We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”
Review of Sonnetta Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonnetta Residency
Ranked #21 of 430 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It's cheap it's clean , the staff are friendly, it's well located. What more can one ask for?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room .... there is one room at the back upstairs that is a bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank payback21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    82
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
39
92
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Dear Friends, sonnetta residency is the best hotel in fort cochin, good hospitality.
Actually i littlebit scared about that hotel. but they are good especially the old man, he is a gentle man. I like that hotel very much. please go once. u will also like that....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the rooms to be great value and very clean. The staff could not have been more helpful with train tickets and lots of local advice. The location was great being in the centre of the old quarter and close to all restaurants and shops. The price was very reasonable for this type of accommodation. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Double rooms downstairs and a triple room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The owner and his team at Sonnetta Residency were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. The rooms were very clean and servicable, with hot running water, towels and toiletaries.

It is a great location in Fort Cochin - walking distance to the Chinese Fishing Nets and the Kathakali Centre (daily performances of Kathakali dance and traditional music). Great artsy feel in this part of town and good for shopping too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

i stayed 5 days in the hotel ,the owner helped me with tickets for theaters.
Well what ever i asked him he did it with a smile.orgenised tours for me for the backwaters.
i will come back ,a nice small humain place.
Clean,good beds.
Perfect.

Room Tip: i had a room on the ground floor . with flowers and plants in front of the room it was perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninigroen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Great room
Excellent!!
Recommended by a friend from Kerala and was completely satisfied!
Very helpfull and friendly staff. Check in and check out was a breeze
Cleanest & nicest place we stayed in India by far.

Taxi was Rs 450 from Ernakulam town train station.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

After a long flight from the UK we arrived here at 5am! We rang the doorbell and was welcomed in. as our room was not occupied we were able to settle in straight away and get some well needed sleep. The room was clean with the security of a safe (Free of Charge). This is a family run Home-stay and they were all extremely helpful and all spoke very good English. They organised our Houseboat Trip, which is well worth doing. This is in the centre of Fort Cochin near the Chinese Nets. Just around the corner is the Excel Bar, which is one of the only places we found to get an alcoholic drink in that area. We were unimpressed with the beach, but for just 4 rupees you can get a ferry over to Vilpyn Island and then you need to get a Rickshaw to Cherai Beach. Well worth doing! We did not try the food in the Sonnetta, but went across the road to the Vineyard and had a reasonably priced breakfast.

In summary if you want a reasonably priced room in Cochin then you need look no further than the Sonnetta residency. we would recommend this to our friends and if we venture this way again we will book in here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Hopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
5.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#4 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#13 of 430 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonnetta Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonnetta Residency

Property: Sonnetta Residency
Address: 1/387 Sonnetta Residency Princess Street, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 430 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonnetta Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a building built by the Portuguese in the 17th century. It is situated in the prime spot of Fort Cochin, just 2 minutes walkable distance to the beach and near to other surrounding tourist sights. We have 6 rooms. 5 among them are double rooms and the remaining one is a triple bedroom. All rooms are deluxe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sonnetta Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonnetta Residency Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing