. All rooms are deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sonnetta Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnetta Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing